We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Jaffa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Jaffa Hostel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best view of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Recommended. I slept on the roof, the price was a little high for just a mattress but the roof top garden under which the mattress lays is so beautiful. You will not regret staying here, the stars the grapes the persimmons it's lovely. And the breaks fast provided is delightful

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    47
    27
    11
    20
See reviews for
12
30
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel have all ingredients to be a top location, but it fails by the lack of hospitality and the overpriced and small rooms. The staff is discourteous and poorly trained. Beside this there was an extremely noisy climate system in the room next to us.
We expected more from this hotel in this nice old Jaffa area.
All in all, the roof terrace was really nice to get some drink and relax.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK8606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tel Aviv hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

it's a nice old house in the middle of Old Jaffa. It's a kind of Youth-Hostel. Expensive for the service like everything in Israel. But of course there is a comfortable balkony and on the top a terrasse, where you can sit and look and cook!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MgsErde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at Old Jaffa in May 2014 with a group of friends. The room was good with a nice big fan that made for a great sleep, and when we arrived late at night after reception hours, the staff had a visible sign with my name on it and our room assignment and a nice welcome message. The rooptop terrace is a great, relaxing place to hang out and provides a nice view of the city and the nearby outdoor flea markets with lounge chairs and tables. The showers, although a bit outdated, were good too, and there is a free breakfast included (toast, tea, fruit, coffee). The only downside was that you had to pay to rent shower towels, but only a small fee.

The hostel is located in a good area, right near the clocktower in Jaffa and it's surrounded by fun restaurants with a cool vibe. The nearby flea markets are a must to visit, and it's within easy walking distance of Tel Aviv's beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: Make sure to book ahead if with a group, as the rooms book up quickly. Also, check transport options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktp0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combloux, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hostel is well located in Jaffa, 5 min from the sea. The staff is very nice and the roof terrasse is great, we like to relax and read book lie in a couch ! The place is really clean and the kitchen is located also on the roof terrasse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

You feel like old times, in a good way. Nice terrace, where the breakfast bar is (help your self). Great location, a qick walk takes you to the sea, and a bunch of good bars are just across the street. Basic facillities, but fits for a Hostel! Again, when in Jaffa!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBartzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We got a spacious class c room with balcony. Love the old world charm of the building and old Jaffa surround. Live music just under my balcony when we got back from a day of activities. Arrived very late and staff left clear direction for me to get in. Breakfast is minimal but left over from previous night made a feast for us. Parked our rental car right in front of hostel front door for the entire stay without any issues. Room and shared bathrooms are clean for hostel standard. Would definitely stay again if back in Tel Aviv. Noises from restaurants are loud but we were prepared (ear plugs)!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuyatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Margosa Hotel
Margosa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaffa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andromeda Hill Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milk & Honey Hostel
Milk & Honey Hostel
#12 of 92 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Florentine Hostel
Florentine Hostel
#8 of 92 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#1 of 92 in Tel Aviv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Jaffa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Jaffa Hostel

Property: Old Jaffa Hostel
Address: 13 Ami'ad, Tel Aviv 6813931, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Jaffa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing