We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all, friendly staff”
Review of Normas Hotel

Normas Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Normas Hotel
Ranked #52 of 108 Amman B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2012

In the hearth of the city centre, this hotel offer a good solution for solo travellers or people in couples. the single room are basic, but clean, with ensuite bathroom and satellite tv. The problem is rapresented by the windows: Lot of noise came trough, considering that the DVD shops in the street broadcasting music 24hrs a day, without mentioning the muezzin every morning at 5am (but that's happening everywhere). The person in charge was very kind and he provided any kind of help and information, and he was available (after 9pm) at the reception desk. At daytime other staff barely speak english. Overall, it's more a hostel, even if it's called "Hotel" but the prices are honest.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Normas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel was in a very good location to see the sights of downtown Amman, but the hotel itself it's great. The man at reception spoke very little english. The room and bathroom were very very basic and a bit dirty too. Having said that, it was very cheap to stay in and we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangam00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Central, good price and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Just in the night for sensitive people maybe little loud but the street is there even if you go to other central hotels.
For the price one of the best places in the middle east I have been.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 091312i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Everything you need for a couple of days in Amman! The rooms are basic but clean and contain everything you need - including WIFI! The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. I was sick the first night and i was provided with goats milk, tea, etc. It is located in walking distance to all important sites in downtown Amman and famous restaurants (Hashem). The only downside is the noise from the street and the DVD shops - but maybe there are quieter rooms as well - we don´t know... We can highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I had a fab time staying at Normas Hotel and was very happy with my stay. The hotel was clean and centrally located. There are some renovations in place but none that spoilt my trip. The staff are fantastic and really helped me to make the most of each and every day in Jordan. There is a cafe in the hotel that serves lovely fruit juices, shishas and turkish cafes/teas. I would recommend this hotel for others to stay, if wanting a centrally located hotel that is cheap and cheerful ;0) THANKS to Meghdad and Muath for making my holiday one that i will not forget in a very long time.

Room Tip: stay on the quieter side of the hotel away from the main road
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I basically agree with the other two reviews, set your expectations realistically and you'll find this place very satisfactory for a night or two as you stop through Amman:

The plus point is that it's extremely centrally positioned: right in the beating heart of Amman with all the hustle and bustle that entails. Just opposite is the Hashem street restaurant, selling arguably the best vegetarian food in the Middle East. Two floors below the hotel is a sheesha cafe owned by the same guy, and sitting out on the balcony watching the madness of the driving and street life below will teach you more about this city than any guide book.

The negative point is that it's extremely centrally positioned: there is a busy road on both sides, and the drivers here really love the sound of their horns no matter what the time of day or night. The corner where the hotel is is also home to Amman's pirate CD and DVD merchants, who are keen to promote their wares at high volume all through the night.

The rooms themselves are pretty perfunctory: fairly clean, relatively comfortable, fan and TV as standard. The little en-suite provided hot showers at all times (not that I needed them in June) and the toilet was "western" style, but it's hose rather than paper, as standard in these parts. You're not going to be wowed by the opulent luxury, but you aren't going to be disgusted either. Think something along the lines of a Travelodge in the UK, with less plastic.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful, arranging taxis for me, and giving me a wake up call that was almost on time by Jordanian standards. One warning when you arrive: between the sheesha cafe and the hotel is an unused floor which is currently gutted and being refurbished: this is not the hotel! I had quite a shock climbing the stairs following the sign to "Normas" and chancing upon a building site! Thankfully just another floor up they have finished building and it's relatively clean.

It summary, the Normas is not the Hilton, but it has some vibrancy instead and the positioning is great if you want to experience the real Amman street scene.

Room Tip: There are roads on both sides of the hotel, but the one going up the hill is quieter if you can a ro...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WhiteMonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed at Normas for 3 nights in July and was very pleased. Clean, simple rooms with hot water and a great, helpful staff. Centrally located with a number of great restaurants and sights nearby. As the hotel is positioned on a busy corner it can be a bit noisy at night, however I did not have a problem. More sensitive sleepers may benefit from ear plugs. I definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girouxj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.2 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#22 of 148 in Amman
573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#28 of 148 in Amman
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farah Hotel
Farah Hotel
#42 of 148 in Amman
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#26 of 148 in Amman
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rafi Hotel
Rafi Hotel
#6 of 108 in Amman
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boutique Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normas Hotel

Address: King Faisal Street, Amman, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Amman
Price Range: £13 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Normas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing