We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay at Brown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Amazing Stay at Brown”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I was incredibly impressed with the Brown Hotel. When I arrived, I was offered a glass of proseco. My room had a bottle of wine, two bottles of water and a box of very delicious chocolates made by a local. The staff was really great, especially Ruth (I think her name was Ruth). She made reservations for all the restaurants I wanted to eat at while I was there and always provided a card with the name of the restaurant and its address. Since I didn't know the area and I was alone, she also provided recommendations of where I can go after dinner. On the ground floor there is an area where they always offer free coffee, tea, fruit and cookies. The location was great. It was an easy walk for me to get down to the sea where there is a boardwalk that allows you to walk along the coast. Or a very short walk to the street art market (e.g. 5 min walk). After I ate at Rafael, rather than taking a taxi back I walked back and it was great. The only thing i was disappointed with was their breakfast. I stayed at a couple of other hotels while I was visiting different areas and they offered the big breakfast buffets. At Brown, you can go to this small cafe where you get a very limited choice for breakfast. The food was good but much prefer the buffet. I did appreciate the leather booklet they had in the room providing suggestions for siteseeing as well as a list of restaurants. All the restaurants I ate while I stayed at the Brown was from this booklet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Naomi0301,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the recommendations of our concierge team were helpful and assisted in planning your vacation.

Our breakfast is indeed served in three cafes in the hotel's surroundings where our guests can choose any of the breakfasts in the menu. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your breakfast. On your next visit you are welcome to choose one of the other two cafes and although it won't be a buffet, we hope you will find a wider menu choise.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    232
    47
    19
    18
See reviews for
57
468
172
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We just returned from having spent four nights at the Brown TLV, and we loved every minute of our stay. We’d made our reservations months ago, and in view of recent events in Israel we almost cancelled our trip a week before we were to depart. I called the hotel, and was reassured by Rebecka that life in Tel Aviv had returned to normal, and that we should still consider coming. Rebecka was absolutely right, and we’re so glad that we decided to visit this amazing, energetic, and welcoming city. The Brown TLV has an ideal location which makes it easy to get anywhere in Tel Aviv. Our room, a deluxe, was well appointed, clean, and lovely. The rooftop bar is a perfect place to end one’s day in Tel Aviv. We particularly enjoyed its relaxed sophistication, and the respite it provided from the hubbub of busy Tel Aviv below. The bartender, Paz, not only makes a good cocktail, but he is also a fount of information about Tel Aviv. Every member of the Brown’s staff, in fact, is a gem, and Rebecka, Su, and Ilan went out of their way to share the best of their city with us, and to make sure that our stay there was both easy and memorable.

It’s clear that the hotel’s owners and general manager have put together a great team, one that cares deeply for the hotel and its guests, and that even the smallest of details matter to them all. The Brown TLV is a delight, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear PDX-World,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are very happy that you decided to come to Tel Aviv and experience this great city.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff. Each one of them is indeed a gem and does his/her outmost to assist and provide great recommendations for our guests.
All of them are local Tel Avivians who know and love the city and are encouraged to provide their own personal references.

We are glad that you liked your room and that you found the roof top bar to be a good way to finish the day. We invite you to visit us soon and experience our upcoming winter bar.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Brown staff made sure my first trip to Tel Aviv was everything I wanted it to be. I could not have done that without them. Ideal location, lovely place to simply be, highly knowledgeable and supportive-but-not-intrusive staff, and bikes, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Diane W,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that that we managed to make your Tel-Aviv visit a great one.

We are glad that you found our location useful and our staff to be knowledgeable and supportive.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Browns has a lot going for it, good location near Neve Zedek, Carmel Market, Allenby a very trendy roof terrace, great living room lobby, helpful and friendly staff. Its main problem is that the rooms are very small so its OK for a couple of nights but if you need to spread your stuff out for longer go for somewhere with a bit more room

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonKalisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear JonKalisch,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient. It is indeed very close to many shopping and cultural centers in town.

We are also glad that you enjoyed our roof terrace, living room and our lovely staff.

As you rightly pointed out, our classic rooms are urban in size and perfectly suited for couples but if you wish to stay for a longer period we indeed recommend reserving one of our larger rooms (Relax/Deluxe). We will be happy to reserve one of these rooms for you on your future stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The staff at this hotel (Sue) was exceptional. It is a converted bank and the sleeping room was small, but more than sufficient. Very modern and unique. Have a choice of 3 neighborhood restaurants for breakfast. I didn't take advantage, but another guest RAVED about one of them. Unique, trendy look. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Chris H,

Thak you for your lovely review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff exeptional.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future so you can experience our breakfast options as well as some surprises the hotels has planned.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Cannot say enough about this small trendy boutique hotel in a perfect location in Tel Aviv. The contemporary decor is wonderful, warm inviting, with a "living room" instead of a lobby, a huge patio space, a spectacular roof garden (with cocktails in the evening, comfy chairs,hot tub, massage tables, bathrooms). Best is incomparable service. All young staffers, including the amazing manager, Danny, were upbeat, bright, helpful. We had two unusual issues, one the loss of my husbands identity papers and checkbook. While the young woman on duty insisted we go out to breakfast, she called the bank, the police stations all over town -- and when we returned she had located the papers and gave us the address of the police station to go retrieve them. (we could not do this ourselves as don't speak Hebrew). The next night our rental car, in the convenient garage in the hotel, didn't start. We had an appointment, so the front desk staff got us a taxi and took our rental agreement and keys and when we returned at midnight, she had comtacted Hertz and a technician had come and repaired the car. These were two extraordinary situations. But putting those aside, the greetings and personal attention and sweetness of the staff, the delicious cookies and cake and Cava waiting in the lobby at all times, made this our favorite home away from home. Only negative the well organized, beautifully decorated but very small rooms. They will store your suitcases, a big help, and manage to squeeze in every amenity, but you need to be prepared for a small space. Try this hotel. You won't regret it. PS breakfast is included which you can take at any of three nice spots a few minutes from the hotel. Nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear JoanF,

Thank you for your very kind review.

We are very happy that you had a good experience staying with us and enjoyed our decor, roof top bar and lobby.

Most of all, we were glad that you found your documents and were that the car was fixed.
We always try to assist our guests in the best possible way, I am glad that we succeeded to do so.

We thank you again for your lovely words about our staff. They are the hotel's best asset.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

This small relatively new boutique hotel a 10 minute walk to Carmel Market and some of tel aviv 's many cafes, has a bit of an identity crisis caused by its surroundings. The neighborhood it chose at least in one direction is in "Transition". In TLV that means a row of run down buildings leafing to Brown's front door. True, it's 100 yards from a relatively nice commercial street but kalisher street is years away from being a toney tel aviv address. There should be a dedicated concierge. Most of the staff was "just hired" never a good sign. They are young and helpful but not well trained at least yet. They don't currently have any food in the hotel at all and send you a ways off to one of 3 local restaurants for your free breakfast. Overall it's a lot of wear and tear for little if any price/value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoredevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Shoredevil,

Thank you for your review.

We were sorry to read your impression of our hotel.

We completely understand that the hotel cannot suit everyone's taste and we appreciate your honest input.

The hotel is located between two of Tel Aviv's trendy neighborhoods, walking distance from the beach and from the well know Rothschild boulevard. Our area, as the entire city of Tel Aviv, is in constant development and the hotel is located next to a beautiful renovated UNESCO world heritage building.

Our staff is indeed young and although you might have stayed with us during the training period of some of our front desk staff, they are always happy to assist and provide great concierge guidance and advice.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Tel Aviv and hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rothschild 71
The Rothschild 71
#1 of 100 in Tel Aviv
949 reviews
1.1 mi away
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rothschild Hotel - Tel Aviv's Finest
1.7 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#27 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown TLV Urban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown TLV Urban Hotel

Property: Brown TLV Urban Hotel
Address: 25 Kalisher, Tel Aviv 6516505, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#4 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#17 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown TLV Urban Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new color in town. In the heart of Tel Aviv's urban scene, at the crossroads of the charming Neve Tzedek quarter and trendy Rothschild Boulevard and a ten minute walk from the beach, the Brown TLV Hotel is an ideal choice for the seasoned business traveler as well as the lifestyle-driven individual eager to access the vibrant city. Arts and culture, dining and nightlife– are all outside our door. The Brown boutique hotel caters to the value-minded, yet stylishly discerning guest. Combining unique retro design, stylish ambiance and personalized service, Brown TLV is an award winning hotel recommended by international magazines such as NY Times, Wallpaper, Conde Nast Traveller, Vogue and Time Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brown TLV Urban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Tlv Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing