We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
Ranked #62 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel has everything needed for a relaxing holiday or business stay - our room was large enough with a sea view - the staff helpful and very polite - I would always return here - the location is central for beach - shops buses and trains - excellent hotel !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfirette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    283
    173
    70
    32
See reviews for
210
224
83
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

we stay for 2 nights and we like this hotel very much
the staff were very polite and helpful..recommend them to be an example to other places.
the room is a little small then we expect but it was clean and renovated so it look new.
it was very quiet in the room.
breakfast was great
good location if you want closeness to the sea or main places.

Amir

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I really disliked this hotel and could not wait to get out of there. I am looking back at the professional photos shaking my head because they are so "doctored" up. And the reviews claiming this is good value are challenging my sanity. We paid nearly $350.00 per night (no breakfast included) but with an additional parking and cot charge to stay in a depressing, small, horrible view room with the tiniest bathroom you could barely move. I know its stupidly expensive in Tel Aviv for hotels, and I didn't expect luxury - but this was just plain "bad".The building is dilapidated, and they have tried to put a band-aide on the situation with a retro minimalist so-called interior design. The whole place just had a shabby kind of feeling, including the pool area and the lobby they like to show off in pictures. The staff we encountered was pleasant and helpful, so that is a positive aspect..The walk to the beach is stressful because of heavy traffic, but the actual beach near the Sheraton was somewhat nice.. Needless to say, I am so disappointed in this hotel choice (for our stay close to the beach) and I would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauraein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

together with the location close to the beach - we could have even rented bikes for free. I liked the stay!!! Parking was a little bit complicated, but we felt very sure leaving our car nearby the hotel. I would definitly return to this hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

After staying at this hotel in July, I'm stunned that people are so overwhelmed by the positives that they're blind to the problems.

First off the staff was very friendly and very helpful. And my wife and I really liked the breakfast and found a wide selection of foods to eat, even with her dietary restrictions. That WiFi is included and works well is a plus.

However, while the lobby was recently updated the rest of the property is badly in need of updating. Our room was dated and worn (see photos). There were noticeable stains in the hallway carpets. The rooms are small and the bathroom and shower are TINY. This is one of the few rooms I've every stayed in (out of hundreds) that I'd describe as dirty. We found hairs on the pillows and towels. When we called down to get our towels replaced, we waited 15 minutes and no one came. When we called a second time, they arrived within 3 minutes. The towels are thin and very basic, not typical of a 4-star property.

There's not a full service restaurant on site. The have a lounge/deli in the lobby and also room service. Business services are only available to those there for conferences or business events.

While the property is across from the beach it's more challenging to get to the beach than it appears on a map. You either take the overpass to the North through a run down area with a strip club (which may be out of business) or cross a busy 4-lane street on a crosswalk just South of the hotel. It's also at the far north end of the beachfront area, so even near the beach isn't as optimal as it could be.

It is less expensive than many of the other nearby properties but it would have to be much less expensive to be worth staying. This is perhaps a 2.5-3 star hotel not a 4-star property.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel that's on the beach. But if you do stay here, ask for a room with as larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_S_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fattal_Hotel_Chain, General Manager at Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Basel hotel and for bringing your comments to our attention.
What you are describing does not reflect the level of upkeep we aspire to. The Leonardo Basel Hotel will undergo a renovation in the near future.
Please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the hotel staff and myself for not succeeding in creating a fully satisfying experience during your stay.
Nevertheless, I am pleased to know that our staff was helpful and helpful.
It is great that even with your wife's dietary restrictions you have enjoyed our plentiful and diversified breakfast.
Your comments will assist us to improve the service and make sure all our guests get the best treatment at the hotel.
We apologize for not being able to do so for you.
I look forward to hosting you again at the Leonardo Basel hotel.
Best Regards,
Michal Tennenbaum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Positive:

Reception: helpful, pleasant, adequate english

WiFi Is free

Very close to the beach


Negative:

Breakfast: sad choice and quality, staff need basic english classes and overall training.
Orange juice or colored water?
BEWARE! kosher certificate mean that the choice is limited on saturdays and for example boiled eggs are prepared the day before.

Room: cleaning not good, bed is not good for the back

Bathroom: extremely small, I'm slim built but had problems sliding under the sink when I had to sit on the toilet.

2 small lifts, 1 is a shabbat. The other one is used by staff a lot with carts, so it can take a couple of minutes before you can enter it on the shabbat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The best feature of the hotel is the staff - friendly, helpful, and ready to help. We met Tel at reception and as on our previous visit she went out of her way to make us feel welcome. We had had difficulty parking (Tel Aviv parking is notorious and the hotel carpark was full) and when we eventually arrived Tal sent us down to the dining room for a coffee. The hotel did not have to do this, and although the gesture was insignificant financially for the hotel or for us, it showed that the staff make the extra effort to help guests. We received a very nice gift for our wedding anniversary - wine fruit and a small gift nicely presented and waiting in our room on our return from the beach. The food is excellent, pool nice, the hotel very clean and comfortable, and although the bathroom is small - who cares when the atmosphere is so good. Location excellent and although there are cheaper hotels the Basel is the best we have found in the mid-price range.
There was a misunderstanding on our voucher and it seemed that we had been given a price below the going rate. The manager checked the voucher and charged us what we had been promised - without argument and with only a couple of moments checking it out.
We will return - and suggest others do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alandarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
#75 of 98 in Tel Aviv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tel Aviv Beach
0.6 mi away
The Embassy Hotel
The Embassy Hotel
#36 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#61 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maxim Hotel
The Maxim Hotel
#31 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#30 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel

Property: Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
Address: 156 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6345115, Israel (Formerly Leonardo Basel Hotel)
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#40 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#42 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing