We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last night of vacation-perfect dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of cielo

cielo
Ranked #119 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$75
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Last night of vacation-perfect dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is one of the better "Italian" restaurants in all of Israel. The small dining room lent itself to a cozy intimate dinner with superb entrees and appetizers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverDonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    37
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere & Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Recommended by our tour agency in the states this was one of the best meals while in Jerusalem. Delicious pasta (lasagna) and excellent grilled fish (they also have beef veal and chicken on the menu), great arugula salad. It was a warm relaxing restaurant after a long day of touring plus we actually had good service in this restaurant which we learned was a bonus prize in Jerusalem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long grove, il
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So this worked out very well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Our concierge recommended Cielo, but we thought we had other plans. At the last minute, we walked past it and decided to give it a try. Small, quietly modest in style, but excellent food. The service, which seemed so brusque when I was strongly discouraged from ordering two pasta dishes, was very polite and efficient in retrospect, with an actual hint of charm! My wife and I each had different ravioli Primas- mine was stuffed with chicken livers and was delightful. My entree of veal medallions in Marsala sauce won me over...ended up loving it! The desert selection was typical Italian, and complimentary Lemoncello was a great finish.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank madrad93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent main dishes. Forget the rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The four dollars restaurant ha just seven tables, covered with yellow and white table clothes wine glasses and all the charade.
Wine in glasses and beer variety a are not the strongest side of the place. They do offer Pellegrini water.
Firsts: the Sicilian calamaries were good, the moules, however, were
salty and I could not eat it.
The main dishes were excellent. We had grilled Bream (superb) and veal medallions in sour cream
(See pictures).

Helpful?
Thank Giordanno52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Jeusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

we are in israel 4x year and visit this restaurant at least once or twice each trip and the consistency is the same, great food, excellent service and small and not noisy like a lot of the Jerusalem restaurants
The Pasta dishes are prepared perfect and the fish is always fresh and tastely
A must visit if you are an Italian food lover
located close to the Mamila Mall

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed cielo also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing