We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest and misrepresentation of property”
Review of Arlozorov Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arlozorov Hotel
Ranked #98 of 102 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After booking hotel online, we arrived at hotel to be told that our reservation had not been received until all rooms were already sold. They offered to send us to an "apartment" somewhere else in the city. We told them we only wanted the room we had reserved and had been confirmed, so we declined. We had to scramble to find another affordable hotel on a Friday night. After reading other reviews, I am glad we declined the "apartment" offer. Since we booked through Travelocity, we were charged for the room at the time of reservation. When we went back to get a refund, the hotel said we never showed up and they were not refunding the money we paid for a room we never got. There is no parking for this property as advertised.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Shelle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Don't bother
Unless; you are 19. Bring her up to the room [I carried my own luggage after a 2000 mile journey while balancing on 2 walking sticks]. The DOUBLE BED says welcome. Drink some coffee the DOUBLE BED says hello. Watch television across the DOUBLE BED. Go out and get a goodbye from the DOUBLE BED. The only problem is that 20 year olds don't want to spend $180 per night - we were booked for 24 days at around £2400/ $4300. They forgot that one eats off a kitchen table so they put in a 2 foot high coffee table. They show baths on their website which don't exist.. By the way'Special Requests' on Booking.com are there for fun and are never read.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Blodnib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Arlozorov Suites Hotel is evidence of how hard it is to get a decent budget hotel in Tel Aviv, an expensive city. This is the price point for a decent place, but still below the real business hotels. Rooms vary, especially in size, but most include some kitchen amenities (microwave, sink, fridge, some dishes), a decent amount of room, a small balcony, and a decent-sized bathroom. Still, it feels like a beach hotel, paired down on any luxuries. There's no carpet on the tiled floor, or any decoration whatsoever. The chairs are wooden and the double bed somewhat small and not soft. The room is very functional, with a nice layout, plenty of space, a large closet, table and chairs, and a bathroom where two people won't get in each other's way. Wi-fi is included, toiletries are not.

Several people have written about breakfast and a restaurant but we were told breakfast was not included, and saw no restaurant. I've looked online again and there is no mention of breakfast. It's only a block and a half towards a main street with a bus line and plenty to eat and do.

It feels a bit run-down, a bit like a beach hotel. I've seen it advertised as a boutique hotel, a business hotel, and a "Victorian" hotel. It is nowhere near any of those. There's no décor or amenities, and the barren atmosphere is not conductive to hanging out. This is a place to crash and store your stuff. That's fine and that's it and that works well.

It is not five minutes walk to the beach, as people say. It's more like ten to a view of the water, then another five down to any sort of beach. That's clearly not bad, but this area is not in the beach zone of the city anyway; most of the water area is taken up by a marina. The main beaches are to the south.

The staff is competent and will help with information, but not especially friendly. The tiny lobby holds drinking water and little else; it's a functional check-in space, not a place to hang out. Just enjoy Tel Aviv, and move on with your life.

Room Tip: Rooms are different sizes. Ask to see a few. Beware of street-side noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After landing at 5:25, we left our cases with them at 6am and then had to kill time until 2pm check-in permitted. Fair enough they were busy. At 2pm we were then told a leak had developed in the room. We were assured a lovely apartment had been found to accommodate us but the owner insisted we registered and paid him IN FULL at once. Foolishly I did so. We were bundled into a taxi and then shocked to find ourselves in a basement studio at the Yarden Beach Apartments, which is in a much worse part of town (on Yona HaNavi street) having paid Arlozorov the full rate for the booking after they knew the room was not usable. We paid $453, the YBA studio was $345 on Booking.com when we checked, so they took advantage and made a substantial profit by moving us elsewhere.
I chose the Arlozorov because of its location near Dizengoff street and its proximity to good restaurants etc. Also, it is near the Alexander Beach hotel which we were due to transfer to on Monday (so not only were we staying in cheaper accommodation, our taxi fare for the transfer substantially increased). I had researched the area with maps around the Arozolov and had nothing for YBA. The owner refused to print a Google map replacement for me.
Whilst the Arozolov was not luxury it was not a "hole" either. We paid extra and chose it so that my son would have a proper single bed to sleep on, and deliberately not a sofa-bed. At YBA we did not even have the luxury of an actual sofa-bed, my son had to sleep on an ordinary sofa in the seating area which did not have proper curtains, so got to see the dawn each day. The fridge did not work, in 38 degree heat you want a fridge. No towels changed [we had to find the housekeeper to beg for dry ones]. When booking our tours, I made sure the hotel was on its list of pickup locations. Instead we now had to walk about 1/2 km to another location, no longer door to door convenience.
Finally, the bathroom was cramped and poorly maintained & stinky - using it was not a pleasant experience with its damaged cistern and mouldy looking ceiling.
We understand that accidents happen, and that they found us this accommodation as an emergency replacement, but we did not expect them to rip us off and profit from this situation, and leave us in an even worse situation, instead of offering us compensation! They should have billed us what they really paid the Yarden. I complained and gave them a chance to refund me the difference.
Instead they claim to have sent us to a great apartment and to have not profited as they had to pay Booking.com a 15% fee , VAT and the 60 shekel taxi fare to hell. How is this my problem, they got the full fee from me for not fulfilling their side of the contract. Neat trick huh? Perhaps the Hilton can try it and charge Hilton rates while moving you to a Premier inn?

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
9  Thank Lamb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a very warm welcome from the man on the reception desk when we arrived, who was very helpful arranging our car parking (see below) and giving us local directions.

We booked a two-room suite for an overnight stay because our daughter was landing at the airport in the small hours of the morning and would sleep in the second room. For the purpose of staying overnight it was fine, but for a longer self-catering stay, I think you could be visiting the friendly people on reception a few times to get some essentials topped up. The room had an impressive new 42 inch TV, but some basics were missing, like not enough crockery for the four people it accommodated. We had to ask for a third set of towels because only two sets had been put out even though we booked for three people. Otherwise all was fine. The main room was large, and self-catering facilities were fine for the good price.

Car parking is important to my wife who cannot walk far. There is a narrow dead-end driveway down the side of the hotel where a few cars can be parked (it might be full when you arrive). You give your car key to the reception desk, and they move the cars around when someone not on the end of the line needs to leave. On the other hand, other hotels in the area are likely to have none of their own parking at all.

It is a short walk to the sea front. There are a few restaurants nearby - we ate at a good fast food stall in the evening - and late night shops. We bought some nice fresh pastries at one of them for our breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank js2js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Can't beat the location, 5 minute walk to the beach. Anything you need is just a few minutes away from the hotel. This is an old hotel and has not been remodeled but very clean and I think the best value in Tel Aviv. Also the restaurant is excellent, great food and the owners are great people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdsinger6758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is a small and not in the up market range. However for the traveller who is prepared to give up luxury for a compact well priced hotel then this is the place for you. The rooms are small but well laid out and are all en-suite. The hotel staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you find what you need.The location is just off one of the main shopping streets and there are lots of bars and restaurants close by.
The beach is 5 mins walk away and there is a small carpark beside the hotel which is on a first come first serve basis, but there is a much larger carpark 1 mins walk down the road.
I was in Tel Aviv on bussiness for over 2 months and stayed at this hotel, I would try and book it again if I am traveling on business or pleasure to Tel Aviv

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normski1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prima City Tel Aviv
Hotel Prima City Tel Aviv
#58 of 102 in Tel Aviv
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arbel Suites Hotel
Arbel Suites Hotel
#10 of 102 in Tel Aviv
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Home Apartments
The Home Apartments
#90 of 102 in Tel Aviv
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#39 of 102 in Tel Aviv
900 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlozorov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlozorov Hotel

Address: 23 Arlozorov, Tel Aviv 6248801, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 102 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlozorov Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arlozorov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing