We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly overrated and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
Ranked #64 of 103 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After staying at this hotel in July, I'm stunned that people are so overwhelmed by the positives that they're blind to the problems.

First off the staff was very friendly and very helpful. And my wife and I really liked the breakfast and found a wide selection of foods to eat, even with her dietary restrictions. That WiFi is included and works well is a plus.

However, while the lobby was recently updated the rest of the property is badly in need of updating. Our room was dated and worn (see photos). There were noticeable stains in the hallway carpets. The rooms are small and the bathroom and shower are TINY. This is one of the few rooms I've every stayed in (out of hundreds) that I'd describe as dirty. We found hairs on the pillows and towels. When we called down to get our towels replaced, we waited 15 minutes and no one came. When we called a second time, they arrived within 3 minutes. The towels are thin and very basic, not typical of a 4-star property.

There's not a full service restaurant on site. The have a lounge/deli in the lobby and also room service. Business services are only available to those there for conferences or business events.

While the property is across from the beach it's more challenging to get to the beach than it appears on a map. You either take the overpass to the North through a run down area with a strip club (which may be out of business) or cross a busy 4-lane street on a crosswalk just South of the hotel. It's also at the far north end of the beachfront area, so even near the beach isn't as optimal as it could be.

It is less expensive than many of the other nearby properties but it would have to be much less expensive to be worth staying. This is perhaps a 2.5-3 star hotel not a 4-star property.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel that's on the beach. But if you do stay here, ask for a room with as larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam_S_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fattal_Hotel_Chain, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Basel hotel and for bringing your comments to our attention.
What you are describing does not reflect the level of upkeep we aspire to. The Leonardo Basel Hotel will undergo a renovation in the near future.
Please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the hotel staff and myself for not succeeding in creating a fully satisfying experience during your stay.
Nevertheless, I am pleased to know that our staff was helpful and helpful.
It is great that even with your wife's dietary restrictions you have enjoyed our plentiful and diversified breakfast.
Your comments will assist us to improve the service and make sure all our guests get the best treatment at the hotel.
We apologize for not being able to do so for you.
I look forward to hosting you again at the Leonardo Basel hotel.
Best Regards,
Michal Tennenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Positive:

Reception: helpful, pleasant, adequate english

WiFi Is free

Very close to the beach


Negative:

Breakfast: sad choice and quality, staff need basic english classes and overall training.
Orange juice or colored water?
BEWARE! kosher certificate mean that the choice is limited on saturdays and for example boiled eggs are prepared the day before.

Room: cleaning not good, bed is not good for the back

Bathroom: extremely small, I'm slim built but had problems sliding under the sink when I had to sit on the toilet.

2 small lifts, 1 is a shabbat. The other one is used by staff a lot with carts, so it can take a couple of minutes before you can enter it on the shabbat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The best feature of the hotel is the staff - friendly, helpful, and ready to help. We met Tel at reception and as on our previous visit she went out of her way to make us feel welcome. We had had difficulty parking (Tel Aviv parking is notorious and the hotel carpark was full) and when we eventually arrived Tal sent us down to the dining room for a coffee. The hotel did not have to do this, and although the gesture was insignificant financially for the hotel or for us, it showed that the staff make the extra effort to help guests. We received a very nice gift for our wedding anniversary - wine fruit and a small gift nicely presented and waiting in our room on our return from the beach. The food is excellent, pool nice, the hotel very clean and comfortable, and although the bathroom is small - who cares when the atmosphere is so good. Location excellent and although there are cheaper hotels the Basel is the best we have found in the mid-price range.
There was a misunderstanding on our voucher and it seemed that we had been given a price below the going rate. The manager checked the voucher and charged us what we had been promised - without argument and with only a couple of moments checking it out.
We will return - and suggest others do so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alandarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel was simply excellent and the value for money just could not have been better especially with more expensive hotels that don't even have a pool. The cleanliness around the hotel was spotless and the bedroom again was 100% clean everyday despite no matter how much we tried to get clean after the beachstill managed to bring deposits of sand back everyday.
A special thank you to Itay, Yaniv and Beera who were so very helpful and their customer service was fantastic.
Thank you once again from "The Scotts" Room 520.
Cannot wait to book again next year even though still round pool waiting for our taxi to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wejboyhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Really good check in staff, the room was clean but rather small – especially the bathroom which is exceptionally small. The rooms are cleaned by friendly if rather too enthusiastic cleaning staff - **tip – if you don’t want a knock on the door before 8am asking whether you want your room cleaned, put out the ‘do not disturb’ sign.
The breakfasts, as others have commented are very good, my only slightly negative comment being that despite the variety of fare offered, there was little or no variation to what was being offered day to day – after a two week stay this can become a bit boring.
We had one (Friday night Shabbat) meal in the hotel – absolutely superb, if a tad expensive.
As others have also said, very close to both the beach and also to 2 main shopping streets, Dizengoff and Ben Yehuda, all of which offer good places to eat. The location also offers a very welcome sea breeze and (in July at least) spectacular sunsets over the sea just across the road.
The atmosphere in this ‘boutique’ (‘hotelspeak’ for small!!) hotel was very pleasant particularly around the pool and terrace areas where it was very easy to make acquaintances and simply sit and chat. The downside was the outdoor furniture – the sunbeds which I noticed were made in Spain, could have been designed by Torquemada himself – not just in terms of their age (they were long past their ‘sell by date’) but the fact that they were tortuously uncomfortable. We did notice a couple wandering around with tape measures on our last day, so this issue might well be being addressed.
The pool itself was very clean and safe – a permanent life guard, cool water (it’s in shadow for much of the day) and surrounding AstroTurf makes this a very nice pool to swim in. Likewise the adjacent shower and toilet facilities are impeccably clean.
I was asked at breakfast to give feedback about the hotel and in addition to mentioning all of the above I was asked about the ‘maintenance’ of the hotel. One night we were woken to the sound of running water in our room – the air con unit in the next door room had for some reason malfunctioned and we had water pouring into our room – in fairness to them though, everything was sorted out within hours and there was no re-occurrence of this.
One further tip – when taking a taxi always refer to this simply as the ‘Basel Hotel’ – there are several other Leonardo hotels in Tel Aviv one of which is in the similarly sounding Habarzel Street.
As a very experienced traveller, I am well aware of the maxim ‘you get what you pay for’. All in all this was a good experience and good value for money.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the side road (those facing the elevators) The morning refuse collections a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was in the Leonardo for 11 nights. The location (right across the street for the beaches in Tel Aviv) was fantastic. Two blocks from Ben Yehuda street with shops, restaurants, supermarkets, laundry, etc.! The breakfast at the hotel was fantastic. There were a tremendous amount of options with typical Israeli food, along with an omelet station, fresh breads, great fruit and an extremely courteous staff.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to others who plan to visit.

Room Tip: We had a view of the sea. I recommend it. Adds to the value of staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived here after several trips in Israel. I did not have a good impression at the beggining.
After I made
A formal
Complainment to Merav the manager, things improved drastically. Today I can say I like this Hotel because at least somebody listened to my suggestions and I will sure recommend Herods Tel Aviv!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilianraicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
#71 of 103 in Tel Aviv
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#37 of 103 in Tel Aviv
941 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
Dan Panorama Tel Aviv
#47 of 103 in Tel Aviv
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Savoy Sea Side Hotel
The Savoy Sea Side Hotel
#27 of 103 in Tel Aviv
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.5 mi away
Isrotel Tower Hotel
Isrotel Tower Hotel
#55 of 103 in Tel Aviv
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel

Address: 156 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6345115, Israel (Formerly Leonardo Basel Hotel)
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#43 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: £97 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing