We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only good things are the breakfast buffet and the location (sort of)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel
Ranked #81 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The only good things are the breakfast buffet and the location (sort of)”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Tal is a tremendous disappointment. The only bright spots are the extensive and good tasting breakfast buffet and the location to the beach. While the Tal is on the north end of the waterfront, it is only a block and a half from the water.

That's the good news. Here's the bad: the unrenovated rooms are really below par. My unrenovated bathroom had a window that looked onto apartments (transparent window). The closet had random wooden boards lying there (a safety hazard, particularly for kids). The shower curtain had brown stains. The shower nozzle broke in use. The room was spartan and unattractive. The exterior of the hotel is even less attractive. In the US, this would be a 2* property at best. The renovated rooms are a moderate improvement, with certainly more attractive bedspreads and nice reading lights. The improvements aren't fantastic but they are noticeably better.

Now, the worse: the service is truly hit or miss. Some of the staff are friendly; others are rude and/or incompetent. Upon telling the young blond front desk agent that my Kleenex box was not refilled from the bathroom, she told me that they don't change those things on Shabbat. Having worked in the hotel industry for a decade, I found that logic ridiculous. An apology would have been appropriate, but that lady seems incapable of such a thing. In any event, my Kleenex box was still not replaced even after I told her, so I guess the staff doesn't replace boxes on Sunday either. Another agent (rotund) greeted me and asked if I needed anything. After my service request, he told me that he needed 10 minutes to get acclimated (and all I wanted to do was call a cab). Whoever trains this staff should be retrained themselves or the Atlas management should fire the whole lot and start from scratch.

On another note, while I understand that many Israelis have no concept of service, the abysmal standards at front desk by some associates really sends a poor message of Israelis and Jews to the non-Jews who stay at the Tal. And maybe this lesson should be indicated to the staff when they insult and treat their guests so poorly. They are representing Judaism and Israel to the world and based on my experience, not in a good way.

Oh and there is no fitness center, no pool, and only two hallway irons and ironing boards. Way to save on costs.

In short, don't stay here if you can help it.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel down the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    96
    52
    14
    16
See reviews for
49
71
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel but when we were there the fire escape had been removed and the fire escape door screwed shut. If you had wrenched it open by force you would have plunged to your death on the pavement below.
There was a tiny overworked coffee machine churning out endless but very good coffee for breakfasters.
Recommended if you not bothered about fire escapes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband has been staying here since Oct 2012 with 4-5 week stays and I have joined him on several occasions and stay 3-4 weeks at a time. The location is excellent, close to shopping, bars, restaurants and grocery stores and the bus stop just down the street. It's a one minute walk to the beach and a 3 minute walk to the "Port" with numerous shops and restaurants. The staff is like family and always willing to assist with anything that we needed! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable; some have been completely renovated and look beautiful #807, 803! They offer a large delicious Israeli breakfast with many choices with freshly made espresso/cappuccino (not on Saturdays tho), as well as an excellent dinner! Complimentary in-room wi-fi and underground parking, a huge plus in TLV!!. The kitchenette in our room was quite spacious and nicely equipped as we were able to do our own cooking with ease. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Thank you Golan, Jacob, Noa, Tali, Ora, Seimcah, Galeet, Natasha and everyone else on the staff for making our stay so comfortable and wonderful!!! We'll see you again!
Wolfgang & Lilly

Room Tip: North side has city and water views. Kitchenette rooms are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Good, up-to-date 3+ star hotel.
Good location.
Easy to get to.
Good for families.
Good for business. It has several conference rooms with service.
restaurant with good tasty menu
Good bar.
It also has a reasonable bar and room service menu
Quiet relaxing atmosphere.
Helpful staff.
Near the interesting part of Ben Yehuda street, Dizengoff street and especially the old port of Tel Aviv within 100 yards walk.
Good beach very near by.
Has also a car park for my hired Eldan car (also a good hire).

I will come there again.
Easy, simple booking from Atlas web site or phone the hotel directly, much simpler than through the travel agent.

There was a slight nuascence that some mornings, alreasy at 09:05 a. m. the tables in the dinning room were not fully, properly set up: no milk, no sugar on the tables.

There is no fitness centre or pool. But very good beach within 150 yards.

My rating@ 4.5 out of 5.0

Dr. Szpiro, London

Room Tip: If money is no problem, for a little extra, try and get a bigger room or even a room with kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor-Szpiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Spent one night. Facilities were good although we only slept one night, showered, and went to the airport. Unfortunately because the heat a/c system was transitioning we couldn't cool the room except by opening the window - which let in the considerable street noise. Also, because of the hardwood floors, guests walking made noise that could be heard all through the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotels_Israel, Guest Relations Manager at Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Bob L,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about the hotel with others. We understand your frustrations regarding our central A/C system. In Israel as the winter is a cool time of year, air-conditioners are turned off not only in our hotel but in almost all hotels throughout the country. Yet we understand that the day you were with us was not a day of the seasonal norm and temperatures with higher than usual. We do apologize for any inconvenience this change in temperature caused you. In addition although our rooms do have hardwood floors, all our hallways are carpet. So for your last comment we are a tad confused. But if you are a sensitive sleeper and can hear people walking on carpet unfortunately other guests do walk in our hallways and that is something we can not change. We do thank you for choosing to stay at Tal Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Amnon Krichevsky, General Manager, Tal Hotel.
Jordana Neeman, Guest Relations Manager, Atlas Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is my 3rd time staying at the Tal Hotel. The minute I walk in I feel like I am at home. The front desk staff is so friendly and so helpful. The rooms are very, very clean and large. There was three of us in one room and we had lots of space. The morning breakfast is the best. We had dinner one night in the dining room and it was so delicious my Daughters said it taste like home cooked dinner. The location is amazing, it's one block from the beach with lots of resturants, play area with swings for the kids. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Israel and I will always come back to the Tal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great hotel for families and great location. Right near the beach and the port area, the Namal, with lots of fun restaurants and shops. The hotel was clean, full service and provided extra cots so each child could have their own bed. They served a generous (and delicious) Israeli breakfast buffet and had free wifi. Good value for family travel.

Room Tip: Be specific about the number of beds needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotels_Israel, Guest Relations Manager at Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear SandraKo,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Tal Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us while in Tel Aviv. We are glad you had the opportunity to explore the lively port area. We are happy you found our hotel suitable and comfortable for your family. We are also glad we were able to accommodate your needs during your stay. Thank you for your compliments of our amenities such as our free breakfast assortments and wifi throughout the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Amnon Krichevsky, General Manager, Tal Hotel.
Jordana Neeman, Guest Relations Manager, Atlas Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.0 mi away
Armon Hayarkon
Armon Hayarkon
#70 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Port Hotel Tel Aviv
The Port Hotel Tel Aviv
#49 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yam Hotel Tel Aviv - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
#36 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#72 of 100 in Tel Aviv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Hotel & Lounge
Gordon Hotel & Lounge
#62 of 100 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel

Property: Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel
Address: 287 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6350423, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tal Hotel, Tel Aviv - an Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tal Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing