We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shtsupak

Shtsupak
Ranked #128 of 1,576 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Shtsupak has been serving fresh and special dishes for more than 20 years, hence its steady stream of regular customers. Throughout the years, It has become a tradition and custom for the locals. Delicious varieties of fresh fish and seafood are accompanied by a generous selection of Mediterranean salads, guarantee a meal of pure enjoyment and simplicity from the sea.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you are in Tel Aviv and want to eat some fine seafood then you should definitely visit this place. The atmosphere is nothing fancy but the quality of the food is great, it's good value for money. If every person orders a main dish then the meze (small dishes with various salads and dips) are served free of charge and refilled as much as you want. Of course you should keep in mind that portions are not small so you should save some place for the grilled scallops or shripms.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mee_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    43
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“value for money and so yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

one of the best places to eat in tel aviv!
the food is amazing, the atmosphere is casual.
a good meal for a good price.
recommended dishes - ALL !! :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
333 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“great : feeling good without emptying your pocket .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Many of the 2 zilions restaurants in Tel Aviv are seafood restaurants ,Many of those - are what we call Fisheries . All of them have the same deal all day : The table is set with small oval cups filled with various salads , a portion of bread/pitta , and a pitcher of cold lemonade/ water/ soda water .Now , after you have filled your belly with the salads and bread , and you've asked the waiter to stop refilling the small dishes - you are ready to order your fish/small shrimps/calamari made to your liking : fried/grilled/ovenated . Some of the restaurants will include in the "deal" - a sample of a dessert and/or a sample of a coffee . Now here's the deal : You pay only for the fish/main dish .Most fisheries will charge 75 - 105 N.I.S (shekels) for main dish dippending on what kind of fish you have picked (somewhere between $20 and $28) . If one of you around the table is a vegetarian - his share of the bill (that is paying for the sallads only) - will be around $10 .
As I've said - the deal is similar in most of the fisheries (price wise) . in some places the variaty of the salades served is endless and tempting . Unfortunately , in some of the fisheries the salads look like they've been waiting in the vitrine for ages before a poor unsuspicious tourist like yourselves showed up .
Needless to say that adding alcohol/wine/beer to the table - will encrease considerably the bill .
Now , why do I tell you about SHTSUPAK : This place started up some 35 years ago (OR EVEN MORE!!) as a fresh fish/seafood store . I think it became a restaurant in the mid eighties . How do I know it ??? Because I/ve been eating there 2 - 3 times a year. Every year . With my family . And whenever I had relatives from abroad coming to visit us and I wanted to afford hosting them nicely (without having to meet with my banker at the end of each visit) .
The variaty of salads is somewhat limited but it is always fresh and tastey as if it was cut and prepared especialy for you . The fish ? They know one thing or two about fish : Always , always fresh , as if they were pulled out of the sea just now .
To sum it up : The reason I didn't give SHTSUPAK an Excellent overall rating - the place does not take reservations . Most of the cutomers are locals . And Israelies are late eaters . So if you do not want to stand in line for your dinner - do what I do : Come no later than 19:30 .
Enjoy your meal !!

. .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place will never let you down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Compared to the lifespan of restaurants in Tel Aviv this is a very old place, that maintains superb food quality.
The selection of small salads (is Tapas applicable for a place with such a Polish name?) is excellent, and all the dishes we had: Shrimps, Mullet, Seabass were brilliant.
We recalled the prices were cheaper in the past, hence the 4-star ranking, and not 5.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“All those salads for us??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We went to Shtsupak, a 15 minute walk from our hotel, because we had seen the reviews and ratings on this site. We were not disappointed. When the meze was brought to our table we could hardly believe the variety and quantity. It was yummy. We did manage to save some tummy-space for the main course, which was equally delicious. Fresh fish perfectly prepared. Lightly fried and not a hint of greasiness.
We were there early and when we arrived few others were in the restaurant. Maybe that is why the service was so extraordinary. But no matter why, it was a treat to be assisted by this young, charming service staff. Each server was friendly and helpful without hovering. We got our food promptly and then were left to enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shtsupak also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Shtsupak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing