We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clean hotel with rooms that have a great view”
Review of Carlton Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Tel Aviv
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here with a group in March 2012 and it was nice, the staff were helpful, and the room and a beautiful view of the Meditteranean Sea.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knewk720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

I've stayed here a few times over the past 25 years and continue to like it. We had a 2 bedroom suite on the club floor and it was perfect for our needs. Service is very friendly; Jeremy the hotel's Public and Guest Relations person was very helpful. They opened a new gym and spa while we were there but I don't think the gym was well thought out -- no small weights and only one bike for a whole hotel. The location is one of the best in town and it is not a chain property so you can get better value for money here and more of a boutique feel. Some considerations: I expected the concierges to know more about Tel Aviv with children; we had two kids with us and you can't take kids under age 18 into the lounge and you can't bring food out of the lounge. This seems standard across Israel which is a damning indictment of how kids in that country behave. That pretty much defeats the use of the lounge and I found it terribly annoying until the hotel came up with a compromise for us that allowed us to get food out of the lounge to our room. The pool on the roof is not heated and was freezing when we were there. Food and beverage was very good especially considering the hotel was kosher for Passover when we were there (just before the holiday began). No TV channels for kids in the hotel. Make sure to have a European adapter with you for electrical outlets; this hotel doesn't put electrical outlets in the bathrooms and certainly not the dual voltage ones. I like the hotel and I'd come back with my wife, but not with my kids if I want to get lounge access for the next 14 years until the youngest turns 18. Really ridiculous -- I don't have that problem anywhere else in the world. Israeli hotels also make you take a second room if you have any more than 2 people to a room, even if they are kids. I just don't see Israel being a desirable tourist destination for families with kids until they become more family-friendly with some of these crazy rules. You have to be willing to put up with a good amount of abuse to be a tourist here with kids. I understand these rules arise out of abuse by others, but it is not competitive and attractive to high end foreign tourists.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Carlton is a very nice hotel, with a great location on the beach, lovely views and renovated, comfortable rooms. We were located on the Club floor and really appreciated the use of the Club lounge with free internet, tasty treats and very helpful personnel. Along those same lines, the staff at the front desk was great, very efficient and helpful in pointing us to the right public transportation for all our travels in Tel Aviv.

What has driven me to write this review was the breakfast included in our room. It's located in a building separate from the hotel overlooking the beach and the Mediterranean Sea, with both indoor and outdoor seating. There is a pastry chef on duty the entire time breakfast is available, bringing out piping hot pastries that were among the best I've ever had -- and I eat a lot of pastry! They also had an exciting (for me) selection of exotic smoked fishes, including unlimited caviar. All of the other standard Israeli breakfast dishes, abundant fresh fruit and salads, eggs anyway you desire, lots of cereal options and juices, were all fresh and delicious. After having eaten this breakfast the first morning of our stay I was SO EXCITED and looking forward to it the next day. The second time was even better than the first as I figured out to sit close to the pastry oven to snare the treats just as the came out super fresh and hot.

Room Tip: The valet parking at the hotel is surprisingly reasonable. Park your car there and walk or take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our family enjoyed our recent stay at the Carlton Hotel. The location is superb and the food in the dining room serves especially yummy breakfasts! We just loved being right on the boardwalk where we could enjoy all the great people watching Tel Aviv has to offer. The hotel is right across from a great part of the beach and next to a wonderful biking, running, walking path.

The staff are quite helpful -- although we found the door staff, the bell staff and the dining room staff way more friendly and helpful than those at the front desk. All in all, very nice staff.

The rooms are quite nice but could use a little refreshing in the bathrooms. It is Israel after all so you will not have HUGE rooms. Everything was quite comfortable and the staff was very attentive when it came to sending up hairdryers or more linens.

We would probably stay there again!

Room Tip: If travelling with kids be sure to ask for Connecting Rooms and be specific. Adjoining and connectin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TO-ski-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

other reviews can give the broad perspective, but here is my personal experience.

-excellent location, right along the beach, and 2-5 minutes to the main street "Dzenoff?" you can also walk along the boardwalk to Jaffa.
-breakfast: fantastic location, but imho, food was so-so (decided not to eat there but it would be great otherwise).
-hotel desk: great, excellent service
-taxi: fixed price to tel aviv airport at 150 sheruts
-rooftop: EXCELLENT view of tel aviv. be sure to go up here!!
-details: hmm..noticed a few chips in the wood, etc...so carlton may need some renovation in the next 5 years,

but overall, great place, great service, wonderful location!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenPeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Spent one week in busy August period as married couple w/o kids. I knew the hotel from the late 90s (used for business trip), looks better these days as it was refreshed 4-5 yrs ago.

Dont expect fancy modern rooms - they are just functional, clean bathroom, large balcony - as the structure of the building is old (a blockhouse in concrete, probably built in 70s).

What made the success of our vacation in tel Aviv was the beach, with nice white sand and beach restaurants. For Summer time - when all seaside resorts are so crowded and overpriced in Europe - was a real surprise. The beach is animated, but not crowded - you always find transats in the beach clubs - and you can organize your day according to your rythm, you can go for instance late night to have dinner or drinks, breakfast at 2pm etc.

It is not cheap (but not very expensive neither, similar prices as France or Italy), but if you want to have kind of city-beach experience (in opposition with being held as hostage in all-inclusive resorts Antalya-style, in remote areas) is highly recommended.

Shopping experience on Ben Yahuda is worth nothing, everything is overpriced and not interesting for people from France at least (locals are not using such shops, what we were told by our Israelian friends)..

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room at high floor and make sure has a balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

As a travel agent specializing in the Middle East, I see and stay at many hotels in Israel. In Tel-Aviv, my absolute favorite is the Carlton Hotel. While there are huge and perhaps glitzier hotels in Tel-Aviv they do not offer the intimate, "feel at home" atmosphere of the Carlton. The Carlton is a large hotel by any standard, but it feels like a boutique hotel and offers
understated elegance and loads of charm.

The staff at the Carlton are friendly and superbly helpful, but not intrusive. I'm crazy about Jeremy the Manager and Ela at the reception desk along with the doormen who anticipate your every move and are full of wit and charm.

Picture a yummy breakfast with niches of specialty items all served in front of a wall of glass facing the Sea! Who wouldn't love to start his day this way? And, the servers make you feel as though your comfort is their highest priority.

A brand new spa will be opening by April ... and it's going to be grand! It's fully encased with light and glass and boasts a hamam - Turkish bath - along with a sauna and massage rooms. And, if you have a few knots to work out, ask for Mandy - she's simply fabulous!

Also, consider purchasing the extra luxury of the Royal Executive Lounge. Located on the 14th floor is overlooks the entire Tel-Aviv shore. It's here that you can enjoy the morning paper, a magazine or free Wifi along with a mini business center and a full range of yummy snacks or a mini meal. It's a "go to place" for an impromptu meeting with a colleague or a quick chat with a friend.

Once will never be enough at the Carlton ... while traveling abroad, you'll feel like you've "come home again" at the Carlton.

Room Tip: While there's no bad room at the Carlton ... choose a room facing west for the marina, sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SabraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.2 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#45 of 103 in Tel Aviv
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv
Sheraton Tel Aviv
#41 of 103 in Tel Aviv
1,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
#25 of 103 in Tel Aviv
1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#51 of 103 in Tel Aviv
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Tel Aviv

Address: 10 Eli'ezer Peri, Tel Aviv 6357325, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#7 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#11 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: £180 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tel Aviv's famous hotel strip facing the Mediterranean Sea, this elegant, deluxe hotel puts the city's cultural, entertainment and business centers at your very doorstep. Dizengoff's sidewalk cafes and the Old City of Jaffa are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Carlton Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing