We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Tel Aviv”
Review of Beachfront Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beachfront Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value in Tel Aviv”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hostel doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you step inside that changes. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and all of the amenities (WIFI, AC, TV) worked well. The roof terrace is a nice place to hang out, with comfy lounges and a good view.

The location is good, right on the beach and close to everything you'll need.

The staff were a bit hit and miss. One lady was very friendly and helpful where as one didn't really want to lift a finger to help. We met the owner and he was very nice.

A good budget option for staying in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    164
    78
    26
    19
See reviews for
54
80
118
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

this hostel has a fairly good position on the seaside walk of Tel-Aviv.
The rooms are clean and confortable, but unfortunately the guest is simply a number.
I've had a discussion with the staff about my willingness to cancel the booking for the second night of stay, and there has not been any way to get the cancelation without paying the full amount, even if my request has been forwarded more than 24 hours in advance.
The street in front of the hotel is jammed with traffic till late at night, if you go there try to get a room in the back-side.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calcifero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

Clean, nice bathrooms, very helpful staff, fantastic beach out front.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was surprised when I got to this hotel, it calls itself a hotel but it's basically a hostel. They made the beds for you, and change the sheets daily, but they still offered dorms for 95NIS where you shared the room with random people. The girls bathroom smelled funny, I think it was the air freshener they used though, and there was no window for ventilation. It was clean however, and apparently the men's bathroom didn't smell weird.

The rooms were clean, there are flat screens provided in every room with cable tv. the rooms for 2-4 people are facing the front of the hotel and you get an amazing view of the beach, the rooms at the back had a patio with chairs to sit at. (The front rooms on the main floor had this too, but all of the back rooms had patios on all floors the front rooms on the second floor just got an incredible view).

Some rooms had an ensuit with a toilet, sink and shower (the shower was sometimes the European style that's basically showering on the floor), others didn't so there were the communal showers/bathroom, those were the ones that smelled funny, the private bathrooms didn't.

The hotel is right across from the beach and a 15min walk from the major market/shopping area. Its close to restaurants, and bars. They do a pub crawl too where for 100NIS they take you to at least 5 bars and you get a free shot at each bar, a normal shot in Israel is 30NIS each so it's a good deal if your into drinking/clubbing.

The staff were really nice. There was one person who worked at the front desk who was amazing, she would call places and book you tickets to places or just find information out for you with no problem. They gave out beach towels as well, and there was a laundry place around the corner. There was an amazing roof top patio with a 40 inch flat screen, tea, coffee, couches, a swinging chair, and tons more seating area. It also had an amazing view of the beach and the sunset was amazing.

They have a storage area for your luggage until your ready to leave the city on the day of your check out, and the best part is you can leave it there as long as you need. I went to Eilat for a week between my stays at the Beachfront Hotel and they had no issue with me leaving my bags in their storage for the week.

As long as your not expecting a hotel rather then a higher class hostel this place is perfect. My only complaint was the smell of the bathrooms.

Room Tip: if your willing to spend a little more, book a room on the second floor, facing the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tealbird_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location and the ground floor rooms have a little veranda that is totally adorable! The best thing is the Staff! All of them are sooooo helpful and so sweet! Whenever we needeed information or help they were there for us! Thanks guys!
The negative is that the rooms are tiny and they dont have space to put your luggage or even a proper wardrobe to put some clothes. Also in the 4 days we stayed the room wasnt cleaned at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotiris_Ath_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a very small building with very thin walls. It has a nice vew but it is just in the street level and that makes the noise sometimes unbearable( even if you do not have problem with it) For three days although the towels were changed every day the room was not cleaned. Generally I would not say it was clean! It was not comfortable and rooms were very small. I have to say though that the staff at the reception were very polite and helpful at all times all of them!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank theots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The position is nice but the level of service is very poor.. Unfriendly director and staff at the reception. Value for money questionable... A lot of traffic in front of the hotel..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#34 of 100 in Tel Aviv
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
Best Western Regency Suites
#11 of 100 in Tel Aviv
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Center Chic Hotel Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#37 of 100 in Tel Aviv
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Mer
Hotel De La Mer
#80 of 100 in Tel Aviv
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Florentine Hostel
Florentine Hostel
#7 of 94 in Tel Aviv
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hostel

Property: Beachfront Hostel
Address: 78 Retsif Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv 6343121, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hotel is located on the famous Tel-Aviv Promenade, Herbert Samuel, overlooking the beautiful beaches of Tel-Aviv. We are situated in the most lively and vibrant part of the city, with all the best attractions within walking distance or a short bus ride away. The Beachfront is a comfortable and friendly hotel offering affordable accommodation right on the beachfront. The two story building offers a variety of rooms accommodating any travelers budget. Our cozy rooms all have air-conditioning, 32" flat screen cable TV, refrigerators and free WI-FI internet connection. We have a huge roof lounge area that is great for sun-bathing, soaking up the sun and loosing yourself in the amazing sea view. We provide an unlimited supply of beach towels and free hot/cold drinks are complementary throughout the day. Our guests enjoy a full breakfast for just 30 ILS at the famous "Yotveta" restaurant next door and 20% discount at the popular 'La Mer' beach restaurant just across the promenade. Our friendly staff will be happy to help you find great areas in the city to explore, book tours and tell you about the best pubs, clubs, restaurants and other hot spots in Tel Aviv! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing