We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Organized But Be Warned...”
Review of Petra Nights Tours

Petra Nights Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$127.00*
and up
Private Tour Jerash and Dead Sea with lunch
More Info
US$173.55*
and up
Day Tour to Petra from Amman
More Info
US$188.50*
and up
Day Tour to Petra from Dead Sea with lunch
Ranked #1 of 23 Outdoor Activities in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore with Petra Nights Tours Amman the beauty of Jordan! We offer private and customized tours to Petra, Jerash, Dead Sea and other sites all over the country. Our goal is to provide personal service, give you an insight of Jordan, its people and its history and let you experience local food. Our family business has now 15 years experience in Jordan's tourism industry; we are member of the Jordan Tourism Board and ASTA.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Well Organized But Be Warned...”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our family spent 1 week of touring the beautiful country of Jordan with Petra Nights Tours. It was perfectly arranged and organized. We had contacted the company 2 months prior to our scheduled trip to discuss the details of the tour itinerary. It was easy and the company was very accommodative of our requests, even going through several iterations of the itinerary before finalizing the tour.

On the day of our arrival in Jordan, we were dutifully met by their representative who escorted and assisted us through immigration and helped us with our luggage. We were then introduced to our driver who was with us throughout the entire duration of our tour. The driver was very friendly, professional, spoke excellent English and very accommodative. The minivan was comfortable and clean; with perfect functioning air-conditioning. Our tour included substantial amount of travelling on the road, visiting all the major historical sites including Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum.

Each day we will be driven to the designated site and handed over to a local guide, who took care of us, explaining all the details about the site/area. This was particularly evident in Petra and Wadi Rum since special knowledge of these areas was required in order to be able to explain the intricacies and the history of the site/area. On conclusion of our program for the day, the driver would take us back to our hotel.

Though we had an excellent time going with Petra Nights Tours, we felt that it is important for others who are planning to use the company for their visit to Jordan to understand the nature of how the tour company operates. Even though we were assigned a ‘dedicated’ driver during the entire course of our tour, we soon realized that we were NOT the only customers the driver is handling at any given time. There was at least 1 other group who were sharing the same driver at the same time. We happened to obtain this information by coincidence and by putting the puzzle pieces together.

Now, one must be wondering why this information is important and how it will affect you as a tourist.

Here’s how … On several occasions, our itinerary was changed during the course of our tour. For example, instead of starting early in the morning, it was pushed back to the afternoon; thereby reducing our time in the next destination and vice versa. Also, some sites though not significant; were skipped in order to reduce the travelling time. Of course, the driver never revealed the true reasons as to why the itinerary was changed nor will he take the decision to effect the change. He will however coax you into making the decision by mentioning things such as; there is no scheduled activities happening during that time of the day or it would be better if you start early/later so that there will be less crowd, possible bad weather conditions etc. On hindsight, it was all very cunning maneuvers, cleverly executed; allowing the driver to handle another group of customers who happened to be around the same area/location. We do not blame the driver simply because he has been given strict instructions and orders from the company. It is the people at the company’s operational planning that should be accountable.

However, our main concern was not so much of having to deal with the changes in the itinerary; we were more concern of the driver’s fatigue which could comprise our safety on the road. Fortunately for us, nothing undesirable happened during our trip.

We also suffered the same fate as one of the reviewers whereby the admission to the RACE show at Jerash was cancelled (or unavailable) although we have paid for it and was included in our itinerary; we were never refunded for the tickets.

We are not sure if the other tour companies operate in the same manner and cannot comment on the reasons why such situation occurred. But we felt that Petra Nights Tours should be more considerate when dealing with their customers and not to over commit themselves by taking on more businesses, thereby compromising the safety of their drivers and customers; and jeopardizing the agreed itinerary.

So, if you are planning to use the company for your tour in Jordan, be prepared for any unplanned changes and insist on sticking to the scheduled itinerary, especially if your tour involves substantial amount of road travelling from one place to another. Be sure to ask for any refund from the company for any ‘unused’ tickets or admissions that were included as part of your itinerary.

TIPS: Book your own accommodation, you can get much cheaper rate ...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Real_Maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pntoursjordan, Manager at Petra Nights Tours, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Good day from Amman! We contacted your family by email, but did not receive a reply, so we decided to post our response on TripAdvisor. First of all, we are glad you spent a good time with your family in our country.

Certainly we read the negative aspects you attach to our company, and have to address them more detailed. To focus on the main issue, your assertion, one driver is responsible for several tours at the same time, is without substance. Such a business conduct is impossible, as tours take several hours per day. Your escort did not have any other clients beside your family. Only on 30th March, when you had a totally free day at the Dead Hotel, your escort was assigned for an airport pick up. Your allegation, we are not committed to safety, is counterfactual. Since 1999 we are successful in business, and have certainly no interest to endanger clients and drivers and compromise our reputation we have built and building hard since years. We would appreciate very much, if you shed a light on this issue, as we are still don’t understand what led to this wrong impression.

In addition we are curious to know, which sites had been skipped, because your admission tickets are complete. According to the operation and based on the agreement with your family only on the 2nd April the tour to Wadi Rum started later to give you the opportunity to enjoy after your 4 hours activities the sunset in the desert.

The Roman Army Show did not take place which happened several times this year. Sadly the information about a canceled show is only given on the same day at the Visitor Centre. Due to this problem, we decided not to include the RACE anymore in the itineraries and offer it as an option. It is unfortunate you missed the RACE, but the cancelation is the decision of the show organizers. Regarding the possible refund, your family had been in our accounting department shortly before your departure from Jordan to pay the balance of your holiday. On this occasion you had been asked if everything went well, and this was answered in the affirmative. So there had been a great opportunity to claim the fund directly during the payment. According to our booking conditions we sent to all clients you can claim from our company as follows: If you encounter any problems, you should to try and solve it directly whilst on holiday. If it is not possible to do so please do so in writing within 30 days of completing your Petra Nights Tours arrangements. – Your family did not require any refunds in Jordan and within the one month period we grant.

Summa summarum, we really appreciate if you take the trouble to reply and explain some open questions. Each comment helps us to improve services and the communication with customers. Thank you in advance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    33
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Tour Operater to use in Jordan”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A professional and detailed oriented tour operator in Jordan. It was a very positive experience starting from the planning stage to trip completion.

The trip went smoothly without a hitch. The guides were knowledgeable and passionate in their fields. I have nothing but praise to the team.

I highly recommend them.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank domlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Petra Nights Tours”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

From the moment we step into Jordan till the last minute it was an amazing services, the best agency I've ever experience. Impressive organization and hospitality

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KetelynPaulussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every cent”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My coworker and I were traveling to Jordan on business, but we set aside two days on either side of our meetings for sightseeing. Based on the positive reviews from Trip Advisor, we decided to use this tour operator. The emails exchanged were very professional and we quickly agreed on a price and schedule.
On the first day, our driver, Raed promptly met us in the hotel lobby and our adventure began. We planned to visit the Dead Sea on this day. Raed was nothing but excellent, narrating as we travelled to the Dead Sea area. He stopped at several points of interest for us to take pictures. We always felt well taken care of. On our way back, he even stopped for us to get a camel ride.
On the second day, we visited Petra. Raed again drove us and for the 3 hour trip, we discussed many things about life in Jordan etc; such that the time passed very fast. Our guide met us at the gates to Petra and he also was very efficient. He took us on several hidden paths to vantage points where the mass of other visitors were not present. He provided a good history of the entire area. Our only wish was that we had more time to spend in Petra.
After Petra, Raed then organized a visit for us to experience a Turkish Bath. This was very welcome after the hot and dusty exploration of Petra. After, we visited a local restaurant to sample local dishes (including delicious cups of local Arabic coffee), with Raed explaining the unfamiliar dishes. He delivered us to our hotels at the end, safe and sound; definitely a friend for life.
I will definitely utilize this outfit if (or when) I visit Jordan in the future and will definitely ask for Raed again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RandySant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tour operator I have used so far in my travels.”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Starting from the reservation done by internet with mr. Mohammad Al Masadeh (really a high professional and capable organizer), we proposed what we would love to do in jordan and in less than 3 hours, he replied with the program of our trip, then we did the payment by credit card without any problem (so in less than 4 hours, we did all). So we reached Amman and the staff of Petra Nights Tours received us to the airport and from that point until the end they cuddle us during all trip.
Mr. Samir Afifi was our driver for all period and we must admit apart his huge professionality that cannot be discussed, his is really a great person, he isn't just a driver but a sharp and wise mind to discuss about everything, and his manners and experiences has helped us not only to see jordan and its sights at its best but to understand the beduine culture and the people of jordan. When we will go again to jordan, we will strongly fight to have him again with us.
We have to thanks so much also our guide in Petra, Mr. Ali (extremely prepared and speaking a perfect english) because he proposed us to visit Petra at 7 am in the morning and we tought that he was crazy..... but we did the visit anyway at that time, then we understood why... we were the only one to be in the canyon reaching Petra so we could really enjoy the real beatuy of all the sight, because if you go just one hour later you fight with thousands noisy turists.
We booked all 5* hotels (and they choose them strategicly in Petra and Dead Sea in the best places available) with really resonable price, but you can simply ask the level of the travel you want afford and for sure they will do the best to give you the vacation following your budget.
It is an absolute certainty that we will be using Petra Night Tours again not only to go in jordan, because they can organize also in other countries and I strongly recommed them to everyone, because in this days is really difficult to find a such high level of services provvided by the all staff of Petra Night Tours without been cheated.
Thank again for all by Alex and Barbara.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petra Nights Tours also viewed

 

Been to Petra Nights Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing