We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price. Room terrible, staff below the average...”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the price. Room terrible, staff below the average...”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the hotel upon arrival to Israel. After reading the reviews we decided that price-quality ratio is ok to accept. The reality was very disappointing. We were given a ground floor room just next to reception (literally 1.5 meter from reception desk). The 'ground floor' room was a type of half-basement room. The basement damp smell was constantly present in the room, which made it difficult and disgusting to sleep at night. The hotel staff wasn't very understanding and assured us that there are no other free rooms.
In addition to the smell and thick air in the room the proximity to the reception desk made it difficult to sleep at night. Late night check ins took place constantly. Reception staff didn't make effort to keep the noise down to let us sleep.
All three nights we were awaken (3 am, 5 am etc) by the loud talking and noises and we had to go out in our night robes to ask reception to keep the noise down.

In general it was one of the worst hotel experiences in our life (considering us being frequent travelers).
Later on we returned in Tel Aviv and stayed in a much better place for the same price in a superb location. Carefully review customer rating prior to booking.

I would not recommend anyone staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaMaPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    44
    36
    21
    19
See reviews for
13
59
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Out of all of the places we stayed on our trip to Israel, this one was my favourite. Excellent location, helpful, attentive and friendly staff and most importantly, clean! Served its purpose in every way. Provided everything we needed. I will absolutely book to stay at Central hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanelcom, Owner at Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Deborah
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed what our hotel has to offer including its prime location, garden, comfortable rooms and free breakfast. Thank you for complimenting our staff, we are happy they were able to assist you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Central Hotel in the future.

Looking forward...:)

Netanel Cohen&stuff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights.The location is ideal right in the center.The staff was very helpful and polite but the hotel was a superior hostel.
The corridors,the stair was tiny and old (almost no comparison with the photos).The doors were very thin and old,the bed covered most of the room next to the door and mainly the bathroom was inside the room separated with a glass almost half the height of the room from which you could smell hear etc when somebody is in the bathroom.
C mon guys this is basic in our times for a 3 star hotel (i would rate it max 2 stars).
Apart from the room itself i have nothing else bad to say about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tel Aviv hotels

London
Level Contributor
192 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

As often in the Middle East hotels are either really expensive or really bad and it's hard to find something decent in the middle. The Central Hotel is one of the good mid-range hotels, I think. We were happy with it. The room was small but very cute with old style (but new) furniture, painted all in white with some red accents. Prettier than expected. The bathroom was also small but ok clean. I still wore flip flops, which I only don't do if it's perfectly spotless. The sink was tiny so it was hard to brush teeth without hitting your head on the board above it where to put things. The shower was good pressure and hot. Unfortunately we did have a small cockroach and a slug in the room at some point. But again, that happens in these countries and the not 5 star hotels.
Breakfast was out on the terrace. It was very simple, some salad, white bread, cheese, peanut butter, jam, nutella (not the real one), cake, a coffee machine with various coffees (unexpected) and juice. The terrace was a little dirty and you also probably don't want to hang around here and chill out.
If you come to visit Tel Aviv and don't expect to chill out in the hotel but just spend the night it's perfect. There are busses right outside the door and a few restaurants close by. Busses to the central bus station take about 20min. One can also walk to the beach in 10 min.
I'm giving this hotel a very good for what it is, not comparing it to European hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel had everything we needed: air conditioning, private bathroom, free wifi, airport transportation, breakfast, fridge in the room, luggage storage, safe in the room, and a comfortable bed.

Amazing location. We walked to the beach and to Shuk Ha Carmel.

The staff was very nice and I will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanel C, Owner at Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Dana

Thank you for your glowing review. We are delighted to hear that you were very pleased with the hotel, our staff service and all the amenities we offer.
We are also happy to hear that you were so pleased with the hotel you would return without hesitation. We would like to thank you for all of your kind compliments, especially regarding our staff, and for choosing to stay at the Central Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Sincerly
Central Hotel team
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

a bit hesitant to book this hotel because of the previous reviews.
but good thing i did booked it eventually and i had a pleasant time.
stayed for 4 nights arriving the 17th of june 13 and staying at room 113.

arrived at the hotel late ish as our flights from LHR to CDG to TLV is extermely delayed.
plus when we get to TLV our luggage was still in paris:(
still with smile we took the train from the airport to savidor central station then took a taxi to the hotel.
we were greeted with a big smile by the receptionist and if i am not wrong his name is something lead or aled or levi.lol
but anyway,he is very helpful and make us very comfortable and then showed us to our room.
the room like from the previous reviews is small.but i dont have problemswith that.all you need for a room is bed,shower and toilet.which is all in there AC and television,fridge is available too.
what more can you ask for?......i dont know why there are other person kept on moaning about the size of the room.for the price you pay they should never complain at all.
WiFi is available all thru out.and it is good connection.best of all its FREE for the emails and facebooking that you need.
again nothing to complain about.
over all the hotel stay is very pleasant.
breakfast was enough and we have a tour early morning and the staff prepared it very early for us to eat before the tour.
hotel is very close to the beach so after the long day tour you can just pop in to the beach and chill.
restaurant are plentiful too.
bus stop to anywhere you want to go is just outside the hotel.
hotel and the rooms are very clean.
highly recommend this hotel to any one staying to TLV.
there are minor problems in the room but i do personally talk to nati the owner of the hotel and express my concerns.
he promised to addressed the issues and improve the service more.

would like to thank everybody in the hotel,specially the nati who is the owner for all their help while e are in tel aviv.

Room Tip: dont get bothered about the other bad reviews. all you need to do is enjoy your stay in central hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanel C, Owner at Central Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Mr. Asyano

We were delight to host you at our hotel and you was more than a friend for us :)
Thank you for all the comet and tips we take your advise very serious
Hope that you will come back again to our family hotel
Wish you all the best in your life and career

Take care
Central Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed there for one night before flying out of Tel Aviv. Location: very convenient, close to the beach and shopping area where there are tons of restaurant options and buses. Room: very small (barely fitting a twin size bed) but clean and functional with a shower en suite. Price: very reasonable. I booked online. Service: the staff are very friendly and gave me great travel tips. Free wifi was helpful. The only downside is that it can be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.3 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#85 of 100 in Tel Aviv
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#81 of 100 in Tel Aviv
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ness Ziona
Hotel Ness Ziona
#84 of 100 in Tel Aviv
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel 75
Hotel 75
#29 of 100 in Tel Aviv
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Mer
Hotel De La Mer
#79 of 100 in Tel Aviv
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympia Hotel Tel Aviv - By Zvieli Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: Rehov Ben Yehuda 38, Tel Aviv 6380714, Israel
Region: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 100 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new luxury boutique hotel in a prime position on Tel Aviv's vibrant seafront. Specializing in a personalized concierge service, the hotel promises an unforgettable stay in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing