We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Varsano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Varsano Hotel
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I have stayed in all of the big hotels in Tel Aviv.....and even the Hotel Montefiore on the small boutique side. The Varsano is the winner by far. We stayed in the family suite which is a 3 bedroom home. If you would like to stay in a multimillion dollar patio home in the coolest part of the coolest city in the world this is for you.

I stayed with my family of four and hit the beaches, Jaffa, Anita for Gelato every day, Jajo wine bar at night, breakfast every day at Dallal (included), and had a blast. Martin, Yotam and all of the crew have english down but have never learned the word no! They are the heart and soul of the property and really care where you eat, what you want, and are just nice people.

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zedtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Varsano is a collection of rooms/apartments in historic Neve Tzedek. #4 was clean, spacious (1 bedroom, 1.5 baths) and delightful. It feels like you are home instead of in a large, over-used hotel (which describes almost all other options in Tel Aviv). In Tel Aviv, I've stayed at the David Intercontinental, Dan panorama, Dan Tel Aviv, Leonard Basel and Sea Executive Suites. The Varsano is the best all around. Great location close to the beach. Internet works well and is included. You feel a part of the neighborhood--roosters crowing, people walking by. Martin and the reception staff made checking in and out easy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizAnn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We live in Tel Aviv and stayed here for our anniversary , great location, near the beach, near the best night life of tel aviv.(check Suzanna roof bar near by) the rooms are very nice, probably the Hi end of what you can find in Tel Aviv. they give a lot attention to the little details, keep in mind most of the rooms are at street level, would improve service and add dark curtains if you don't want to wake up early with the morning Sun. all in all good money value, very recommended for couples coming to Israel. room 4 has garden view.

Room Tip: Suite 4 has patio view. loft seems nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our stay at the Varsano Boutique Hotel in Tel Aviv was a perfect way to begin our first-time visit to Israel. From our initial e-mail inquiry and throughout our stay, Yotam and Martin and the staff at Varsano were consistently prompt, helpful, friendly, and straightforward. We had to make a few changes to our dates; about 90 days before our arrival, we thought we might have to change our dates yet again because of some work-related conflicts: no problems! We asked for their restaurant recommendations: their suggestions were frank and spot-on. All responses were within 24 hours, weekend or weekday. We arranged with the hotel a very reasonably-priced and punctual airport pick-up service, which made our arrival in Israel on a Friday afternoon so much easier.

We stayed in room #6, which was much better than shown in the photographs on the hotel website. Although a studio loft and thus presumably one of their smaller units, our room was very spacious for the 2 of us, with a nice sitting area with a gigantic and comfortable sofa, a large and luxurious king-sized bed, a minibar including a Nespresso station (yes!), and a spacious bathroom with a walk-in rainshower. One unexpected bonus: tucked to the side of the bathroom was a stacked washer/dryer unit that worked like a charm! Bed linens, l'Occitane bath amenities, and all bath toiletries were of high-quality. Housekeeping service was impeccable and attentive, and the room was spotlessly clean. Wifi is complimentary. We ourselves enjoy the juxtaposition of the old and the new in the decor: wide-planked hardwood floor, an airy high ceiling, rows of windows with old-fashioned wooden shutters facing the courtyard, light-colored linen drapes reminiscent of the Provence, quirky but tasteful and judiciously placed decorative touches.

The hotel is in the uber-charming and picturesque Neve Tzedek neighborhood, and our room, like the other rooms/suites at the Varsano, is in one of the original houses facing an interior courtyard, accessible from the street via a small wooden gate. Coming back to our room after a day of sightseeing in Tel Aviv or Jaffa was like coming back to one's private (and lovely) residence -- if one can afford to own property in this trendy neighborhood! Breakfast, included in the rates, is at either Suzana or Dallal, both of which are literally around the corner. (We had one breakfast and one dinner at Suzana and absolutely, absolutely loved the food and the ambience. Watching people at Suzana in the evening or over brunch on a Saturday morning alone was worth the visit, with families, young and not-so-young couples, and sometimes 3 generations all together socializing in such lively spirits under that huge old tree.) The location of the hotel is very convenient for accessing Jaffa (about 15-20 minutes walking along the Promenade past the Manta Ray kiosk), the lively Alma beach (about 5 minutes on foot), the charming Nahum Gutman Museum (about 6-7 blocks away), and the fabulous Catit Restaurant. Around the hotel itself, lively cafes and artsy shops abound.

We ourselves would love to return to Varsano when we are in Tel Aviv again!

Just a few quick last points: The rooms/suites are not necessarily at the same street address as their office, so find out from the staff the exact street address of your room/suite if you need that information; the reception desk is staffed from 9:30 AM - 9:30 PM.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My mother and I stayed in Suite#8 for 3 nights. The appartement is gorgeous. Shabby chic at its best! (If you are looking for hotel perfection that is not the place to go). The layout of the app is well done. In this app 6 people can stay without stepping on each others toes. For two it was quite (too) big. But we enjoyed to have seperated bedrooms.
The bed was extremely good. The little private patio was very lovely. It was so nice to sit outside in the sun and zipp on a cup of coffee. The kitchen is well stocked.
Breakfast vouchers entitle you to have breakfast either at Suzanna´s or Dallal restaurant close by. We tried at Dallal the first morning (Suzanna does not open before 10am, Dallal at 9am) and returned the other days because we liked it. The waitress was friendly, the location is nice, the food is good. It was necessary to make a reservation in order to get a seat...but that might have been because of Purim.
Also eating out at Suzanna right around the corner was ok, but not as good as at Dallal´s. The neighborhood is in my opinion the best to stay in TelAviv. The shops close by are selling nice jewelry, cloth, it´s a very relaxed, hip, cool neigborhood, with lots of young people and a few nice restaurants. Since it is a living area with "normal" houses, there is also a very responsible rooster living next door to the appartement. He starts "working" at 4am! And in one bedroom it is quite disturbing, the other bedroom is facing the patio, so this was quieter.
Very near one can rent bikes which can be deposited on other places in town. We did not rent one, but I loved the idea. Yafo is close, a 30 Minutes walk, the nicest attraction in my eyes.
The old trainstation, which is now a shooping area, is also interesting to see and only 7 minutes away. One can do all the ways either walking or by bike. I would definately book there again and can highly recommend it, cause I like shabby chic and dont care for 4*hotel service quality and large breakfast buffets. 3 days exploring the city were just enough for me.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to rooster better ask for a different suite in the other house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We loved our stay here - our family had three suites. All lovely, all comfortable, all clean and with everything we needed.

The location is stellar: in Neve Tzedek - shops, restaurants, cafes, services; two blocks from the beach; two blocks from the restored train station (more shops and restaurants); and a short walk to Jaffa. Ideal!

Best of all was the staff. Helpful, friendly, always patient and willing to do anything/book anything/research anything.

We plan to stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: Ask questions! They are very fast responding to your emails and will answer all questions to make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire2525_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My family and I have just checked out of this gorgeous hotel after 7 wonderful nights.
Our 2 & 1/2 bedroom family suite with 2 large bathrooms was spacious, beautifully appointed, and exceptionally clean. But what made our trip even more special was the attentive staff headed by Sivan. This type of service does not come cheap, however when we did have a slight leak in our roof, it was rectified immediately and as a gesture of apology we were showered with gifts.
Our room did not have a laundry as I had expected, but the silver lining was that they offered to do all our washing for us for free. This was a blessing saving me hours as we had already been traveling for 2 weeks.
The staff were extremely helpful with suggestions and making reservations for us, as well as being very polite.
We loved the area and walked just about everywhere.
I was thrilled with our choice and wouldn't hesitate staying here again.
As for the roosters, after the first night we got used to it, and it reminded us of all our other travels through Asia- it was really no big deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#39 of 102 in Tel Aviv
900 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
65 Hotel Rothschild Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
1.9 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#46 of 102 in Tel Aviv
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsano Hotel

Address: 15, Hevrat Shas St. | Neve Tzedek, Tel Aviv 65148, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varsano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsano Hotel is located in the unique Neve Tzedek neighborhood, making it the perfect vacation spot. The hotel itself is built on a historical ground, in the oldest part of Tel Aviv. Only a three minute walk to the beach, Neve Tzedek has a fine selection of boutique shops, cafes, restaurants and romantic bars. Our suites capture Tel Aviv's modern, Mediterranean essence, while our concierge service will care for your every need. Enjoy the convenience of a luxurious, full service home away from home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Varsano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing