We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting exhibitions”

Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum)
Ranked #26 of 275 things to do in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is comprised of several exhibition pavilions where each is dedicated to a different cultural field and subject including Archaeology, Judaica, Ethnography, Material Culture and Applied Arts of the Land of Israel.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“interesting exhibitions”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

there are some nice exhibitions in this museum. Kal Mehomer is about paper art and it is facinating. another interesting exhibition is about the srart of aviation in Israel

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank scha_tova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    84
    31
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suburban Boston, MA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great place, especially for kids”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This museum has a little of everything. There is a small archaeological dig, a great exhibit (world of work) explaining how pre-industrial revolution people in the Middle East lived (e.g. weaving, fishing, farming implements with photos of people using them and explanations linking them to contemporary tools), the history of aviation in Israel, a building devoted to glass, another for pottery, etc. You can pick and choose as your time and interests allow.
Well done, and no one part of it is so huge as to be over-whelming.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
606 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Rothschild exhibition alone...”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

...makes this museum worth a visit. It's not full of artefacts, more photographic-based but that has just as much impact, if not more. The story of this particular Rothschild's involvement with the creation of settlements is very interesting.

Tel Qabile archaeological site is embedded within the museum grounds and I did wonder, just for a minute or so, whether it had been 'created' for the visitor. I'm sure it's genuine and that really adds to the visit; try reading James Michener's The Source before you go...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have never been to a place like this. A museum that surrounds an archaeological site is just a wonderful thing for me. I love my history and I learned so much about Jewish, Israeli history whether it be ancient or modern . I didn't grudge the entry fee as I could have easily spent the whole day from opening time to closing looking at everything. I just loved the fact that I could see the place where exhibits on the shelves came from. Such a great opportunity for learning for all ages and abilities. It was nice to see classes of local school children being taken on a day trip there too! Take plenty water/fluids with you as there can be a lot of walking involved.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Haaretz Museum”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Only been once before and that was many years ago. Lots to see with excellent cafe for lunch. The exhibits were outstanding, especially the glass room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irving G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum) also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Eretz Israel Museum Complex (Haaretz Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing