We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice space - nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Washburn, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice space - nice place”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We enjoy having a little extra space to relax in and this was the perfect spot....nice kitchenette, little living room - we could sprawl. On top of that - super clean, filled with interesting art, fabulous staff!, good wholesome breakfast, and nice amenities ....some juice and milk in the refrigerator, for instance. Nearby are a ton of excellent restaurants and the beach is a quick 25 minute walk. We recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy10dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    247
    45
    16
    8
See reviews for
373
777
169
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This small hotel is ultra-designed with almost every corner carrying visual art, designed furniture and poetry. It was a bit overdone for my taste but I accept this is the concept here. We booked an executive suite with balcony and were told at check-in that we were upgraded - though I think our room was just what we ordered - which was really nice, with a living room with comfortable sofa and armchair, wooden floor, kitchenette, balcony with a nice view (we were at the 6th floor which was really nice), and a comfortable bedroom. Everything very stylish with black sheets and towels. designed furniture and lights, poems and artwork on the walls.
We found 2 major drawbacks in this hotel:
- the bathroom is not to the standard of the rest of the hotel. I don't mind the standard plastic toilet seat but the sink counter is too small, the bathtub is small too, and the toiletries in tubes (nice gimmick) didn't seem fresh.
- Don't go for the hotel's breakfast (and note - if you use a booking agent such as booking.com, and book the breakfast option, it won't be easy at all to take it off if you decide not to take the hotel's breakfast). This breakfast includes bread, butter, jam, small tomato salad and one selection of another salad, plus orange juice and a hot drink. There are tens of cafes within 10 minutes walk which serve excellent breakfast selections, and there is no reason to settle for this one.
Nevertheless, the location and beautiful rooms are well worth the price.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the higher floors, facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiaghilevTelAviv, Guest Relations Manager at The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Roth Family
We thank you for the review and would like to clarify a few points:
1. We tend to upgrade our guests based on availability, you have received a great upgrade to the Premium suit, you ordered an executive suit. The suit you received is on the top floor with the most beautiful green/urban view and the largest bathroom.
2. You forgot to mention in your review that the breakfast is a continental one, it says so on your reservation form. we actually give much more than a "continental" breakfast, we add fresh tomato salad and a salad of your choice (tuna, eggplant, eggs salad and more). Also, this breakfast is an optional one only for guests who are interested in having a continental breakfast.
3. Our toiletries are organic from the Jerusalem Ein-Karem valley, they are made of all natural ingredients which tends to oxygen once in touch with air. Just like a good wine. The quality of the fresh lemongrass and honey soap, shampoo, bath salt, cream and conditioner (which are hand filled unlike machinery filling) are all natural. We prefer top natural quality of products instead of conservatives.
Yours
The Diaghilev-live team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was there for a business trip and was picked up every day at 5 am and the only problem I had was that I had to leave the bed! Took very good care of us, and felt right at home. I wish the beach was closer but i was able to walk there in 15 minutes, no problem for the amount of food we had every night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am very glad that I chose The Diaghilev for my first visit to Tel Aviv and would stay there again. The hotel is on a quiet street in a great, safe and well-lit neighborhood centrally located in Central Tel Aviv. There are several cafés and restaurants very close by and the beach is about 15 to 20 minute walk. Restaurant suggestions nearby include: Bistro Noir, Cantina and Soupizza!

Thankfully Karen was at the front desk while we were checking in because her knowledge of the city was very helpful. We were offered wine while we checked in and plotted our first day of touring with the map that Karen gave us. Each time we needed assistance, the staff was ready to help (booking a taxi, which is how we met Moshe - please see below; making a dinner reservation and reserving a tour at Machon Ayalon - please see below).

The hotel is very modern: no room keys/combination lock instead; art-filled lobby and cafe/bar, etc. Strong wi-fi in the lobby, bar and guest rooms (HUGE BONUS!)!

We had a clean, very well-appointed and roomy suite that was perfect for 2 people and 2 large suitcases. The living room was lined with windows on one wall; had a couch, coffee table, small dining table with 2 chairs, a coat rack, luggage rack & a large TV on the wall. The “efficiency” kitchen was equipped with a small fridge; electric kettle for coffee and tea; glasses; plates; cutlery and stocked with instant coffee, non-dairy creamer AND milk in the fridge, tea, sugar, a large bottle of water and a bottle of OJ. We did not know this at first, but you can replenish your water bottle each day at the bar. Apparently you can also get towels for the beach from the lobby.

There are many electrical outlets throughout the suite and as I previously mentioned, strong WI-FI.

The clean bathroom had interesting black towels, good water pressure from the sink and shower although the position of the shower head was a bit awkward on the side instead of the end. On the vanity is a holder of “test tubes” filled with shampoo, conditioner, body gel and body lotion. The towels had fabric hooks for hanging (brilliant) and the back of the door had a wooden hanging rack.

The bedroom contained a small but comfortable double bed with black sheets and a black comforter. There was a desk and chair plus 3 more electrical outlets and well-positioned lighting.

We had the continental breakfast in the cafe 2 times out of convenience and it was fine. The happy hour in the evenings is a good deal!

This was the perfect place to stretch out and spend the last 4 days of a great 2 week vacation in Israel. Even if you do not spend a lot of time in the hotel room, like we did, you want your room to be comfortable and accommodating. The Diaghilev was exactly what we wanted.

Additional tips: if you need a private guide/driver, consider Moshe - www.taxi-net.co.il. Excellent gentleman who helped make our trip fantastic. Also do not miss Machon Ayalon in Rehovot (Moshe can take you there and back) to visit and understand the underground ammunition factory from the mid-1940s. I am going to blog about it on www.candidish.com because it was such an interesting and educational experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere was friendly and helpful every need was met. The art concept adds character and makes the stay unique and special.The hotel is centrally placed and easy to reach most entertainment places.would go back there again.The black sheets and towels are unique As well as the toiletries which are natural and made by people with special needs.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel, and we will come back again.
It is a wonderful gem in the best location in Tel Aviv.
Very quite street, which is only steps away from the the best restaurants, clubs, and beautiful Rothschild avenue. The apartment was spacious, and very clean. We stayed in a room that faced a lovely green court yard. The coffee shop downstairs has good coffee and have a good feel to it.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. Thanks to all the staff !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321sam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It started with a very warm greeting and welcome. We were offered to enjoy a drink from the bar while paperwork was being finalised. As it was 3 of us, we were put in a very spacious 3 rooms and huge balcony suite.
Place was very clean.
On one of the day of our stay in Tel Aviv, I mentioned at the reception that we are going to visit Dead Sea. Immediately, I was offered & given a bag with towels and a large bottle of water to take with us. This was like staying with ones caring family & not a hotel.
Location is perfect – so many bars, coffee shops and restaurant nearby. Area is quite & very convenient.
We had a very enjoyable time in Diaglev hotel. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 423Rita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 100 in Tel Aviv
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lily & Bloom Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#33 of 100 in Tel Aviv
879 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
Best Western Regency Suites
#10 of 100 in Tel Aviv
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel

Property: The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel
Address: 56 Mazeh Street, Tel Aviv 6578906, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diaghilev is a bohemian boutique hotel that offers an extraordinary and exceptional cultural experience intensified by an excellent personal service. The hotel features an art gallery exhibiting over 500 artworks that change every 6 months, unique and mostly radical decor items, a collection of hand made rugs from all over the universe, most of which are ancient and therefore reflect the aged cultures they originate from. The Diaghilev has recently established a HUB for Start-ups and integrates a wide activity in such fields as design, fashion and technology. The uniqueness of the hotel brought it into prominence among internationally acknowledged artist visiting Tel Aviv and the world of technology and start-up. Many employees of the leading corporations in the world choose the Diaghilev as their base in Tel Aviv. Built in the purest Bauhaus the Diaghilev invites its guests to experience a World Cultural Heritage site rich of hundreds of Bauhaus buildings and get a taste of the “White City.” Our uncommon nocturnal concept was designed taking account of a recent scientific research that showed evidence that black beddings cause intensive production of Melatonin hormone, which results in deeper sleep, stronger immune system and increased anti-aging effect. The Diaghilev is an eco-friendly hotel, committed to a continually expanding list of operating practices that aim to maintain minimal environmental impact. The toiletries at the Diaghilev are of outstanding quality. They are produced from natural materials created from plants cultivated for this purpose in the hills of Jerusalem. These products are produced and packaged at a small factory that employs people with disabilities and integrates them into the labor market. Our creativity-support concept lead to the establishment of the HUB - a shared work environment that is more than a physical workplace for creative entrepreneurs: It is designed to nurture a community in which creators will be able to collaborate with one another in order to produce innovative projects and initiatives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing