We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even with Rockets”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mul Yam Restaurant - CLOSED

Mul Yam Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$130
Cuisines: Mediterranean, French, Seafood, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: "Mul-Yam" is a restaurant located in Tel Aviv port, specializing in fish and seafood, was founded in 1995. The restaurant's creative kitchen offers fine plates, made of premium products from all around the world. A rare, high quality selection of wines completes a complete culinary portrait, which became highly acclaimed in Israel. Since 2003, "Mul-Yam" is rated among the best 120 restaurants in the world, according to the gourmet restaurant guide "Les Grandes Tables Du Monde".
Englewood, NJ
Level Contributor
195 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Even with Rockets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I had high expectations as this was billed as the best seafood restaurant in Israel. I guess I'm a spoiled New Yorker. It was second rate at best and expensive to boot. The Siren during dinner wasn't an issue as we'd gotten used to the routine. A 10 minute interlude and then back to dinner. We had 4 appetizers and that was enough. 3 were just OK and 1 spectacular. 25% isn't a great batting average. Still no Turkish Coffee, maybe the best thing in the Middle East.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gourageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello gourageous,

First of all, we thank you for visiting Israel, in spite of these weird days. As Israeli's we never take such things for granted.

We regret you experience of our restaurant was less than our 100%.
On your next visit to Tel Aviv, we do hope you'll be willing to give us another culinary chance.

Thank you for taking the and sharing your review with us.


Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    45
    28
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a small restaurant located in the port area & was a little hard to find and dark outside around it but it was worth finding. Our hotel had recommended it & made the reservation for us. The food and service were both wonderful. Each course had a beautiful presentation- even the bread basket. The owner came and sat at our table and visited with us for quite a while. He treated us like royalty. It is pricey but a special experience. Next time we are in Tel Aviv- we will return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeDe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello DeDe B,

We thank you so much for your kind words and, of course, for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us and our future guests.

Hope to see you again soon at our tables, on your next visit to Tel Aviv!



Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best of Tel Aviv seafood cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited countless times at Mul-Yam throughout the years, as it's one of our favorite splurge restaurants. It has been around for a long time, and that is not too common in Tel Aviv. The gourmet food has always been exceptional, prepared by a fantastic, inventive chef. The service impeccable. The decor simple & clean. The wine list, thrilling...and their desert chef is outstanding. We'll coming again real soon...

Helpful?
Thank dinertree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hello dinertree,

Your review is exactly why we get out of bed every morning. We thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely experience of our restaurant with us, and of course eith our future guests.

Hope to see you again soon at our table!


Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was hosting a guest for lunch. The service by the team was great during the meal. She ordered for main course a boiled lobster. She is originally from France and used to sea food. When she returned home she started to puke and since then all after noon and evening and night continue to do so. She was totally under the water till the morning the day after where she started to recover. The point is that I called the restaurant same day to tell them what happened. They promised me the owner will call back to learn the details and ... nothing happened. The last time I had such experience was 14 years ago in medium level restaurant. I never expected such behavior by such fancy restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EranTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello EranTelAviv,

As we've mentioned on your two former complaints on our facebook page, which were left unanswered by you, we never dismiss or ignore complaints or reviews, for better or worse.

This third and identical review, was also noticed, and immediately brought to the managerial staff's care.

Having said that, only posting your complaints severel times and at numores sites, without a response on your behalf, makes it difficult for us to proceed.


Thank you,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food did not meet my expectations (all the rest was great)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

As it is considered as one of the best (certainly the priciest) restaurants in the country, I came with high expectations.

The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable and the atmosphere lovely. The wine was very good and the appetizers pretty good too. However, the main course was just ok. It certainly did not meet the expectations or the price level.

Too bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank assaf_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliEats, Guest Relations Manager at Mul Yam Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello assaf_ta,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and appreciate your candid review.
We do hope that your next visit to our restaurant will rectify your opinion of our main dishes.


Sincerely,
Mul-Yam Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mul Yam Restaurant also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing