We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most accommodating hotel I have come across in a loooong time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most accommodating hotel I have come across in a loooong time.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I had a great stay at Diaghalev! Among the many wonderful aspects of our stay we were greeted very warmly, parking was next door with reasonable daily rate and in and out privileges, when our daughter came into Tel Aviv one night they allowed her to park free of charge in the lot while we ran to have dinner (parking is really limited in Tel Aviv!), as Hamas was lobbying missiles at the time that reached Tel Aviv, we were given explicit instructions and an information sheet telling us what we should do in the case of a siren warning us to seek shelter, we loved the art in the rooms and throughout the hotel, enjoyed the seating in our living area, I loved the tea assortment in our room, we had a small refrigerator which allowed us to bring cold beverages and leftover food back to our room, the hotel is steps away from Sderot Rothschild which has a lovely wide space for walkers and bicyclists and TONS of restaurants, we were minutes away( walking) from a wonderful free tour that is given every Shabbat morning on Bauhaus Architecture, the hotel has a small lounge with food and drink and outdoor seating, wonderful windows in living area and bedroom, a great shower head, very clean room each day. Best of all was the price for all of this. It is more than difficult to find a quality hotel with a good rate. That it's a boutique hotel only adds to the enjoyment of our stay. Wonderfully warm and helpful employees!

Room Tip: The first time we stayed at The Diaghalev we had a room located on the street (Mazeh) and it was noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonievg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    246
    45
    16
    8
See reviews for
372
772
169
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Looking for a superb boutique hotel in Tel Aviv? One with superb service, an artsy atmosphere, and one in the heart of the trendiest city on the Med? Then look no further than the Diaghilev. I'm an Israel veteran and have been going there for years, but normally take a chain hotel. We discovered the Diaghilev hotel by accident, online, and decided to give it a try. My family and I spent the best part of a month there and were simply delighted with every aspect. The one-bedroom suite we had came complete with King bed, basic kitchen, a large living area, balcony, and even very trendy art on the walls. The hotel has maybe 50 rooms, which allows for the staff to personalize the service and the Backstage cafe is just the informal and Middle Eastern kind of cafe you want to relax in after a day of wandering down Rothschild avenue, walking to the beach, to Tel Aviv's renovated port, and always picturesque Jaffa. Anat and her staff made us feel beyond welcome, and were accommodating to our every whim. Great service, superb facilities (fasted wifi I've had ever!), reasonably priced and close to everything you'd want to see, do, or eat in Tel Aviv, the Diaghilev is now our new "home away from home" in Israel - I'd give it six stars if I could!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and chat with the staff - there's a variety of room sizes and styles and they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is in a quiet place and the design is gorgeous , the rooms are very big and spacious .The team in the hotel is paying attention to every guest, the service is wonderful .The breakfest was delicious and the atmosphere of a restaurant in the 60's . The hotel located near to Rothschild street .It was a wonderful experience and we are waitang to come back to the hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Diaghilev for 2 nights last month.

We booked it based on our reviews and it was very nice, although we felt it has been overhyped somewhat. But we felt safe and comfortable in this area which was the most important thing for us.

The aparthotel room was pleasant enough with artwork on display. It was a pain having to go to the ironing station downstairs to use a knackered iron and board, one time the iron had disappeared which was not good as we were about to go out. The bed and sheets were poor quality, felt like polyester and carpet was stained. Mineral water was available throughout which was good as was a supply of milk and selection of tea and coffee in the room.

We were forced to book a room for an extra night because our flight arrived in the morning and we wanted to check in when we arrived, most worldwide hotels would have accommodated us.

The hotel is situated on what appears to be a residential street, the taxi drivers found it hard to find. It is around the corner from Rothschild with its small selection of bars and restaurants. It is a long trek to Old Jaffa and the beautiful beaches Tel Aviv has to offer.

We booked our private tour from another hotel as we were out near Old Jaffa away from Diaghilev and it was easy to do a day around Bethlehem and Jerusalem with our guide. A truly amazing experience all round.

Everyone in this part of the world was really friendly.

Diaghilev was nice and served its purpose.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONDONMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great hospitality, the staff is just great.
The suite was very pleasant - big enough to accommodate a family.
good recommendation of the staff for restaurants and things to do and see near by.
For sure we will return to this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank עמית ל
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You will not find the level of AUTHENTIC caring you will find at the Diaghilev anywhere else in Israel. The Diaghilev is a rare find. You will be treated like family and your concerns and needs will be taken on board by the staff as though it is their mission to have you fall in love with their hotel and their country--and fall in love with their hotel and their country I did. I fell hard. You can find hotels with more glitz, but you would be hard-pressed to find service at this level of excellence--even at a hotel at twice the price. Don't make the mistake of staying at the overly touristic hotels on the beach, the Diaghilev is the real deal and situated in a serene, idyllic residential neighborhood only steps away from the more lively Rothschild Boulevard, where you stroll down a treed center island, dotted with cafes and food kiosks galore, offering mouth-watering meals, with musicians playing. The district in which the Diaghilev is located is sort of Israel's answer to New York's Greenwich Village and a little bit Paris, where there are friendly bars of every stripe and color where you can mingle with the locals instead of other tourists for a true Tel Aviv experience till the wee hours of the morning. I went to Israel alone as I could not find anyone to go with. I arrived at the Diaghilev Hotel unsure if I made the right choice, so many people said stay at the beachfront hotels. I was also traveling alone for the first time in my life and I worried I would feel alone in Israel. Miriam, one of the many warm and gracious front desk staff members, upon hearing I was traveling alone, called her husband and said, "Eddie you're having dinner with one of our hotel guests who is traveling alone." Her husband took me to the ancient port of Jaffa, where we ate at the Old Man and the Sea restaurant by the water for one of the best meals I ever had. They set down some 30 tasting dishes in front of us, and each was better than the next (definitely go for the kabobs). Miriam looked after me as though she were my long lost sister. When I had a banking problem, she helped solve it. When I sustained a foot injury, she got me to the best medical help. She helped me find my way around Israel as though she was my personal guide. Her every recommendation was beyond reproach. She made me feel as though I was a dignitary visiting her country. Sivan, another one of the most warm and kind front desk staff, helped me network and meet new friends in Israel. She always had time for me. I was never a bother. Both Tomer and Dana (a total sweetheart working in the hotel's bar and restaurant), cheerfully took on my every special request and made me generously made sandwiches and salads. (Try the feta cheese at the hotel restaurant, it's so different from American feta cheese, it's not as tart, it's softer, and it's delectable). All the wines and beers at the bar were superb. The bar has an outside sitting area that is designed in a way to encourage guests to befriend one another. I made so many friends on that little patio outside the bar, including a long-stay resident named Tzipi, nickname Zizi, who became like my mother in Israel. Lior at the bar, a former medic in the military, cleaned and bandaged my foot injury, sustained on a tour in an ancient site, with such skill that the hospital who later did surgery on me, asked me, seeing the job Lior did, if I'd already been to a hospital before coming to them. Lior's sister invited me to her photo studio. Karin, an opera singer who works at the hotel, hugged me tight on my departure. Raz, who often worked the graveyard shift, such an amazingly endearing young woman, was always up for a late night chat when the front desk was not busy and I was craving good company. I was no trouble to anyone, I was a welcomed friend from abroad to everyone working at the Diaghilev. Lior and Teddy, also on the front desk staff, made arrangements for me beyond my wildest imagination. They always phoned me to reconfirm any arrangement they'd made for me was done correctly. During air raids that happened during my stay, the staff whisked us all into bomb shelters in an orderly calm way. Because of the calm of the staff and because of their level of caring and concern, I never felt unsafe. Because of the staff at the Diaghilev, I always felt well-protected to the extent that even during bomb raids, I felt completely at peace and would not hesitate returning even if there were difficulties in Israel. Anat, the very beautiful and always smiling owner of the hotel, is to be highly commended. She so clearly strives to staff her hotel, not just with good people, but with extraordinary people, people you feel lucky to have met, people who will make your stay in Israel a magical experience as mine was. I didn't know whether or not to stay in Jerusalem or Tel Aviv before traveling to Israel. Having stayed in Tel Aviv at the Diaghilev, I would recommend staying in Tel Aviv and doing day tours to Jerusalem, to the West Coast, to the Golan Heights, and Dead Sea. The night life around the Diaghilev, the staff at the Diaghilev, make staying in Tel Aviv, at the Diaghilev, the obvious choice. I just felt to terrifically cared for, like never before in any hotel I've stayed at, anywhere in the world. I had a tearful goodbye with Miriam from the front desk, for I had the journey of a lifetime, like the kind your read about in novels, staying at the Diaghilev--thanks to her and to everyone at the Diaghilev who looked after me like I was family. I received an e-mail from the front desk after my departure. They wrote to tell me Tzipi wanted to know if I'd already made a reservation to come back. Don't worry Tzipi, I'll be back to the Diaghilev. How can I not come back?! If I am to be honest, I don't want anyone else to know about this hotel for fear it will be hard to get a room in future, but being a member of the TripAdvisor community, it is my responsibility to share the Diaghilev with you. I am sad to be away from it. (Notes: the A/C in the room was not noisy and powerful enough to keep cold cuts fresh; fridge in every room; bed sheets are towels are now white instead of black, which I preferred; bath products were top shelf; local calls from the room are less expensive than using a cell, just dial a 9 to get out; wifi is strong and free throughout; Backstage Restaurant and Bar in the hotel is open from 730am-11pm and has a full menu if you feel like staying holed up in the hotel (the chocolate croissants were yummy); my room was cleaned always sooner than I expected and done perfectly; bring plenty of Shekels with you, cash is required more often than in the U.S. If you need to buy shekels with a credit card, go straight to nearby Bank Leumi, the most accommodating hassle-free bank for foreign travelers, don't waste your time at the post offices or at other banks as I did. Most of the restaurants along Rothschild are open past midnight for a full course meal; highly recommend nearby Orna and Ella restaurant for their vegetable-feta salad, their Moroccan fish cakes, yam pancakes, and Cauliflower siniya; other selling point to hotel is the changing art in the lobby and in the rooms, it's like staying at a modern art museum; conference meeting space is available as well as computer work stations; great hotel for meetings and visits with friends--very intimate and serene; Miriam's husband is probably not available to all for dinner, I was lucky).

Room Tip: Get a balcony room definitely. Go to nearby Jaffa and eat at the Man and the Sea Restaurant for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I just returned to the US from Israel a week early because of the dangerous war that broke out between Israel and gaza. I had to cancel my reservation at the last minute and ultimately was charged for the full stay. Other hotels in tel aviv were gracious and understanding and granted full refunds no questions asked. The best this place would do was offer me a credit good for 6 months. Let's see, if the war ends by then how likely would you be to book with this hotel? Booking.com was powerless to help. Shame on you Diaghilev.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank WrldTrvlr007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 100 in Tel Aviv
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lily & Bloom Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#33 of 100 in Tel Aviv
866 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Yam Hotel Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel

Property: The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel
Address: 56 Mazeh Street, Tel Aviv 6578906, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diaghilev is a bohemian boutique hotel that offers an extraordinary and exceptional cultural experience intensified by an excellent personal service. The hotel features an art gallery exhibiting over 500 artworks that change every 6 months, unique and mostly radical decor items, a collection of hand made rugs from all over the universe, most of which are ancient and therefore reflect the aged cultures they originate from. The Diaghilev has recently established a HUB for Start-ups and integrates a wide activity in such fields as design, fashion and technology. The uniqueness of the hotel brought it into prominence among internationally acknowledged artist visiting Tel Aviv and the world of technology and start-up. Many employees of the leading corporations in the world choose the Diaghilev as their base in Tel Aviv. Built in the purest Bauhaus the Diaghilev invites its guests to experience a World Cultural Heritage site rich of hundreds of Bauhaus buildings and get a taste of the “White City.” Our uncommon nocturnal concept was designed taking account of a recent scientific research that showed evidence that black beddings cause intensive production of Melatonin hormone, which results in deeper sleep, stronger immune system and increased anti-aging effect. The Diaghilev is an eco-friendly hotel, committed to a continually expanding list of operating practices that aim to maintain minimal environmental impact. The toiletries at the Diaghilev are of outstanding quality. They are produced from natural materials created from plants cultivated for this purpose in the hills of Jerusalem. These products are produced and packaged at a small factory that employs people with disabilities and integrates them into the labor market. Our creativity-support concept lead to the establishment of the HUB - a shared work environment that is more than a physical workplace for creative entrepreneurs: It is designed to nurture a community in which creators will be able to collaborate with one another in order to produce innovative projects and initiatives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Diaghilev, LIVE ART Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing