We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, missing atmosphere”
Review of Hayarkon 48 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dortmund
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, missing atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Directly located next to the beach and in walking distance to the city center, the location couldn't be better. Unfortunately it's missing atmosphere. I wouldn't consider it as a party hostel. You don't get in touch with other people easily, because the community rooms are aweful!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank redickization
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H48, General Manager at Hayarkon 48 Hostel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Redickization, thank you for your review we appreciate it.
We are sad to read your comment, we are very proud of our common areas at the ground floor and the rooftop and the balconies at the floors. We always wish for them to be the place to meet other travellers, make friends or just get some tips for your following day. We will defiantly use your comment to improve.
Hope to see you again and give you the 100% Tel Aviv and hostel life experience we always do.
Kind regards, Hayarkon 48
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    204
    68
    23
    25
See reviews for
41
61
303
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Yes this is a 'party hostel', It's noisy - bring earplugs or expect little sleep

The dorms are very basic - there's beds in them and not much more - with too many beds in each dorm, there's hardly any space to store luggage etc. In dorm nr 33 there is 1 (one) electrical outlet for five persons to share.

It's still a hostel worth considering. Great location and friendly staff that will help you out with just about anything

Showers and toilets are kept clean, and there's soap for handwash (appreciated!)

All in all, a fully acceptable budget option. I think travellers has seen both better and worse hostels in this pricerange.

Room Tip: Dont expect much of the dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The level of interaction in this hostel is down.
The vib is dull and the staff are on Facebook, making me thing that they have better things to do engaging with the customer.
Now I found that customers don't socialize much with each other, especially during breakfast hours. You walk in the kitchen room disoriented because you don't really know what is for breakfast. Yet alone the fridge looks packed and the receptionist always seem busy for nothing particular- expecially when you know that this hostel has no more than 200beds.

In the kitchen what is yours to take and what isn't clear. This making you wander around for a while before settling. In addtion the night receptionist could do by smilling a bit more.

Aside from that I was quite impressed seing women doing night reception work.

Room Tip: Probably, if you travalling alone, the best thing to do in this hostel is to get yourself a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Best location, seconds from the beach. Amazing kitchen and lounge facilities. Staff tend to be really strict about non visitors going upstairs which sucks when you want to hang out on the roof patio. If you have trouble with the air conditioning, expect them to take their time fixing it. Lots of fun though, lots of young people coming off birthright at this time. Always people to hang out with.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H48, General Manager at Hayarkon 48 Hostel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Suerte
Thank you for taking the time and writing this elaborate review. I really appreciate it, even though I must say, I'm quite surprised by your choice of words.
It sounds as if you've had a negative experience at the hostel, and for that I am sorry.
Instead of answering your complaints one by one, I'll say that:
Hayarkon 48 hostel puts time, energy, funds and efforts into cleaning like no other hostel I know. All of our facilities are professionally cleaned several times a day, and inspected regularly by all staff members.
It's very clear from your review that you were not happy with your roommates. I do agree with you that we should do our best to control our guests behavior while staying with us, but while we are able to prevent guests from partying in the rooms and being loud in the hostel area, we cannot prevent them from coming in and out of their own rooms.
I believe that was also the meaning of the receptionist who told you there was nothing he could do, and apologized if he was understood differently.
It is very unfortunate that our other guests were under considerate.
I assure you we will do our best to prevent such an event from happening again.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I don't know how this hostel reviews such good reviews (I then wouldn't want to see other Tel Aviv hostels). The six person dorm room (rooms 19 & 20) are way too crowded - those rooms should only have four people. This hostel is very dirty. In the dorm the bed frames are very dusty. I have found stray food in the dorm rooms which attracts bugs. On the top of the bookcase I found sand. Those nasty bed covers smell, and are out on the floor when not used (and then waiting on the next guest's bed). The "laptop bar" needs a wipe down. With the crowd this hostel hosts the bathrooms need to be scrubbed several times a day & night. With travelers' personal stuff in the dorm room I doubt the maid could differientiate between what needs to be thrown out & what belongs to someone presently staying in the room (therefore things are just left). I read tripadvisor's past reviews & when someone writes about this hostel's filth, the manager's response is that the guest should have said something. Well it is my vacation. I should not have to point out the filth of this hostel when anyone should be able to see it if they took interest. I should not have to tell you about your hostel's disgustingness. You need to do your job. I would have changed accommodation in a heartbeat but this weekend all beds were booked in Tel Aviv. There was a group of people at the hostel who just completed an organized tour of Israel (will not mention their name but you see this tour all over Israel). This kids are the most disrespectful, unkempt, loud, drunkards I ever been in a hostel with (I have stayed in over 300 hostels all over the world). I did not sleep at all in my three nights here. The hostel workers do absolutely nothing to control the volume or make other guests feel comfortable. I asked a worker & was told there is nothing he could do. Other hostels enforce quiet times. The obnoxious girls I had to share a room with kept coming in & out of the room. The door was squeaking & would not shut properly. They didn't care & neither did the hostel worker. I would never ever stay in this filth hostel again nor recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suerte2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H48, General Manager at Hayarkon 48 Hostel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Suerte
Thank you for taking the time and writing this elaborate review. I really appreciate it, even though I must say, I'm quite surprised by your choice of words.
It sounds as if you've had a negative experience at the hostel, and for that I am sorry.
Instead of answering your complaints one by one, I'll say that:
Hayarkon 48 hostel puts time, energy, funds and efforts into cleaning like no other hostel I know. All of our facilities are professionally cleaned several times a day, and inspected regularly by all staff members.
It's very clear from your review that you were not happy with your roommates. I do agree with you that we should do our best to control our guests behavior while staying with us, but while we are able to prevent guests from partying in the rooms and being loud in the hostel area, we cannot prevent them from coming in and out of their own rooms.
I believe that was also the meaning of the receptionist who told you there was nothing he could do, and apologized if he was understood differently.
It is very unfortunate that our other guests were under considerate.
I assure you we will do our best to prevent such an event from happening again.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff at Hayarkon did everything to make my stay more comfortable; not only while I stayed there but even when I returned on my last day in Israel by providing me with a locker, a shower and arguing with the taxi driver on my behalf:D
Thanks a lot :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vas2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have traveled around the world for 4 years and this is one of the best hostels where I have been so far, super clean, great breakfast :) the people, the workers, the area, the rooms, everything is great. I definitely will go back every year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam1l0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#32 of 100 in Tel Aviv
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 100 in Tel Aviv
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
Best Western Regency Suites
#10 of 100 in Tel Aviv
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hostel
Beachfront Hostel
#8 of 93 in Tel Aviv
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#1 of 93 in Tel Aviv
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#2 of 93 in Tel Aviv
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayarkon 48 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayarkon 48 Hostel

Property: Hayarkon 48 Hostel
Address: 48 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hayarkon 48 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayarkon 48 Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing