We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good private rooms, bad dorms”
Review of Beachfront Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachfront Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Private rooms are excellent value, ask ahead for one on the front with terrace overlooking the beach. Clean and comfortable. However, don't bother with the dorms. Air con didn't work, bathroom was stinky and beds were uncomfortable. You can get mjuch more for your money elsewhere. Brilliant location though, was nice to roll out of bed and on to the beach. Staff a little flaky/or perhaps still half-asleep after a heavy night?? The girl was lovely though. I also left a top there which was 'never found'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ch4singthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Im sorry to hear of your experience, with our dorms the a.c, is now working! We want to thank you for your review every word neggative or possitive is imoprtant to making The Beachfront a better place. Consinerning the smell of the bathroom, we will take a good look into all you said and check it out. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review. If you are ever in Tel Aviv again we hope that you will consider staying with us again!
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here with a friend had a good experience overall.
Firstly the location is amazing - it's hard to beat.
The building is fine - it's modern enough but certainly not brand new.
The rooms are comfortable. They're certainly not huge, but a twin room enough is certainly enough for two people and all your bags easily enough.
The bathroom was fine, and the place certainly is kept clean.
The views are amazing. The rooftop is great, although the bar never seemed to be manned was which as a bit of a pity.
But there is an awesome Irish themed pub run by Americans near by, and the place next door for breakfast (which you get discount on) is really good.
The staff at the hostel were always quite nice - certainly helpful if you ask for anything.
The complimentary beach towels a nice touch.
As other reviewers have said this isn't really a hotel - it's hostel. If you're after a hotel experience you might be disappointed. As it's not a dirt cheap hostel.
But if you're after a well run hostel that's good value for what you get in a great location to explore Tel Aviv this the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimorTelAviv, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi B C from Australia! Thanks for your feedback online. we really appreciate hearing about your experience. cleanliness is one of the most important factors for us. these days we reorganizing the roof top bar with pool table, book exchange, movie nights and anything we can think of that will make our guest feel cosy :) so thanks again come back again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel perfect location and at the price, accommodation is adequate don't expect luxury is a travellers hostel. Pleasantly surprised and staff very helpful. Cleaning of room takes place late afternoon to allow revellers to have a lay in and get out late afternoon (didn't suit my European siesta) so room didn't get cleaned a lot and duvet cover wasn't' changed at all. Didn't know was next to the American embassy ... May have put me off, but would stay again

Room Tip: No Fitness centre and no pool beach is outside after dodging death of road and cycle path. Get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyora s, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you Morgan for taking the time to share your experience here at the Beachfront Hotel on Tripadvisor. We love to read that you enjoyed our location, staff and price because this is exactly what we aim for you and our visitors. In response to the duvet, we are a green friendly hotel therefore we change the beds every two days (of course every new visitor receives a tidy room). We look forward to seeing you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, my overall experience was ok.
The location is perfect as on the beach but the hostel in itself is quite bad kept even if their website states that: "is a brand new, modern hotel ". It's not brand new, it's not modern and surely needs some maintenance/renovation. The terrace in the top floor is nice, though.
Anyway, as solo traveller I paid 65 Euros per night so it didn't come cheap at all.
I had my single bed where the covering sheet was coming out all the time so basically I was sleeping in the mattress all the time, gross :-(
Location is good, staff very friendly and helpful (even if I red some reviews where people were complaining about them), in fact, the only unfriendly people are the cleaner(s) whom barely smiles and even if they are there for the whole day their cleaning skills are quite low and spend more time to chat sitting on the floor than doing their job.
Bathroom/wc to be shared with too many people, no hairdryer as written in their website, beach towel offered are more small normal towels. Useless :-P

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageuse_DuMonde83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyora s, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Laura thank you for the feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you addressed . And for your comment about us not being " new and modern" we are under renovation and by next summer we will meet those standards. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Which does imply some other things are not great : the shared bathroom are a little too shared as they offer no privacy for showering and are not all that clean ( you'll want to keep some flipflops on). The rooms are very small and unless you have the AC on or the window open, they are very warm but they are clean. They are street facing which can get noisy.Sheets and towels are provided which is nice. The best part is you are accross the road from the beach and the rooftop lounge offers an amazing view of the sun setting on the Mediterranean. Tonight, a saxophone player has been playing for most of the evening which is a nice sound to fall asleep to.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeConstantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyora s, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we are glad that you enjoyed our location and rooftop. We really appreciate your comment about our cleanliness, it is one of the most important elements of a good hotel, and honestly we just finished upgrading both ladies and men's shared shower, and we can assure you it is ten times cleaner. :) We hope to see you again in Tel Aviv! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We spent a night in a triple room before living TLV for our home country.
Be there too early for the check-in they accept to keep our luggages in a safe place and our food in their private fridge.
The person at the reception was very kind and helpful.
We booked a taxi from them (150 NIS for three people).
Rooms are small but ok, especially when you are there only for sleeping.
They have a nice roof top and offer a 50% discount for a breakfast at the restaurant beside the hotel (we didn't try due to our early flight).
Bed are soft and AC works well.
A bit noisy because straight on the main road in front of the beach. So get some ear plugs.
Tiny fridge in thz room but no kitchen in the hotel.
Shared bathrooms are pretty old and need to be updated. There is shower gel free to use.
More a hostel than a hotel, it's ok when you are not looking for 3* more hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Worldtriper_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyora s, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Max,
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially the location and the compliments to the staff. If you decide to come back and stay with us, we have just renovated the women's and men's shared bathrooms. Thank you as well for your description of our convenient location. We look forward to your next visit with us! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Location: As close to the beach as you can get in Tel Aviv. Twenty minute brisk walk to Jaffa and fifteen to Tel Aviv pubs and clubs.

Rooms: Stayed in two different rooms as started and ended the holiday here. The first at the front was good but simple. Small private terrace overlooking beach. Clean enough with no frills. Second had a TV but was smaller with no terrace. Not quite as clean and the bathroom stank.

Staff: First class. Friendly, young, efficient and pretty much all good looking :-)

Communal areas: Four PCs for use. Two on the upstairs balcony which was clean and tidy but massively underused. Would be great for parties. Wi-Fi was dodgy first time we went but fixed and very good for the second.


For what you pay this place is more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cls14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyora s, Manager at Beachfront Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beachfront Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Tel Aviv. We are thankful you appreciated our hard working staff members and efforts to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you for the compliment about our " good looking staff"! :) Sorry about the smell in the bathroom we have taken care of it. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
De La Mer
De La Mer
#83 of 102 in Tel Aviv
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
#4 of 97 in Tel Aviv
700 reviews
1.4 mi away
Florentine Hostel
Florentine Hostel
#6 of 97 in Tel Aviv
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Florentin House
Florentin House
#1 of 97 in Tel Aviv
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#2 of 97 in Tel Aviv
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Sea Hostel
Crown Sea Hostel
#24 of 97 in Tel Aviv
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hostel

Address: 78 Retsif Herbert Samuel, Tel Aviv 6343121, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: £17 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront Hostel is located on the famous Tel-Aviv Promenade, Herbert Samuel, overlooking the beautiful beaches of Tel-Aviv. We are situated in the most lively and vibrant part of the city, with all the best attractions within walking distance or a short bus ride away. The Beachfront is a comfortable and friendly hostel offering affordable accommodation right on the beachfront. The two story building offers a variety of rooms accommodating any travelers budget. Our cozy rooms all have air-conditioning, 32" flat screen cable TV, refrigerators and free WI-FI internet connection. We have a huge roof lounge area that is great for sun-bathing, soaking up the sun and loosing yourself in the amazing sea view. We provide an unlimited supply of beach towels and free hot/cold drinks are complementary throughout the day. Our guests enjoy a full breakfast for just 30 ILS at the famous restaurants next door. Our friendly staff will be happy to help you find great areas in the city to explore, book tours and tell you about the best pubs, clubs, restaurants and other hot spots in Tel Aviv! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing