We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location run down hotel”
Review of Granada Hotel

Granada Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Granada Hotel
Ranked #50 of 143 Hotels in Amman
Oslo
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good location run down hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Granada as part of a Gecko/ Discovery tour and I would never have chosen to spend two nights here.

As other travellers have mentioned, the location is good and as a solo female traveller it even feels safe walking home after dinner.

Rooms are gloomy. The first I got was stinking of smoke. When I asked for a non-smoking room they claimed to be fully booked but after my tour guide spoke with them, another room was presented. The door lock on my second room didn't work but at the third try the door could be locked and there was no trails of smoke left (although there is an ashtray on the bedside table). All three rooms I saw were run down and gloomy, so is the stair case and hallways. My shower was a pleasant surprise.

Breakfast was amongst the worse I've had on my 15 day trip in Egypt and Jordan.

If you travel on a tight budget I suppose it's OK, but I would not recommend this to anyone who loves a nice looking room with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
1
3
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here as part of a geckos tour. The rooms were bare bones and the shower leaked but it was bare able. The front desk staff was super nice and even drove me to the hospital and wouldn't accept a tip. The breakfast left something to be desired but I don't enjoy breakfast anyway. One morning the water wouldn't work but by the time we got bck from sightseeing it wa fixed. If you don't mind a one star hotel in a great location this hotel is great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amman hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The rates are conveniently inexpensive.
Granada felt like home. The set up is cozy. The service is friendly, with a hints of warm Arab hospitality.
My rooms were clean and in good condition. Showers spewing hot water and beds comfortable after a long day.
I like most the free Wi-Fi, didn;t have to worry about connecting to friends and family back home and searching the net for maps, places to visit, etc.
Morning breakfasts are an enriching cultural experience! Languages and people from all over. Nice to witness and be a part of.
The hotel is in a PRIME location- 2 minute walk from a main roundabout (ideal for catching yellow taxis) 2 minute walk to historic Rainbow street (cafes, restaurants, book stores, and shopping galore). 10-15 min walk down the hill are the bustling old souk areas - the heart and soul of Amman - a must see.
If you do come by, remember this name: Nadime. Really, write it down. He's the go-to guy. Go to him! Always eager to help and ensure you are comfortable not only within the hotel, but also during your excursions into the city.
peace

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeZund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I was in Amman for only 2 days and i had to finish a lot of work in those days so i was out most of my time but i was satisfied that the location of the hotel was convenient that it was easy for me to come and go to the hotel during the day and do my work. The hotel is surrounded by fancy restaurants and 2 bars where you can combine between both business and leisure. It was comfortable and satisfying.

* Liked — breakfast was good ,clean hotel, good service , great location, wireless internet, kitchenette .
* Disliked — showers are poor, water supply, some disturbing noise form surrounding bars.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack_adams40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here as part of a tour group and it appeared as though we were the lucky ones in the group. Whilst others had a number of complaints about their rooms, our room was small but satisfactory and we slept well. Our shower however flooded and had inconsistent hot water. The walls were paper-thin too! The staff were largely unhelpful but not outright rude. Breakfast is a toaster and bread, but there was a great contemporary restaurant/bar upstairs open for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaxRomanaXVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed in this hotel as part of an Exodus trip and it was very poor. The smell in all the rooms on the second floor was certainly unique - a combination of mothballs and urine.

Shower barely worked and flooded the bathroom as soon as it was turned in. No towels were provided in my room and the sheets on the bed were bloodstained.

Horrible breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crieff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

basic, outdated small room. better bathroom. very unhelpful staff. very basic breakfast. stayed as part of our exodus tour so had no choice. ok if you're on a budget i suppose.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty-allan-crieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Millennium Hotel Amman
0.0 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#9 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#18 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#7 of 143 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel

Property: Granada Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 2321, Amman 11181, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 143 Hotels in Amman
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Granada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Granada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing