We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thumbs up...high!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Tel Aviv

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Tel Aviv
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“thumbs up...high!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I spent ten days at this hotel in May and I’d think that in that amount of time one would get a good idea of what a hotel is like. And I’d say, after our ten day stay there, that this is a fine hotel. It’s located just off the beach in what I think is a great location. Certainly, for walking on the wonderful Tel Aviv promenade along the beach (the “tayelet”,) it’s what I'd say is a perfect location. It’s just a short walk to the Namal Khadash, (new port) where there’s a very fine choice of restaurants, bars and cafés. It’s also a short walk from the hotel to Ben Yehuda Street if you should want to do any kind of shopping.

While we didn’t take any dinners at the hotel because we had so many family and friends make other plans for us, if the breakfast is any indication, the dinners would be excellent. The breakfasts there are just great, with a staff that is totally attentive…I really have to compliment the breakfast staff because they were that good. Their efforts to make breakfast a great experience is noticeable, and notable and was the case day after day. The food was very well presented…huge in variety and prepared with imagination and it was a very nice way to start each day. Our room large and very comfortable and clean…so large that our two large suitcases didn’t get in the way at all. If there’s any criticism to be made at all, I’d note that of the five spotlights over the window curtains, only two were working. This, of course, means that there is something amiss and the management ought to pay more attention to that kind of detail. But, the truth is, we never even bothered to complain because the room was so well lit by other lighting. But, for that reason, I'd say the room was very good rather than excellent. Maybe, I'm making a mountain out of a mole-hill on this one.

This is the first time we stayed in the Carlton when in Tel Aviv, but I imagine that we’ll be staying there again when we go back next year…it was that good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avrumeleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear avrumeleh,
It was our pleasure to host you and your wife during your extended stay with us. Your comments regarding the room have been passed on to our maintenance team, and will enable us to improve our service to future guests. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel next year when you return to Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    302
    103
    33
    26
See reviews for
339
327
71
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Carlton is a wonderul location on the sea. The breakfast room is wonderful as was the food. The selection is fantastic and the staff in the dining room was so friendly! The rooms at this hotel are another story. A DUMP! The carpet was dirty, the drapes were torn, the balcony was filthy and the view was horrible! The bathroom was old and drab and the room overall was horrible.

Room Tip: DO NOT allow them to give you a room that does not have a view of the sea. Otherwise you are facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunTravelerForSure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear FunTravelerForSure
We were sorry and very surprised to learn of your disappointment with your stay at the Carlton Tel Aviv. Our guest rooms have all been renovated and each and every bathroom has been completely replaced over the past 18 months. As mentioned in previous reviews our Superior rooms are city facing and do not benefit from sea views, whereas the vast majority of our rooms (Premium and Deluxe categories) do enjoy sea views. We hope that on your next visit to Israel you will return to the hotel and correct your impressions from your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at this beautiful hotel. Our room was renovated, spacious, and had a beautiful ocean view. The service at this hotel is top notch! The manager and all of the people at the front desk were ALWAYS ready to help, and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. Great service is apparently very important to every employee at this hotel, including everyone working at the beautiful breakfast room overlooking the water. What a gorgeous view! And the food and selection was not to be believed. Fresh fruit juices including beet, carrot, and orange...the best juices anywhere! Everything was fresh and the selection is truly unbelievable. We traveled all through Israel and no other hotel breakfast came close to the Carlton's. We also ate dinner at the Carlton one night and it was delicious. The outdoor patio facing the sea is the best place for a relaxing drink.

We give the Carlton and their manager and employees our highest rating!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room on a higher floor for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Karen K,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Carlton Tel Aviv. Customer service and guest satisfaction are extremely important to us and we are delighted that this was evident to you during your visit. We hope that you will return to Tel Aviv soon and give us the opportunity of hosting you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I am not used to superlatives but the service i received at the Carlton was the best i have ever had.
The reception was great and they went out of their way to accommodate some difficult requests.
As a couple we opted for the sea facing room the view is superb over the yacht marina and the beach very romantic! The breakfast was a must do in the restaurant perched over the water try for an outside table. The only criticism was a rather small bathroom possibly because we had one of the corner rooms. We only had time to spend a day but if we return to Tel Aviv i would spend three or four days at the Carlton and take my time exploring the city on bicycle which are available for hire outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea facing room the view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear peter l

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest at the Carlton Tel Aviv, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come back and enjoy a longer stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We are locals of Tel Aviv and chose to stay at the Carlton Hotel over our wedding period. This was the perfect choice for many reasons. The hotel has a great location in a nice quiet and clean part of the city. Unlike other top Tel aviv hotels, the entire hotel is renovated, brand new, clean and modern. The food and service is outstanding and all the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Not to mention the stunning view from our room, which was sea facing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Jodi N,
It was our pleasure to host you during your wedding period and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you both all the very best for your future together and hope that you will visit us once again before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine ca
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Carlton twice during our visit to Israel. It is beautifully appointed and excellently located. It is on the beach but walking distance to restaurants, shops and tourist sights. The staff was excellent. We stayed on the club floor which was worth the money because they put out so much food that after a long day we often had dinner there.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with an ocean view. There are other hotels on this strip but many have construc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Erica G,
Thank you for your review and we were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us. We hope that on your next visit to Israel you will give us the opportunity of hosting you once again at the Carlton Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I and two infants live nearby but wanted a little vacation. We had a most wonderful Shabbat at the hotel. Every person we had dealings with was kind, considerate and professional, from front desk to housekeeping, from valet parking to the restaurant -- every detail of our stay was definitely 5 star plus! I commend the staff for a job well done, and would recommend this hotel above all others -- in fact, my parents will be spending a week soon, and not the first time they have done so. Easily comparable to the King David and the Citadel in Jerusalem, at far better prices, and with the sea only steps away, why go anywhere else -- the best place in Tel Aviv!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a sea view, and a full sea view if available, as this hotel is right on the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moshe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Tel Aviv, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Moshe R,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family to the hotel once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel Tel Aviv by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
Sheraton Tel Aviv Hotel
#39 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
Dan Tel Aviv Hotel
#43 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Tel Aviv
Hilton Tel Aviv
#44 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
Renaissance Tel Aviv Hotel
#55 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Tel Aviv

Property: Carlton Tel Aviv
Address: 10 Eli'ezer Peri, Tel Aviv 6357325, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#9 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#11 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Tel Aviv 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tel Aviv's famous hotel strip facing the Mediterranean Sea, this elegant, deluxe hotel puts the city's cultural, entertainment and business centers at your very doorstep. Dizengoff's sidewalk cafes and the Old City of Jaffa are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Tel Aviv Hotel Tel Aviv
Carlton Hotel Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing