We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic home and hearty food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Odelia - CLOSED

Odelia
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Home cooked, kosher meat restaurant at very cheap prices
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic home and hearty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Thank you for a tasty, homey meal last week - the chicken wings were very tasty. Combined with generous portions, quiet music, and service with a smile - what more can you ask for?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
218 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, tasty, and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We just walked by and decided to sit down to eat. Falafel and hummus were great, and the service as friendly and efficient. All at a great price!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DC2florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good reviews were accurate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We selected this restaurant partly on rating and location. Our family of four has enjoyed the local flavors and tastes but also missed some "American" dishes. Odelia gave us both. The Israeli dishes and my burger were delicious. Quality was fresh and tasty. We all feel the service in Israel has been a little lax at best and poor at the worst but Odelia seemed to make a better effort at it. We have stumbled on other street side cafes that were disappointing but Odelia deserves its higher Trip Advisor rating. I am sure it is because of consistency as they seemed to be comfortable with foreigners and eager to explain. Their pricing is very attractive. Special note to the combination meal at a good price. The quality is above the pricing which was a breath of fresh air.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Battmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
415 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a small restaurant on Ben Yahuda Street just north of Gordan. Great, it is not. But, it is not bad and inexpensive. Portions are a nice size, the hummus was very good. My chicken over couscous was fine but nothing to write home about. The couscous was on the dry side.A little sauce of some sort would have helped it along. My dining companion, if I remember correctly, got the meatballs and was not at all enthralled. They were dry.

The restaurant itself is pleasant enough and has an outdoor seating area that is great for people watching on busy Ben Yahuda Street. There were two servers the evening we visited. We observed that one was a tall very pleasant and friendly young woman with her patrons. Too bad we didn't get her. Our server , the short one, seemed peeved to be there. She was not friendly and slapped our dishes down on the table as if she was angry to have to work that night. Too bad, the other waitress was very gracious to her customers and even came to our table once to make sure we had all we needed. Our waitress was usually not to be found.

Will I go back? Maybe, since it is close to where I'm staying and there are so many better reviews of this restaurant. I'll give it another try. Although this is an inexpensive restaurant I gave the value an average rating since the overall experience was not up to par.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My friends and I went to Odelia yesterday because we saw great reviews on here. It was delicious! I got a ground beef dish with a tahini sauce. Our server was very friendly and attentive. They have a great business lunch deal which includes a small starter (hummus, soup, or salad), a main dish, soda, and tea or coffee all for around 50 shekels. Definitely a restaurant to visit if you are looking for a warm and hearty dish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hstein617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odelia also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing