We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and magical ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mel and Michelle

Mel and Michelle
Ranked #300 of 1,576 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Mel & Michelle is a small and intimate restaurant run by chef Nir Wayman.The chef infuse personal and artisanal touches on classical Italian cuisine.Hand made gnocchi, fresh pasta and local produce from the various markets are the basis of the seasonal menu, which also incorporates truffle oils, Roman artichokes and spices from around the globe.White table cloths, soft- incandescent lighting and an attentive staff create the calm and welcoming ambiance, characteristic of Mel & Michelle.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal and magical ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Food was very fresh and you could tell it was prepared by a talented chef. Pasta was perfect and waitress was friendly and informative about the selections and the wine. Very romantic and magical evening.

Helpful?
Thank ronkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    54
    18
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a very nice restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The restaurant was casual and charming with a young and attentive wait staff. Within walking distance of the Carlton Hotel, near the beach, it was filled with locals-always a good sign. We had made reservations as we understood that the place filled up quickly, even on a weeknight. When we were leaving, we saw people waiting for a table.
The food is Mediterranean with an Italian focus, but like all things Israeli, bearing the stamp of the Tel Aviv “take” on how Italian food should be enjoyed. We enjoyed the octopus appetizer (really fresh and tender-not rubbery at all) and the beef Carpaccio. Our main courses were the tortellini with ragu (really fresh pasta) and the mullet with gnocchi. My mullet was cooked perfectly, no bones, and had a crisp skin attached to a flaky body. We also enjoyed a bottle of Israeli Cabernet Sauvignon from the Golan Heights-very good and something that we continued to order throughout our stay. The owner came over and chatted with us for a moment and we felt like regulars. We highly recommend this restaurant for comfortable, casual, Tel Aviv dining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More pasta, more tiramisu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Thanks to the help of a local friend, we were able to get a last minute late night reservation. We were a fairly large group, so we decided to do a family-style meal, asking the server to pick a selection of her favorites. One of us doesn't eat beef, so we specified a maximum of one beef dish, but something must have been lost in translation, as many of our dishes had beef of some sort. So, if you have dietary restrictions and don't speak Hebrew, it's probably best to pick your own dishes. Our fault.
Language barriers aside, we found the pastas to be the highlight of the non-dessert portions of the meal. The tagliatelle ragu, tortellini and "candy shaped pasta" were excellent...handmade, fresh, pillowy bites of pasta. I couldn't stop spooning seconds, and thirds, onto my plate. The straccetti and carpaccio were our server's favorites, but not mine. I found the straccetti (grilled sliced rib eye) tough, dry, and overcooked. The carpaccio could have been more flavorful. The gray mullet was cooked well, but it has a distinctive, "fishier" flavor. As someone with easy access to great steak at home, I would stick to the pastas. For starters, we liked the soft polenta and the crudo.
After a gigantic and delicious main course, we mustered some room for dessert. The tiramisu is delightful, airy and creamy. Disappeared faster than anything else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Two things bothered me at Mel & Michelle:
1. I think the menu is extremely overpriced, compared to what you get. I mean - the food is nice, but not much more. And it's expensive.
2. I was there for the end time last month, and we had a reservation 19-21pm. at 20:45 the waiteress came and told us our time is about to run out. We still had some wine left and decided to order a desert. At 21pm exactly, we didn't manage to finish the desert and the wine yet, and the waitress came again and told us she is sorry but we need to leave because the next couple for the table has already arrived. She was nice about it and all, but we left 450+ Nish there, I wouldn't expect being kicked out like that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ambiance & Atmosphere at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little restaurant on Ben Yehuda, greatly designed and they have certainly created a warm, romantic ambiance.
The waitressing was good, friendly and professional for sure.
You have several options for starter, antipasti, first, seconds and deserts. The food is good but for the price not spectacular enough.
Wine list is good, enough variation.
A lovely dinner we had for sure and the experience was very good. However, 150 shekel of the bill and it would have been excellent.

Helpful?
Thank MLA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mel and Michelle also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Mel and Michelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing