We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best”
Review of Poyke - CLOSED

Poyke
Price range: US$10 - US$100
Cuisines: African, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

excellent food.excellent service.excellent location.romantic atmosphere.what else need couple to enjoy ferfect dinner.the food is prepering in "poyke"(kind of bowel using to cook in s.a )come out tender and tasty..the excelancy of the service show as you need something the nearest waiter to your place will serve you and fulfill your wish.go...not go..run and you will not regrate

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shuki860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Marvelous”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Was recommended by a couple of Foodie friends, so of course, we had to check it out. The food, claimed to be African(South), is actually meat based. We tried several dishes and were very impressed. The meat was cooked to perfection. The several wine choices we made, were very good as well, and even the desert was a treat. Service was very good, and we definitely felt at home. One remark though - we really enjoyed the place, and although the seats are reserved for a specific amount of time, we overstayed, and the staff became quite impatient, until we were moved and eventually forced us out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cybrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place with to sweet food !!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were there during week days, the place was not full, the place is nicely decorated and atmosphere is great. These days they are having coupon promotion so it may be crowded.
The service is very efficient. as for the food, they are using in all meals a kind of slugger which makes all dished to taste as dessert !!! I never been in restaurants in Africa therefore I am wondering if that should be the African cuisine taste. Prices are relatively high.A bit disappointing

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice, I'd go back”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Went on a coupon for tasters menu for two - 5 starters, two main dishes and one desert. All the starters were delicious. Two main dishes were great also, one was a skewer with different meats and the second was meat in a poyke cooked to perfection. Desert was so-so, but we were full. Service was excellent and the ambiance in the restaurant is great too. Their choice of background music was just to my liking. I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dantal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & good food”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I've been to Pokye during the weekend - Saturday noon. The place was not very busy which was good for our purposes.
We had a pre-purchased coupons for a "chef's meal" that includes tasting all sorts of cuisines from a fixed menu.
The food was OK in compare to the coupon price - I would not go there for a FULL price.
Very interesting way of cooking - there's always a scent of natural burn/fire in the food which was great for the adults - kids didn't like that much.
I'd expect a bit larger portions - although it's a "tasting" thing ; you should at least not finish lunch being partially hungry...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poyke also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing