We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Port Hotel Tel Aviv
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here with my husband 9-16th November. Smallish room and bathroom but perfectly adequate for our needs. Very clean everywhere. Basic breakfast, not much to choose from and no variety on any day but it was high quality and could have as much as you wanted. Tea/coffee/chocolate available 24/7 with jar of cookies to help yourself to. Special mention for Carmel who gave lots of advice and also complained to Dan Tours for me as their driver was very rude and did not give the correct information, he told us the first day that the his bus was not hop on/off but only a 2 hour tour. When I mentioned this to Carmel, she called their office to find out and told me that the driver should not have said that to us and complained on our behalf. Went to take the tour the following day, same driver, same rudeness but he let us on the bus with but I did hear him tell other passengers when they got on it was only a tour and not hop on/off!!

Lots of beaches to pick from but be aware the sun goes down quite early, all the beaches said that swimming was prohibited but everyone swam. It was 12 shekels for sun bed for the day.

Plenty of restaurants/cafes to pick from. Shaken in port area (looks like tpw on the sign) is excellent value. Also Goocha on Ben Gurion and Benny the Fisherman in the port excellent places to eat. All food was of high quality. Service was hit and miss, typical Israeli manners from some restaurant staff. Took the bus to Jerusalem from the bus station, 18 shekels one way, buy the ticket on the bus no.480 they go every 10 minutes or so and took approximately 40 minutes.

Be prepared for maybe long wait/queues at Ben Gurion airport, the security lines of which there are a few, can be long. 3 hours minimum check in time is normal however our guide said that in the summer months, passengers are told 5 hours!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchjayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    166
    43
    12
    5
See reviews for
56
165
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great location, Very Clean and roomie rooms by european standards, Staff was great, Terrific coffee and nice breakfast. And for foodies, the best pastry and coffee in TA is at the corner cafe open late

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Port Hotel for 4 days. It was a pleasure to find this budget hotel in a city known for very high hotel prices. The room is small and plain but quite adequate and clean, the amenities--especially free wifi and breakfast--are a real bonus, and the reception desk staff were very helpful. The location just 2 blocks from the energetic port area is a real plus. The only downside is occasional noise from outside as well as from late night party-ers in the hotel. A good set of ear plugs helps.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBabe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here 4 nights Nov 7 to 10, 2013. We are very happy with the room, the courtesy service and overall maintenance. However we feel a couple of points, which might be of interest to the management.

The room airconditioner had two bright lights - on/off (red) & temperature indicator (blue). Between them they provided a rather bright night light, the rooms being small, and was a source of irritance for my wife (I had a sleeping mask). Maybe they can lower the brightness with an opaque tape or masking tape?

Also they prepared packed breakfast because our tour bus was supposed to pick us up at 7:15. And breakfast started only at 7:30 a.m. The otherwise excellent slice of bread was cold and it would be great if the toaster facilities were opened at 7:00 am. Along with the juices and milk, as the breakfast package had no liquid refreshment, making it a problem to wash down the food. We quickly learned, to be ready at around 7:15 when the kitchen staff came, and got our bread toasted and a good glass of fresh OJ, and all was well. But this was only on the 3rd morning after learning a little more about the hotel staffing.

The front desk was manned by excellent calibre folks. I remember Nofa and Carmel and would not have booked this hotel but for their service over the phone in the initial stages.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street. If you open the window it is noisy. Close it and you are ok. Dont k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phantom363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Very reasonable price, clean, excellent service, friendly staff. The hotel is very convenient located at the crossing of Ben Yehuda and Dizengoff streets - the center of Tel Aviv social life. And at the same time it's just 3 minutes from the Metzitzim beach, Yarkon park and old port, where you can find a lot of wonderful places to eat and relax, and make shopping. I'm going to stay here next time. But I wish the breakfast would be more choice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Port Hotel in Tel Aviv at the end of our month long trip to Israel and Jordan. The hotel is in close proximity to many yummy cafes and also the marina where there are also shops and dining options. The beaches are a five minute walk. The rooms are not large but the bathroom is a good size and the bed was very comfortable. Everything is supplied and very clean. The breakfast room is on the bottom floor with a small courtyard out the back. They also have a rooftop lounge area as do most boutique hotels in Tel Aviv. Wonderful to watch the sunset. The brekky was just enough and we liked that it was not overdone. The management are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassandra1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is ok-good. Nice clean modern rooms, there was a cockroach in the toilet but I think this is everywhere is Tel Aviv. Good location, really near the beach & good breakfast. Really noisy though but this is due to location & I had the window open because I don't like aircon. Staff fairly indifferent but generally good & definitely value for money compared to other hotels in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21998neptun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.4 mi away
The Embassy Hotel
The Embassy Hotel
#35 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armon Hayarkon
Armon Hayarkon
#72 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
#51 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port and Blue TLV Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Yam Hotel Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Center Chic Hotel Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel Tel Aviv

Property: The Port Hotel Tel Aviv
Address: 4 Yirmeyahu St/corner Od Hayarkon St, Tel Aviv 63507, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel Tel Aviv 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PORT HOTEL TEL-AVIV, located in a prime location, on the corner of HaYarkon St and Yirmeyahu St, 1 minute walk from the renewed Tel-Aviv Port and its numerous restaurants, clubs and cafes and only meters away from HaYarkon Park, the biggest park in Tel-Aviv. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our friendly staff will welcome you here and give you the best personal service and will assist you with anything you might need. You can use our complimentary, fully equip, Meeting Room or to go up and chill in our lovely Rooftop and its Sea view. From here you can go anywhere using the vast public transportation options available nearby. Come and enjoy the best Tel-Aviv has to offer. We are waiting to welcome you here. THE PORT HOTEL TEL-AVIV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Port Hotel Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing