We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beachfront Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maxim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Maxim Hotel
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beachfront Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

After 9 days of actively experiencing the holy sites and beauty that is Israel, we were looking forward to a couple of days of R&R by the beach in Tel Aviv to round out the final 2 days of our trip. The hotel we chose was the Maxim, and we weren't disappointed. Although our room was somewhat small for the three of us compared to our previous lodging in Jerusalem and Haifa, we didn't come to stay in the room, which was, to be fair, nicely appointed and quite cozy. The best aspects of Maxim are its excellent location and value. By value I mean free parking in their underground gated garage, the excellent complimentary breakfast served each morning and complimentary snacks (fresh fruit, cakes, etc.) available throughout the day alongside the instant cappuccino maker. For location, the hotel is a stone's throw from the sandy beach (with lounge chairs and umbrellas rentable for reasonably few shekels), Mediterranean waves and an assortment of seaside eateries and nightspots. Towels for the beach are available at the front desk. The Maxim staff were always pleasant and professional as well. When I had an issue with the room safe (user error), they were there in a flash to resolve it. The lobby is comfortable and inviting, with a piano and laptops available for Internet access, and there's a furnished roof deck with a great view of the beach and surrounding areas in case you want to uncork a bottle of wine and watch the amazing sunsets. No pool (not an issue with the beach right there) or gym in the Maxim, but that was easy to overlook with all of the positives. The only things preventing me from giving the Maxim a full 5 rating is the smallish room size and the lack of a gym, but we would definitely stay at the Maxim again and would gladly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The roof deck is off the 5th floor, so for added convenience to that amenity, you may want to inquir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    215
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
133
187
122
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 12 day visit to Israel. Our base hotel was The Maxin Hotel in Tel Aviv. The hotel is located right across the beach, one among dozens of hotels lined up along the Hayarkon Street which runs parallel to the beach. Before I describe the hotel I would like the reader to know that the Teal Aviv skyline is dotted with gigantic cranes, an indication of the construction boom taking place in Tel Aviv as well as in all other parts of Israel. I mention this construction boom because if you plan to sleep late, in a Tel Aviv beach hotel, say beyond 7 or 8am you are out of luck unless you can sleep impervious to jack hammers and other construction equipment noise, or it is Saturday in which all construction comes to a halt.

So now let’s take a look at Yhe Maxin Hotel. We stayed at the Maxin in March/April 2014 and previously for 2 weeks in 2012. It is centrally y located with access to the beach, excellent nearby restaurants, public transportation 1 block away on Ben Yehuda Street, and for touring Teal Aviv on foot streching from the old port of Jaffa to the old port of Tel Aviv. The hotel staff is very friendly accessible and accommodating. It is a medium priced hotel; the rooms come with breakfast, free parking, and a roof garden. In the afternoon the hotel serves complementary tea and coffee as well as snacks and pastries. This is a modern hotel; the rooms are less than spacious but equipped with a refrigerator, a safe and coffee machine. Wi-Fi is complementary and there are 2 PC in the lobby available for use by the hotel guests

Room Tip: All room have a window facing the beach but the corner rooms have the best view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yigal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel, very close to the beach. We had booked a room with a sea view, but the windows were rather small so the view was a bit limited. Our room was small, which may have been due to the fact that it was a corner room. Everything was clean and functional, though. There was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us, which was a nice touch.

The wifi was a bit spotty at times, but mostly it worked fine. Breakfast was nice, not the best I've ever had in Israel, but very good nonetheless. The hotel also had free coffee and cake available every day at five in the lobby, that was a nice touch.

The hotel has a little parking garage available, however spaces are at a first-come basis and the space available is small. But still, better than no parking at all.

I could definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I arrived for a weekend visit to Israel from Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt on March 13th - 16th, 2014. From the moment I arrived at check-in the friendly courteous staff greeted me with a smile. The hotel has recently received a complete makeover. The rooms are comfortable and Wi-Fi is included. Complimentary buffet breakfast each morning was a treat, offering a wide variety of fruit, meats, fresh juices and pastries. Prime location across from the beach and centrally located. The hotel concierge can also arrange city tours. No doubt, I'll certainly make future hotel reservations at Tel Aviv's Maxim Design. Such and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njh30303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Maxim is a lovely place to stay. It’s a real case when a strong 3* is better than a weak 5* (I can compare both options in Tel Aviv). Great atmosphere, helpful staff, a lot of options included into the price (breakfast, parking, wi-fi, complimentary 5 o’clock tea&coffee) help you feel like at home. We had a great sleep which is very important for me (means perfect beds, absence of noise, silent air conditioning etc). We enjoyed the breakfast – even it was the same every day, there was enough to choose from. The location was also convenient – 2 minutes from the beach, walking distance (or 5 min by car) from Old Jaffa. I’ll definitely stay at Maxim again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This Jan it was 5th time I chose this hotel and I did not make a mistake. The warmth of the staff and the nice breakfast makes you feel cosy and comfortable. The location of the hotel, is another hotel which makes you come back again and again. It is located right across the sea beach- surely an interesting hotel. Also it's proximity to the Caramel Market and other important market cum city offices is a great advantage of staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors gives you great sight on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Maxim several times and it never disappoints. There has recently been a huge refurbishment there and it is great. Much more modern and cheerful, but still with the same emphasis of cleanliness, comfort and extremely helpful staff at reception, who can always help you with something. Location is excellent and enables really good long walks along the tayelet either to Jaffa or up to the far end past the marina and even further. It is central (on the front) and near shops and restaurants.
The rooms are spotless and the hotel reception area too. I shall be staying again when next I visit Tel Aviv which I hope, won't be too long!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renault44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lusky – Great Small Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Regency Suites
0.4 mi away
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Executive Suites
Sea Executive Suites
#30 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Embassy Hotel
The Embassy Hotel
#36 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mendeli Street Hotel
Mendeli Street Hotel
#15 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxim Hotel

Property: The Maxim Hotel
Address: 86 Ha - Yarkon St., Tel Aviv 63903, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tel Aviv
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#14 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#29 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxim Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you 71 fully air-conditioned and heated guest rooms, refurbished, private bath, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, cable TV, coffee shop, bar, Internet wireless access in all rooms. The Maxim Hotel is located in the Heart of Tel Aviv, the city of "24 Hours action" across the beach of the Mediterranean Sea. Restaurants, shopping centers and theaters are a few minutes from the Hotel. To Old Jaffa is 5 minutes by car or a 30 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Maxim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Tel Aviv
Maxim Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing