We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent fish, excellent wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Yam

Dolphin Yam
Ranked #26 of 701 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Highland Park NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent fish, excellent wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have not had a lot of experience with restaurants in Jerusalem but I suspect that you are not going to find a better one for the money. I was in a group of eight and everyone was very pleased. The Israeli wines we had, one red (pinot noir, believe it or not) and one white (sauvignon blanc) were excellent. The service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    150
    56
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were very disappointed. We had this restaurant recommended by the concierge of our hotel, but it was a really bad experience. Ambience is bad, but the real problem was the rude staff and bad food. Our fish main course was ready in 5 minutes, so definitely not fresh and was cold. Potatoes on the side were cold and looked as if they were prepared yesterday. Staff was totally rude, so we decided just not to eat anything we were served, settled our bill and went away. We weren't even asked by the staff if there is some problem. They just took the cash and didn't say anything. It is not worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank laphroaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great local food, excellent seafood & a good vibe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant in the heart of the restaurant district in Tel Aviv and it did not disappoint! We sat outside and were welcomed by the excellent staff and started off with a great selection of hummus and the typical Israeli treats - but of a very high standard (the tomato salad was superb!). We ordered the fish selection and this was fresh and delicious, also very reasonably priced! The wine was great and the service excellent. We went around 10pm on a Saturday and they were wrapping up as it seems dinner starts a little earlier in Jerusalem so it was fairly empty when we went but it was a great experience for good local cuisine and service with a smile!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBellaBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

A good seafood restaurant near ghe old city of Jerusalem the bread board and salads are excellent and filling the grouper was a bit bland and the chicken dish waa excellent not all the waitresses speak English and they seemed to forget at least one dish at every table but overall it was good..

Helpful?
Thank eddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Although some of the waitresses dont speak 100% English, that is part of the charm. Food was great, fresh, delicious and imaginative. Wine they suggested, a semi dry on a hot day with fish was perfect.
Peaceful and passionate restaurant. Go there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tucker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Yam also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Dolphin Yam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing