We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great kitchen, private atmosphere”
Review of Carlton Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Tel Aviv
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, great kitchen, private atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We are a joung European couple with 3 little children. We have spent 10 days at the Carlton Tel Aviv during Pessach 2012 and 2013. What is special about this hotel is not the rooms (which are just as good as with the other Tel Aviv beach front top-hotels) nor the beauty of the building from outside (which is just as ugly as all the beach front hotels in Tel Aviv). Rather, what is special about this hotel in a very positive way are three things: (1) the hotel staff is always very friendly and helpful, starting with the managers and going down to the waiters. Everyone is smiling and happy to service us. Also, the staff is well trained and professional (which unfortunately is rather rare in Israel's hotel industry). (2) everything we ate at the hotel (which was a lot) for breakfast and dinner was delicious, allthough it was pessach! It's not the usual so-so hotel food, it's really high quality and fairly priced (except the buffets on iom tov which are way too expensive) (3) it's the only Tel-Aviv beach front top-hotel which doesn't feel like a train station. The hotel is faily small compared to the monster hotels nextdoor. The lobby is designed tastefully and allows for comfortably seated conversations with your friends without the need to shout louder than your neighbouring table. All-in-all: we have tried other hotels and liked the Carlton the best. And like everywhere in Israel: everyone loves children - not matter how they behave!

Room Tip: Go for the full ocean view rooms. They are slightly more expensive but its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 651RobertK651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear 651RobertK651,

It was our pleasure to host you and your family during your last 2 visits to Israel for Pesach. We are delighted that you enjoyed both of your stays and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Don't feel you have to wait for Pesach to come and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    319
    106
    34
    26
See reviews for
373
352
73
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 and were quite pleased with the hotel. It is at a great location off the promenade. Rooms were clean and a comfortable size. Fabulous rooftop pool with great views of the water and city as well. Brunch was delicious and is at a location across the promenade just a few steps away! Concierge level upstairs provides wifi service and food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertatravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear robertatravels123,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor. Since your visit our rooftop pool has been completely redesigned and revamped and now offers an even more outstanding experience than previously. We hope that you will come back to experience it before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The carlton offers what many of its competitors cannot - personal service. Significantly smaller than some of the other beachfront hotels and larger than the numerous boutiques which have appeared in recent years this property tries and more or less succeeds in offering boutique service and larger scale amenities (except disappointingly the top floor pool which is currently closed for refurbishment with local alternative swimming facilities being offered nearby). No shortage of middle and senior management in attendance ensure that guest needs are met promptly and usually efficiently.
Try it ... Just check what is open and what is not - the hotel is undergoing refurbishment on certain floors.

Room Tip: Try the royal rooms and lounge. Ask for a sea facing modernised room and check whether building wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agedbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear agedbutcool,

Thank you for your review and for your comments regarding our service. It is our aim to ensure that each and every one of our guests enjoys an outstanding experience during their stay with us, and we are pleased that this has been noticed by our guests. As mentioned in previous reviews, the newly renovated rooftop pool is now open, offering fantastic views and a relaxing place to sunbathe and swim, and all of our other renovations have also now been completed. We hope that you will come back soon to enjoy the new pool area as well as our other new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Unlike previous reviewers, our 2 rooms were in good shape with large bathrooms. There is construction going on in the hotel and, despite my contacting the hotel in advance for rooms away from the construction, you could hear banging all day long. That only affected us on the day we arrived, the one day we needed to sleep! Management offered us other rooms but they were not any quieter.
The breakfast buffet is great -you have to walk out of the lobby across to the restaurant which overlooks Tel Aviv Harbor and the waves. A wonderful way to start the day.
Internet is not complementary which made me feel 'nickel and dimed'.

Room Tip: We had two adjacent rooms that had a door outside it to close off so we could keep our two room door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear travelinfamily6,
It was our pleasure to host you and your family at the Carlton Tel Aviv and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologise for the inconvenience of the noise that you encountered on your arrival day, but are pleased to inform you that all construction work has now ended and the renovations are complete. Our internet charges are considerably lower than those in most surrounding hotels but your comments regarding these have been passed on to the hotel's management. We hope that we will see you once again amongst our guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our family stayed at the Carlton (again!) this past week and as usual everything was tip top. Had a room on the 10th floor which included access to the executive lounge. Particulary enjoyed having breakfast in the building over looking the marina.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 559tgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear 559tgk,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again soon at the Carlton Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Try and stay further south on the beachfront towards Jaffa. The Carlton is in area which has become seedy and run down. It offers nothing for the tourist.

I stayed there over Passover. Naturally the rates are suddenly adjusted up. They charge you extra to valet park your car on a Saturday!

Rather find a boutique hotel with more of a vibe.

If you stay there, avoid eating breakfast on "the terrace". This is a noisy elevated room opposite the hotel overlooking the sea. Breakfast there is chaotic noise and a very unpleasant start to the day. It's like eating in a zoo.

Rather go to the dining room inside the hotel. What a relief!

If value for money is not an issue,then you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Call and confirm exactly what you want in advance. And make sure they confirm in writing by email. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudleyFeebish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear DudleyFeebish,
We were sorry to learn of your disappointment during your stay with us. The entire area around the hotel has been redeveloped over the past few years and is now considered to be one of the up and coming areas of Tel Aviv. Parking is operated by an outside company which offers very special rates to our guests. We were surprised to read that you did not enjoy breakfast at the Carlton on the Beach as we constantly obtain feedback from our guests that it is one of the highlights of their stay. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you once again and to correct your impressions from your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Location is great with a small beach outside. Nearby restaurants and bars also. Hotel food also very good but the rooms are a bit tired and could do with an update especially the bathrooms. Overall value is reasonable and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2checkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear 2checkin,
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that your overall experience was a positive one. As noted in previous reviews, the hotel's renovation programme is now complete and we hope that you will return to the new and updated Carlton Tel Aviv in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#42 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#44 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#47 of 100 in Tel Aviv
1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.2 mi away
Shalom Hotel & Relax Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Tel Aviv

Property: Carlton Tel Aviv
Address: 10 Eli'ezer Peri, Tel Aviv 6357325, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#9 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#11 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tel Aviv's famous hotel strip facing the Mediterranean Sea, this elegant, deluxe hotel puts the city's cultural, entertainment and business centers at your very doorstep. Dizengoff's sidewalk cafes and the Old City of Jaffa are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Carlton Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing