We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming experience”

Shabbat of a Lifetime
Ranked #40 of 308 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Shabbat of a Lifetime invites you to experience an authentic Shabbat dinner in the heart of Jerusalem. Participate in a traditional Shabbat dinner with a family at their home while feasting on a variety of delicious, home-made cuisine from nine Jewish communities around the world! We combine the personal touch of home-hospitality with a unique cultural immersion you won't find anywhere else.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved our Shabbat dinner during our stay. Our young host family was lovely and so welcoming. The other guests were a mixture of Jewish visitors wanting a home-based Shabbat during their visit and other non-Jewish tourists wanting to experience their first Shabbat. Definitely a worthwhile experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LMP_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    18
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our favourite experiences in Israel!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As we traveled around Israel, we saw some neat sights and met some nice people. This, however, was one of the highlights of our entire trip! Our host family was so warm and welcoming. They took time to teach and answer all of our questions. We met some nice people from around the world and, together, we got to get away from the crowds and tour buses so we could experience their Shabbat. The food was yummy too!

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMagicYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its a must during your visit to Israel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Shabbat is so important for jews that every traveler should experience that in this cosy dinner. The meaning of Shabbat, warm hosts, tasty food and nice new people to meet. Our family, including our 4 and 6 years daughters enjoyed Shabbat dinnet very much!

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank gabe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful way to celebrate shabbat”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Had terrific time. Our hosts prepared a lovely dinner and the selection of guests resulted in lively discussion and great fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank surahmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota,FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An incredibly special evening”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are Jewish and enjoyed this experience with the many non-Jewish guests. Ben and Jenna made the evening very special and the food was delicious. It is nice to see Israelis in their home doing their Shabbat. It is magical.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Moteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shabbat of a Lifetime also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Shabbat of a Lifetime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing