We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff lousy stay”
Review of Hotel Prima Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Prima Royale
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Columbia, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff lousy stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

While in Jerusalem recently for vacation I stayed in the Prima Royale Hotel. First off let me say it truly is a 3 star facility. You are getting decent accommodations and Par grade facilities. During my trip the hotel manager (who was on vacation the whole time I was there) in order to protect the hotels bottom line reduced staff levels to absurdly low staffing levels. This created no end to the havoc I myself experienced and witnessed other guests endure.

The best example of the severe under-staffing is in security. There were too few Security personnel that by law the hotel had to close their parking garage. This created no end to the complaints about the requirement to pay for parking while the hotel advertises free parking. The second security issue was after 11 pm local time a guest could no longer freely come and go from the hotel. The front door would be locked and if the lone security officer was on their rounds, the could be no telling how long you could be stuck outside. LEAVING A PHONE NUMBER FOR A GUEST TO CALL TO GAIN ACCESS IS ABSURD. What if I don't have a phone with me?!

The staffing issues and corner cutting did not end there. The first day in our junior sweet the bathroom ceiling started leaking. The maintenance guy came and stuffed towels in our ceiling in order to repair the leak. As you can guess the next morning when the leak saturated the towels it started all over. The lady at the front desk was kind and service oriented and immediately changed our rooms. To that end this was the only bright spot of the stay at the hotel.

The staff that was on shift during my stay despite the unholy and awful working conditions set up by their management preformed exemplary and to standards way too good for their workplace.The following staff deserves special recognition:

Security Dept:
Shimon
Rose
Eli

Front Desk Staff:
Jasmin
Tamar
Moses

Housekeeping staff although I can't remember their names. They all preformed excellently.

In closing I would recommend the hotel to another but only because the staff itself is so concerned and service oriented. The manager though he has to go and go now.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YafitChn, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First, we want to thank you for posting your thoughts of our Hotel as it will only help us improve our accommodation. We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Hotel is first and foremost concerned about our Guest's safety and satisfaction while staying with us and we are sincerely sorry you did not feel this way.

During the time you stayed with us, the situation entailed a different procedure for guests to protect both their safety and to ensure their enjoyment. Though you may have felt there were too few security personnel, we assure you that there was extra security during this time, which again is why the parking was partially closed and the Hotel was secured after a late hour in the evening. We apologize that you were unaware of these extra precautions.

We are glad that you received swift maintenance service and felt that you were treated in an expedited and respectful way with regard to the room change.I will be sure to let the employees you mentioned know that their hard work is paying off and the guests can see this. Yet, there is much behind the scenes that allows the staff to be trained and working in an efficient manner, which the Manager is always aware of.

We hope you will return to us during a less restrictive time to our hotel and experience our service to the fullest.

All in all, we are thankful for your detailed review and have taken all your notes under consideration and truly apologize that you did not get to experience the Royale in the luxury that it is primed to give to guests.

Much apologies and all the Best,
Deena-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    289
    121
    48
    15
See reviews for
191
239
67
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I could not have been happier with our choice of hotels. The location was so very easy to either call a taxi, grab a bus or walk to and from the Mall and business district and the Old City. Down the street are a couple of fabulous restaurants such as Olive and Fish and a Pizzeria with a home made meringue dessert and lovely guys behind the counter! Only a few blocks away on the same side of the street as the King David across from the YMCA Three Arches next to the jewelry store is a brightly lit set of ATM machines (otherwise they are hard to find) and across the street is a bus stop and several art/gift shops. Very convenient.

Our room was just fine with a lovely view and the water and amenities were just fine and air conditioning worked great. There is a rooftop seating/lounge area and bar on certain nights with a fabulous view. We lucked out arriving on an evening the World Cup Final was on and they put a large screen TV on the rooftop for the 25-30 guests up top to sit and watch while sipping wine and feeling the cool summer breeze! Ideal! What a lovely surprise.

The nicest part of the Prima Royale is the helpful, kind staff (young ladies) both at the reception desk and in the dining room at breakfast. There was not a question we asked that they did not help us with and even gave us great advice about the taxi which is approx. 18 NIS one way from the hotel to inside the Jaffa Gate. Any more than this and you were driven in a circle(which happened to us twice!) so when getting into a taxi ask for not only the meter but a receipt as the cab ID number is on the receipt which helps to keep these guys honest.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful. Quite a variety and presented quite nicely. The tables were clean and set up at all times with lots of light coming in from the windows, as well as, an outdoor sitting area with umbrellas over the tables.

The wifi service is slow in the lobby and you are charged a fee per day of use. Sure wish internet was included in the hotel fee and there is a business room with a computer to use and a small gift shop.

At various times, especially in the afternoon we came in from the heat and there was a tray of juices at the reception desk. How wonderful! It is this type of small thoughtfulness along with a smile and hello from the staff that makes this a wonderful hotel and one we hope to return to in Jerusalem!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor (#613 I believe)around the corner from the elevator which was just fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCoolBreezeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YafitChn, General Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. THanks for all the great comments and well look out for things to improve on in the future..

Hope to see you back with us soon
Deena- Guest Relations Manager for Prima Hotels Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the start of the Gaza situation. The staff could not have been more helpful during this very stressful time. They were friendly, informative and CALMING. The room was a bit tight for three of us but otherwise it was nicely appointed. Breakfast was amazing...anything you could possible want. Also, location was excellent...walking distance to Old City, Railway Station and German section. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Hull,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, It is always nice to hear such nice and warm full compliments about our hotel and service. We at the Prima Royale do our best to help the guests in any situation they my need. We are happy you enjoyed the food and beverage services.

Hopefully we will see you back with us in Israel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a few nights at the hotel,
the room was clean and nice.
The staff was kind and efficient, breakfast was nice and tasty.
The rooftop is amazing - everyone staying in Jerusalem should have a drink there, the view is one of a kind.
Location - center with good transportation.
Beautiful stay at a great price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 895lial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Lial,

Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel; one of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that our guests enjoyed their stay and all of the hotel facilities. We especially loved that you were able to enjoy our rooftop as well as the location.

We hope you will be returning to stay with us again soon, or in one of our other hotels in Israel.
Again thanks so much for recommend the hotel to future guests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

we spent 2 nights last weekend at the Prima Royal Jerusalem.location is great. but service and food bad. rooms are small. the toillet was leaking and venta did not work. it took many phone calls to the front desk till it was fixed. breakfast:Vegtables and fruites were not freash.watermelon spoiled. Ihave to admit that Friday night dinner was very good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eli1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Eli,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with our hotel. We are taking your comments about the housekeeping, rooms and maintenance very seriously.
All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests. That being said, we are sorry that you did not receive the reception that you should have.
We are happy to know you enjoyed Dinner and our location.

We hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Prima Royale has small, clean rooms, the staff was always nice and courteous, prompt to assist you when asked or needed. Walking distance from Jafo Gate and Mamilla pool (Old City) and well communicated if you want to look around. Maybe not within american standars but definetely a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayito054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear May,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review. It is always nice to hear such nice and warm full compliments about our hotel and service. We will be happy to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Jerusalem.

Hope to see you again in Israel
Prima Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, mass.
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The Prima Royale is not a luxury hotel, but it makes every attempt to be one ! Prices are quite reasonable for this hotel which is walking distance to the Old City and it is clean, comfortable and staff were attentive to all needs. It was the best Israeli breakfast we ever had in a hotel and it was lovely to eat indoors or in the adjacent patio. There is a roof top lounge with bar and a big screen(no, huge screen) was set up so we could watch the World Cup in the evening under the stars . Given the heat in Jerusalem, we came back in the afternoon to fruit infused iced water and snacks--nice touch! Rooms were adequate--not huge but ample and amenities were fine-including terry cloth robes and slippers. Unfortunately, there was a charge for wifi in the room, but free in the lobby. Gift shop on premises as well as computer room. Located on a nice quiet street with small park next door.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliranSinai, Manager at Hotel Prima Royale, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Wow!
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoined your stay, hotel staff service, the food and beverage and amanitas of Prima Royale hotel. We are at Prima hotels are doing the best to make our guest fell at home away from hone and are glad that you have felt this way ,

Hope to see you again soon in Jerusalem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Nachla'ot
Hotel Prima Kings
Hotel Prima Kings
#30 of 99 in Jerusalem
739 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
696 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#22 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,678 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,762 reviews
King Solomon Hotel
#63 of 99 in Jerusalem
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prima Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prima Royale

Property: Hotel Prima Royale
Address: 3 Mendele Mokher Sfarim St., Jerusalem 9214705, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#21 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prima Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prima Royale is an exclusive hotel designed specifically to serve business travelers who seek maximum comfort paired with a chic, clean design. Recently opened, the hotel is situated on a quiet street in the Talbieh neighborhood and is within a walking distance from Jerusalem's Wailing Wall, old district and other major tourist attractions. • 133 Rooms with FREE WI-FI in all rooms and public areas • suites • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Synagogue • Business Center • Private meeting and seminar rooms • Fitness Room, sauna and Spa treatments • Rooftop Bar & Lounge • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prima Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Royale Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing