We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local fare well above average”
Review of Bertie - CLOSED

Bertie
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local fare well above average”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bertie is a Mediterranean restaurant located on 88 Hamelech George - King George - street in Tel-Aviv. The street is named after George V, and Bertie was his son's George VI nickname.
The restaurant is simply furnished with a large bar, had the business menu lunch which is great value at NIS 75 ($21.50) and includes first course, main course plus a soft drink.
Waiters were professional and attentive, home made bread with 3 lovely small dips were placed before us as we pondered at the menu. We ordered yogurt and eggplant soup, the eggplant was roasted and the taste was prominant and delicious. The main courses were fish kebabs in a red pepper and green chickpea sauce which was very tasty and fillet of fish with pea risotto and feta cheese which was sublime. All in all the food surpasses many other restaurants and the price compare favorably.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    60
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overprice mediocre food, a disappointing experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

looking forward to spending a nice evening together on a Thursday night. The service was pretty good, the waitress was sweet to us. We ordered the lentil soup and 3 various raw fish dishes (Sea fish tartar, roasted beetroot, chili & cardamom oil (*2) and Raw sea fish, rice in Labane cheese & cucumbers) for starters. Despite their interesting descriptions, both dishes were quite plain, had nothing special about them and thus, disappointing. But we remained optimistic ordered a round of bears and and went on for the main course: we were recommended the grouper, a 150 shekels dish (sea fish fillet). we ordered 2 grouper dishes - one with risotto and another one with steamed vegetables. The fish was no more than OK (which is not good enough!) and the risotto was awful, I couldn't eat it at all. My hubby ordered the Hanger steak & stuffed onions, but the steak was so overcooked it was barely eatable, the stuffed onions were off as well. The Grilled calamari, hummus cream, roasted eggplant & pickled lemon again, was, again, totally boring. We paid 1200 shekels (with drinks). Tel Aviv has so many great restaurants, I would not advice anyone to waste her/his time and money at Bertie, its just and overpriced tavern, with little to offer to both local Tel Avivians and tourists.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delicious!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went to this place for dinner, without hearing about it from anyone, just by seeing its rank in TripAdvisor. The service was excellent and every dish we tried was perfect (seafood, fish and a yummy chocolate dessert). The entrees are interesting yet not too sophisticated. Prices are Tel-Aviv high standard but the place does not feel "full of itself" and it is very pleasant to spend an evening there. We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilpelet_42-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good food but a little disappointing”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place was part of the restaurants parade we took for my birthday.
Of the bit list of restaurants I could pick from I was very excited about Bertie with the interesting menu.
When we arrived they sat us just in front of the door which was quite chilly although we explicitly requested in our reservation not to sit there. The service that followed was quite lacking and not what we are used to.
The food that we got was good but not extraordinary. The prices were quite high and the portions were surprisingly small.

Although we enjoyed the food we would still probably not come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uri_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great modern east Mediterranean food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Been few times, the first was at noon - had a very good meal.
then had a great evening and yesterday came with some expectations - which were all fulfilled!
At the moment, this is probably, my favorite place in Tel Aviv-Jaffa.
Had a wonderful fish tartar on cured beetroot and chili vinaigrette then a superb, simple dish of vegetables, slightly steamed with pines, lemon, olive oil and feta cheese, all made to perfection.
after those came a great risotto of asparagus with a fillet of sea fish - realy good (though if i had to rate the dishes - it would be last...) and then a take of Carbonara - Maccheroni with dried anchovies, parmigiano, raw egg yolk - very very good!
we didn't want desserts but got one complimentary - a very rich yet light chocolate cake with a very delicate white coco cream - couldn't finish it tough it was wonderful.
the service was friendly, accurate and professional, the music is a great combination of Mediterranean known and unknown Greek, Arabic and Israeli folk.
Its a must place for foreigners as much as it is for Israeli...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jot73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bertie also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing