We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has a piped - in smell”
Review of Hotel Prima Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Prima Royale
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel utilizes a scent making machine at its front door. The maids are also told to spray the scent in the room. The sheets and pillows smell like it. The scent gave me a headache and made me sick to my stomach.

The room is the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in - smaller than a normal cruise ship cabin. The hotel is characterized by deferred maintenance - shower did not drain, and TV remote stopped working while we were there. We tried bringing the TV remote to front desk for them to replace batteries, but they didn't have replacement batteries or another remote.
Hotel is used mainly by large tour groups from Europe.
It would help if they had "Do not Disturb" signs or chains for the doors - maid knocked on our door at 7:40 am one morning.
Some of the staff members were quite nice - Jasmine and the man who runs the food service.

If you want a taxi, I suggest you walk up to the main street to get taxis - we suspected that the taxis that picked people up at the hotel had a greater than average percentage of dishonest drivers.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators - I can see how there would be a lot of noise near those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GofromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Don´t expect fast service... Be ready to pay extra for internet if you want to have it in the room. For this price it must be included in the room rate! Rooms are small with small refrigerator. Bed are good and air conditioning worked nicely. Breakfast is good if you go early, some of simple things not refiled. I don´t know prices for other hotels, but for this one is pretty high.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The pros: great breakfast with a nice selection, very comfortable room.

The con's: the elevator is a hazard, during our trip it actually went out, lights, air, and all. The management didn't seem bothered by it, and didn't bother to follow up on our complaint, when we later pressed for details because we refused to get back the contraption they assured us it was OK and did kindly provided a bottle of wine for our trouble.

We were there during shabbat and asked the front desk if anything in the old city was open for dinner. The girl at the front desk adamantly assured us that there was nothing, she instead pointed us a good hike up Jaffa road, where we eventually found a lonely Chinese restaurant. We decided to take our chances and went back to the old city where we found that just about everything was open.

Generally the hotel is nice and clean but the staff have very little knowledge of anything, and tend to be slow and unfriendly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with our hotel.
We are taking your comments about the front desk and the elevator seriously.
We hope you would give us a second chance to impress you on your next visit to Israel.

All the best,
Prima Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

7 night stay whilst attending a conference nearby. Good value (by Jerusalem standards). Well laid out and functional room, but not spacious. Comfy bed, quiet air conditioning. Good breakfast, and the live piano music an unexpected bonus. Buffet dinner and meals in the 'cafe' were acceptable but not exceptional. On the downside, both sliding doors of the wardrobe came off the runners during our stay, and we place them against the adjacent wall. We did not see the need to report such a major maintenance need but they were still there when we left!! ...as were the pair of shoes from an earlier guest, which we found under the bed. This hotel is so busy with tour clients that I guess they must struggle with maintenance, but no excuse really.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as your comments will help us improve our service for future guests.
I am so sorry to hear that the hotel was not on par with your expectations and I will look into this aberration. It is definitely not usual that the rooms are not fully maintined. Additionally, your experience with the food is abnormal and will be checked on as well.
I hope you can give us another chance to prove to you that we are a good and clean accommodation in Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

nice hotel, 15 min walk to the center.
nice large rooms, parking place inside. worth the price if you are looking for something close and not expansive.
very clean, good service but not so great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about our hotel, we are happy that your enjoyed your stay and will be happy to welcome you again as one of our guests in the future.
All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests, so we thank you for the comment about our breakfast; we will take it under consideration.

Hope to see you again in Israel
Prima Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Although the hotel is relatively attractive in price and in excellent location, we were a little disappointed in several aspects. The reception staff gave us partial information at best and completely wrong info at worst about the orientation in the city and its attractions. Breakfast is dissapointing, and most of the basic items were missing. The rooms themselves are relatively small, but clean and comfortable. If we go back there again, it will be solely for reasons of cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesnarketzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed and helpful review.
Your comment about the reception service is very helpful as we are always trying to make our service better. Additionally, your experience with the food is abnormal and will be checked.
One of our main goals as a hotel chain is to make our guests have a commutable, home fill and unique stay, and we hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon. We noted in our reservations about being on our honeymoon and requested a room with a view. Once we arrived and checked in they congratulated us and put us on the top floor with a good view and even sent up a plate of fruit and chocolates for us! Room was a nice size and very clean. Rooftop deck was pretty with a 360 degree view. I recommend going up there during sunset! The hotel offered happy hour with the first drinks complimentary. Breakfast was a free feast that offered breads, fruits, hot and old breakfast. By far our favorite breakfast at any of the hotels we stayed at. The staff were very friendly and were always able to recommend restaurants or things to do when we asked. Our favorite staff was Tareq. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and also knew about our home in the states, so he and my husband had a lot to talk about.
The hotel is very close to the Old City but far enough away that it was quiet with very few tourists crowding the streets. Only about an easy 15 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate.

Thank you
Jenny and Troy

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyyam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Wow!
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and wonderful review.
We are glad that you enjoined your stay, hotel staff service and our roof top!
We are at Prima hotels are doing the best to make our guest have a unique experience in Israel and glad that you have felt this way.
Hope to see you again soon in Jerusalem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Nachla'ot
Hotel Prima Kings
Hotel Prima Kings
#33 of 102 in Jerusalem
766 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#28 of 102 in Jerusalem
755 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#26 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,715 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 102 in Jerusalem
584 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prima Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prima Royale

Address: 3 Mendele Mokher Sfarim St., Jerusalem 9214705, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#21 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £109 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prima Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prima Royale is an exclusive hotel designed specifically to serve business travelers who seek maximum comfort paired with a chic, clean design. Recently opened, the hotel is situated on a quiet street in the Talbieh neighborhood and is within a walking distance from Jerusalem's Wailing Wall, old district and other major tourist attractions. • 133 Rooms with FREE WI-FI in all rooms and public areas • suites • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Synagogue • Business Center • Private meeting and seminar rooms • Fitness Room, sauna and Spa treatments • Rooftop Bar & Lounge • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Prima Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Royale Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing