We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Grand”
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Very Grand”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Firstly Tel Aviv Hotels are totally over priced.
I arrived at 4pm on Shabat,the receptionist could not find my reservation despite me showing it to him on my phone, he fluffed and flaffed around for about 10 minutes, answered guest queries and then another receptionist started the process all over again and found the reservation which he told me had been cancelled a few days before. I asked why it was cancelled he said they tried to debit my credit card and could not, why they tried I don't know as it was given purely as a guarantee. He found me a room for 2 nights of the 3 I had booked, no apologies. The whole process took about 20 minutes.
The room was tiny but clean, the bathroom had been re vamped but not very well (The original shower in the bath was replaced by a hand held devise, the original unit is still there but not working)
There is fee wi fi but not very good.
The Breakfast buffet is fairly good the staff float around like ghosts don't bother to ask them for anything they are only there to socialise with their colleagues.
All in all the Hotel is very tired and the staff have no interest, service is non existent.
Location is good near the New Port, Independence Park and nice beaches.
To add insult to injury I asked if I could keep the room for an hour later than check out the answer was "NO" not "no sorry we are full" just plane NO

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel :) If you must choose a Hotel on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereswally_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    284
    193
    55
    62
See reviews for
145
219
80
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Small but comfortable quarters...amazing breakfast buffets...wonderful rooftop pool...close to beach and many, many great restaurants at the Port. One Gentleman on the Reception staff gave excellent service while others were 'so-so'. Close to Dizengoff St. & Ben Yehuda St. Off-site laundry service more reasonable than that of the hotel's.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We started and ended our recent tour with Grand Beach Hotel, and were greatful to have the same receptionist both times. Friendly, accommodating and happy to go the extra mile. We thought it would be like this in all the hotels, but no! GBH was central to what we needed and the food whilst not a great range was lovely and so was the local wine. I would definitely recommend to all.

Room Tip: Try getting a room nearer the top floor which is close to the swimming pool and has a great outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a grand hotel and lives up to its name!
The travel company I was traveling with moved me to this hotel after I had stayed in a bleak 3-star hotel (which was terrible, BTW). In fact the company moved all 11 of us in the tour group into this hotel.

This hotel looks magnificent from the outside, is close to the sea and then you enter the wonderful and spacious lobby/reception.
The young receptionist was brilliant and helpful and I did make a special mention of her in my diary.

My room was spacious, clean and with a flat TV. There was also a mini fridge.
One thing that I specifically noted in my travel diary was that the reading lamps in the room were great.
The hotel is conveniently located in the posh restaurant area of the port and there are supermarkets and ATMs.

I suppose I was rather disappointed by the breakfast but then I was just getting used to the "international" breakfast being offered to satisfy clients of widely differing nationalities!

I cannot comment about "value for money" as this hotel was included in the price I paid for the tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Tel Aviv hotels are just plain over priced, so you need to accept that from the start. As most of the smaller hotels I had looked at were full, I settled on Grand Beach which offered excellent service and communication from the start. The hotel is a little old looking from the outside, but rooms are clean, fairly modern and well maintained. We arrived very, very early, way before the check in time, but as we had not slept at all were desperate for some sleep rather than walking around. Even though the hotel was quite full, the staff kindly directed us to the lounge and promised us a room as soon as one was available - done within one hour!

Reception staff were very kind and helpful. The rooms all seem to have nice views of Tel Aviv and the beaches. The street in front of the hotel is not too busy and has free city bikes right outside. If you want to rent bikes, there is a good bike shop about 3-4 blocks away in Ben Gurion str, where the owner speaks good English and is very helpful.

The location of the hotel is perfect - right close to the trendy Port area, restaurants and the beaches. If you are a sporty type, the Yarkon river park is just two blocks away and you can ride/ run for a large number of km's there.

The hotel has a very generous breakfast buffet and staff are very service orientated. There is plenty to eat for Vegan/ Vegetarians.

Take the time to see the roof-top pool and excellent view on the 12th floor.

Grand Beach was great for us and we would definitely choose it first on a next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I am from NYC and has been staying in different hotels when I travel. So far this hotel is nice. Buffet breakfast was superb, they have a cook just to make whatever eggs you want to eat and squeeze your own fresh orange juice area. Too many selections of food to eat. Likewise the buffet dinner. I thought I was in kinda Vegas buffets. The room is clean and hot water is excellent. AC worked well, I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kickzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Where to start...; overpriced hotel. Rooms were old, small, smelled bad and not clean. Location not that great, as the name of the hotel suggests being next to the beach which is not the case. Yes the beach is not that far but it is far from being next to the beach or having a beach view. Misleading name. Then: breakfast, not that special at all though a large assortment of mediocre food at the buffet. WIFI was not working in the rooms. TV problematic. Reception was good though. Best thing I liked was leaving this place knowing I will never return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tel Aviv hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
#73 of 100 in Tel Aviv
579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#56 of 100 in Tel Aviv
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
The Embassy Hotel Tel Aviv
#37 of 100 in Tel Aviv
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
Alexander Tel-Aviv Hotel
#33 of 100 in Tel Aviv
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#60 of 100 in Tel Aviv
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 250 Ha-Yarkon, Tel Aviv 6311316, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tel Aviv at the Grand Beach Hotel, famous for its central location, newly renovated rooms, and great rates. The hotel sits alongside a stretch of popular Mediterranean beaches, and next to the bustling port, packed with waterfront restaurants, trendy stores, and lively nightlife. Each room is modernly decorated and equipped with free Wi-Fi, an LCD TV, a mini fridge, a personal safe, and coffee/tea making facilities. Guests enjoy the authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, the rooftop pool with a panoramic view of the city, and the relaxing lounge bar. The hotel also has a business center for corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Tel Aviv
Hotel Grand Beach
Grand Beach Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing