We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special treat but very expensive”
Review of Mul Yam Restaurant - CLOSED

Mul Yam Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$130
Cuisines: Mediterranean, French, Seafood, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: "Mul-Yam" is a restaurant located in Tel Aviv port, specializing in fish and seafood, was founded in 1995. The restaurant's creative kitchen offers fine plates, made of premium products from all around the world. A rare, high quality selection of wines completes a complete culinary portrait, which became highly acclaimed in Israel. Since 2003, "Mul-Yam" is rated among the best 120 restaurants in the world, according to the gourmet restaurant guide "Les Grandes Tables Du Monde".
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“special treat but very expensive”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

it was the best food we ate on our trip to israel over 10 days. However be prepared to spend alot of money. check came to almost $1000 for 5 people. Maybe that why the rest was empty except for us and 2 other parties. Great service and decor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello steven c,

Thank you for sharing your kind and candid review of your restaurant.
We never take it for granted when a guest takes the time to give us, and our future guests, his or hers review.

We do hope to see once again at our tables, on your next trip to Tel Aviv!


Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    45
    28
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Most famous restaurant in Israel”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

So it is also meant to be the best. Perhaps
in terms of wine list alone.
Food is good but not Michelin star or relais et chateaux quality which I was told this is.
Atmosphere is non existent.
And price. Off the charts.
I did enjoy but there is better out there

Helpful?
Thank Knowclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello Knowclass,

We regret reading of your poor experience at our restaurant.
Every day is another day we keep perfecting every little thing, from the service level to the dishes served.

Our hope is that you will give us yet another visit, on your next trip to Tel Aviv.



Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sea food, great service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My wife & I just spent a great evening at the restaurant. The food was outstanding, defiantly one of the best sea food restaurants we ever been to.
The service was great as well.

My took the lobster which was awesome!
We'll come back, no doubt about that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Ori S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience of our humble restaurant, with us and of course with our future guests.

Hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food but....”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A good standard of cooking but that is it. ( a bit too salty for my taste). The level of cooking does not justify the high prices on the menu. A main course of John Dory with scallops for 270 NIS raises very high expectations.....but the taste is not spectacular. The scallops even a bit too well done.
The fresh oysters as starter were excellent but do not require much cooking. The dessert: just sweets.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HPDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello HPDubai,

Let us, first, start by saying how we appriciate your candid review.
We're endlessly working to perfect every aspect of the Mul-Yam experrience, and deeply regret to learn of your personal experience.

That said, we do hope to see you again dine at our table, on your next visit to Tel Aviv.


Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant in Israel!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Best seafood restaurant in Israel!
A very expensive and worth every Shekel you'll spend. Try the lunch menu for more affordable deal (evening can ends up at 600-800shekel per person).
Great restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Gabot,

We thank you for taking the time for sharing your wonderful experience of our restaurant, and mostly thank you for sharing it with our future guests :)

Hope to see you again soon enjoying our fine culinary efforts.


Sincerely,
Team Mul-Yam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mul Yam Restaurant also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing