We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel- overpriced - better places to stay in Tel Aviv” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental David Tel Aviv
Ranked #49 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel- overpriced - better places to stay in Tel Aviv”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

The issue with trip advisor is that you don't know who is writing the review you're reading! So here is a little background on me!

My wife and I enjoy staying at nice hotels and feel that at $300-$400 per night, you should be able to stay at a great hotel. When traveling in the states, we feel that a Westin is a nice hotel, but isn't fancy. The Ritz Carlton is a GREAT hotel - but sometimes is too pricey. I am a 32 year old professional - married, living in NYC. My wife and I are active - enjoy working out and eating well. We feel that $25 per entree should denote a nice restaurant and $10 is a fair price for a drink at a nice restaurant.

The Intercontinental David Hotel in Tel Aviv is an average hotel. I would compare it to a Marriott or a Westin in the US, but with substantially higher prices. The hotel costs about $275-$300 per night, but charges you ridiculous fees for anything additional.

The issue with the Intercontinental David is that once you get there, nothing is included. Internet is $22 US dollars per day or $10 US dollars per hour. I'd rather they add this cost into the price of the room as it makes you feel like you are being nickeled and dimed. The Fitness center is not quite adequate. it's small and dirty and is not up to par with American Hotels.

The hotel bar is absolutely over priced - a Grey Goose vodka (on the rocks) is $22 us dollars. If you want a grey goose and soda, you're looking at $25 us dollars.

The israeli breakfast was the least impressive of all the hotels we stayed at. We spent 12 nights in Israel and were blown away by other hotels breakfast. We were not impressed with the David at all.

The concierge were not up to par. When we asked for a nice Fish restaurant - they sent us 20 minutes away to a restaurant comparable to Red Lobster. When we asked for some art galleries and shops to buy some things to bring home - they sent us to the equivalent of a flea market.

My wife and I travel a decent amount and I would highly advise not staying at the Intercontinental David.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naamabd, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Hi EricP_11, and thank you for your review of the David InterContinental Tel Aviv. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay at the hotel.

We do know that internet prices at the hotel can seem expensive, however we have found that it is averagely priced for hotels in Tel Aviv. We are monitoring our internet services on a constant basis, and would like to assure you and of course all of our guests, that if we are able to improve our internet services in any way, we will of course do so.

We believe that our fitness center is currently not to the standards that our guests, and indeed we, expect. The gym is separately owned, but we are preparing a full renovation of both the gym and the spa, which will be taking place over the next couple of years.

Our bar is also in the process of an update. Imported alcohols are more expensive, as they are throughout the country. We believe that once our menu is fully updated and implemented, we will be able to offer our guests a better (and hopefully cheaper) selection of beverages.

As with all our food in the hotel, at breakfast we use select seasonal and organic produce, providing an ever-changing breakfast menu. We offer a wide variety of dishes, ranging from international favorites, health-conscious options, Israeli salads, fresh baked goods, individual egg stand with chef, fresh fruit, cheeses, etc. Our focus at the hotel is to provide healthy, fresh food for all our guests.

Regarding our concierge, we do apologize that you weren't satisfied with the suggestions. Our concierge is Israel's president of Les Clefs d'Or, and we do pride ourselves on giving our guests unique "in the know" experiences. We hope that this misunderstanding will be able to be rectified in the future.

We would like to thank you very much for your frank and honest review. This feedback really is invaluable to us, and we will use your feedback to improve our services throughout the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, and be able to provide you with a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    574
    239
    102
    69
See reviews for
477
458
84
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Have been traveling to Tel Aviv for work since 2006 and have seen several members of the staff join and leave. I've been assisted and helped by the Club Lounge team always. They take absolute care in doing what sometimes takes a lot of effort to do for their guests. Always smiling, for now, Ms Zehavit and her team ate doing a great job. :) I travel and stay only in Intercontinental properties all over the Globe at least 15 days every month and I would not hesitate in rating David Intercon as one of the very best !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhineera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naamabd, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Hi abhineera, and thanks for your review of the hotel! We're really happy to hear that you have had such a good experience staying at the David Intercontinental, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was my second time staying at this hotel. I recently stayed from December 2 to December 15. Both times I had a good experience. The rooms were clean and a decent size for Tel Aviv hotels. The bed was comfortable. The flat screen TV was a good size for viewing. However, while it was an HD TV, the satellite feed was not so everything was blurry. It would be nice if they upgraded to HD satellite.
If you are used to staying in 5 star hotels in the U.S, this will not be what you are expecting. In the U.S, this is probably more of a high 3 star or low 4 star hotel, so that is probably why you will see comments about it not being on par with expectations. However, I frequently travel to Tel Aviv on business and this is the best hotel I have stayed at so far. You will just have to understand that 5 star in Israel might not mean the same thing as other places you have been.
I noticed that the hotel staff was a lot more friendly and helpful this last stay, so I think they made some changes since 2009. If you stayed in 2009 and weren't happy, I would give them another try. They also did a lot of renovations to make the lobby and food area much nicer.

Services are pricey. The internet costs 22 dollars for 24 hours or 10 dollars for one hour, which is higher than some of the other hotels in Tel Aviv. The fitness center is sparse and has an hourly charge. In 2009 it was 20 per hour, I didn't try it this time, so not sure if it is still the same or higher. They have an excellent breakfast buffet if you are willing to spend 30 dollars on it.
As expected, the gift shop is also very pricey. They sale olive wood covered bibles for 90 dollars. You can get the same ones for 25 dollars other places. So if you have time to shop for souveneirs, look outside the hotel. Mamilla Mall in Jerusalem had better prices for the same stuff.

The hotel is more orthodox than some of the others, so no hot food on shabot and they will tell you everything around the hotel is closed, which isn't entirely true. You can walk or taxi a short way and find open restaurants Friday night and Saturday, so don't be discouraged or eat the cold meals offered by the hotel. You can save a lot of money and have really good food by finding the open restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naamabd, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Hi fifitraveler, and thanks for your review of the David InterContinental! We are happy to hear that you have had a good stay, and that you have returned to the hotel. We do pride ourselves on our customer service, and so we are happy to hear that you have had a good experience on this front.

We realize that the internet prices can seem expensive, however we have found that it is averagely priced for hotels in Tel Aviv. We are monitoring our internet services on a constant basis, and would like to assure you and of course all of our guests, that if we are able to improve our internet services in any way, we will of course do so.

We are happy to hear that you have explored the area around the hotel, as our location is indeed one of the benefits of staying at the David InterContinental.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Hotel has good location. Near The beach. Rooms correct and clean. Price is high and sadly no free wifi

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veran79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I've stayed in this hotel 3 times now, for about a week at a time.

I've always been reasonably happy with everything -- the rooms are decent, I've always been high up enough to avoid noise from the nightclub downstairs and mosque across the street.

The food is good, and the bar is also quite good, with knowledgeable staff who will be able to improvise with drink orders, very good there.

Breakfast buffet is very wide spread, with lots of variations of breads, dairy, some western favourites etc. (the hotel is Kosher, and they do very well, a westerner might not even notice unless they really wanted to mix).

The only reason it gets an 'average' is that it's vastly overpriced. The rooms and facilities are about on a par with a lot of Marriotts I've stayed in. Extras such as internet were astronomical (25USD for 24 hours of internet access), and it seems like anything out of the ordinary came with an extra charge.

Knock 100USD a night off the room charge, stop gougeing on every little extra, and you have a very habitable hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerrowadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naamabd, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Hi gerrowadat, and thanks for your review. We're really happy to hear that overall you've enjoyed your stays in the hotel, and of course we love that you have been satisfied enough to come back time after time!

We realize that the internet prices can seem expensive compared to other countries, however we have found that it is averagely priced for hotels in Tel Aviv. We are monitoring our internet services on a constant basis, and would like to assure you and of course all of our guests, that if we are able to improve our internet services in any way, we will of course do so.

We hope to see you again shortly in the David InterContinental Tel Aviv!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Moved to the Intercontinental from the American Colony in Jerusalem and was happy I moved. We were upgraded to the Club Floor and had access to the Club Lounge. The Lounge and Lobby/Restaurant have recently been renovated. The room was nice, but a little tired. The Fitness Gym and spa were not particularly special, but I was able to get a good work out. Intercontinental lacks the "anticipation of customer needs" that Hyatt does so well. The buffet breakfast was great but service lacking.....I had to repeatedly fill my own coffee cup.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naamabd, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental David Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Hi Ted C, thanks for your review of the hotel. We're happy to hear that you had a good time overall on your stay.

We are sorry to hear that you didn't receive the service which you had expected while you were staying with us in the breakfast area. We do try to cater for all our guests and aim to provide for all their needs. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of the breakfast, and your stay overall, and that we'll see you again soon in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed in the hotel for several nights on my trip to Tel Aviv. The hotel is very famous in Israel, but does not live up to its expectations. For a five star hotel, the rooms are pretty ordinary and dated. The bathroom, however, is much better. The way this hotel is built, almost all the rooms have a partial sea view. The staff, however, is the one of the most ineffecient and impolite that I have seen in any of the hotels that I have stayed in. One of the staffs at the front desk, Javier, was in particular outright rude to several people at different times who checked into the hotel. The breakfast is good and the wait staff there was far better. Overall, I would need a very compelling reason to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttoPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#39 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carlton Tel Aviv
Carlton Tel Aviv
#30 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#44 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
#47 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#45 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental David Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental David Tel Aviv

Property: InterContinental David Tel Aviv
Address: 12 Kaufman Street, Tel Aviv 61501, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#30 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#31 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#33 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental David Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Israeli welcome awaits you at your home in the 'SoHo' of Tel Aviv. Ideally located between the city's main cultural centers, Neve Tzedek, the beach, and Old Jaffa, the David InterContinental offers the perfect starting point to exploring the city. Spend the day experiencing Tel Aviv like a local and return to the serenity of the David InterContinental boasting the best of Israeli hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental David Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental David Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Intercontinental Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing