We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THE GIFT SHOP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
Ranked #4 of 143 Hotels in Amman
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AVOID THE GIFT SHOP!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is my second trip to Amman and my second time at this hotel. I stay here for almost 2 weeks each time and the hotel becomes like home base. Overall, the experience is enjoyable. My room is always very comfortable and kept very clean. The beds and linens and pillows are terrific and I always sleep well. The food is more than adequate and the breakfast buffet is delicious. Staff is accommodating and helpful.
BUT AVOID THE GIFT SHOP!!! While the shop has some very lovely items in it, and things I would have absolutely purchased, the man who is now running the shop (apparently he is new) makes for a very unpleasant experience. He is extremely pushy and no price is what it seems. He is always saying "I will give this to you for a discount - don't pay this - you can pay something different." This is not a shop in a souk or street bazaar. The result is that I feel uncomfortable purchasing ANYTHING because I simply cannot trust this man. And it is a shame because, as I said, there is much that I would have bought. The hotel management should absolutely address this. In fact, other guests were speaking about it as well in one of the hotel lounges.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    215
    77
    26
    13
See reviews for
62
88
76
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week. The hotel itself seems a bit outdated and I know they just renovated and are in the process of renovating. I really liked the staff--they went over the top to always help me--when I was sick, problems with taxis , problems in my room. It's in a great location--try to get local taxis as the taxis parked at the hotel are quite high. The staff at Cafe Vienna were excellent--especially the manager who always took care of me.

Room Tip: Pick the end rooms--I think they are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The room was nice and comfortable. All the furniture was in good condition and there was a nice working table. The breakfast was very rich and nice. There was a great choice of hot and cold dishes. I was in the V lounge for a dinner at the last evening and it was nice too. I appreciated to have a free drinking water in a room. This was great. The free internet connection (cable connection was a bit better than WiFi) was working quite good with seldom interruptions. I liked that I could open a window and it was possible to switch off air-conditioning.

I had to cancel the last night and I did it late in the last evening. But it was possible and I did not had to pay for it. The staff was helpful on this.

I liked the gym and saunas. The problem was that you had to have sport shoes in the gym. I forgot to take them with me. It was not a problem during the first visit, but I was asked to leave the gym in a second visit because I did not had a sport shoes. It was not nice.

I was leaving the hotel early at 5.00 in the morning. I ordered to have a breakfast box with me because of the early leaving. I thought it will be for free because the breakfast was already paid. But they charged me for the box, because I was not specific that I want to have my breakfast earlier. This was not nice.

And I hate when somebody from the staff tries to take my bag. Come on, I can handle it. I am not so old yet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mārtiņš L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Consistently good hotels, but not exciting.
Travelled there with Saga on a family holiday. Breakfast was first class, but a meal was left in my room for my arrival with cold chips and uncovered sandwiches.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Millah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Millah A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay more successful, please don't hesitate to as a member of our staff.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here. The room was very nice, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly (Dema at the Club Lounge service desk went way out of her way to help us and is to be commended). You have to go thru a screening before entering for safety reasons. But this is not an issue as it ensures safety for all. Breakfast was very good, especially the arabic breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
376 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night at the Crowne Plaza hotel Amman in a standard room which was well appointed and recently renovated. The bedding is very good although I found the bathroom towels to be thin and fraying. There is no walk-in shower but the hand shower in thr bath tub was good. The view I had was overlooking a roof! The staff was overall very kind and helpful. The buffet breakfast in the morning festures a wide selection including an omelette station.
All in all a good stay in a good hotel with a good location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I recently had the privilege to stay at this hotel for a week in November, my stay was very enjoyable. Staff were very pleasant and attentive, room service was quick and the food was great. Décor in the room was very nice.
The V Lounge was my drinking hole after I finished work for the day, bar staff were very great and the food was good except the steak was not up to standard for me. The ribs are too die for! Do not miss their breakfast, I have rarely seen a hotel morning meal this good, what a great start to the day.
I gave this hotel 4 out of 5 only because the hotel was being renovated and it did cause a few disruptions to me. But in all I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, great job to the hotel staff and management.

Room Tip: Renovation noise is only during the day, so as long as you are at work during the day you will be fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathein O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Amman
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#7 of 143 in Amman
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
2.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#10 of 143 in Amman
1,018 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#11 of 143 in Amman
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
Address: King Faisal Bin Abdul Aziz | 6th Circle, Amman 11195, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#4 Spa Hotel in Amman
#6 Business Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class service in a state-of-the-art hotel in Jordan's thriving capital. Overlooking the white city of Amman, the stunningly situated Crowne Plaza Amman hotel is an acclaimed destination for business trips and family visits to Jordan. Our prestigious location in the 6th Circle places you close to corporations and trendy mall, and just 10 minutes from Amman's Citadel, Roman Theater and Souq Zara. We are the closest 5-star hotel to Queen Alia International Airport, 35 minutes away. The hotel offers event and wedding facilities unrivaled in Amman, from graceful Nabatean Ballroom to the innovative Royal Tent marquee. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi with one of the highest speed internet access in town, a 24-hour Business Center and a staff that prides itself on anticipating guests' needs, you can expect a business experience that is seamless and stress free. Take a leisurely swim in our totally new heated outdoor hydro-pool during summer season or enjoy winter activity in our heated indoor pool during winter (age 16 and above). Re-energize in The Spa with its saunas, steam baths or with a massage and beauty treatment in one of 12 exclusive cabins. Watch the world go by over coffee and shisha in street side Café Vienna. The juiciest steaks in town await in V Lounge & Restaurant. The best views and Syrian cuisine are in rooftop Al Halaby. Explore Jordan with the help of our Concierge. Whether you visit Petra, Jerash or the Dead Sea, you can be sure of a warm welcome on your return to the Crowne Plaza Amman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, IHG, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amman
Amman Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing