We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AlQasr Metropole Hotel
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Adequately furnished and spacious rooms with a separate bed for our young son. Very good décor in reception and lobby areas. Friendly staff. All this made for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay in Al Qasr!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhuvana1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very nice hotel, close to the main attractions in Amman. Nice to walk around, lots of options for restaurants, a good supermarket with a wide selection of fruits, the best shop for sweets in town.
Room well equipped, good WiFi, nice amenities in bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariseCaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a private tour of Jordan. I think we received an upgraded room (we were on floor 5), which was much appreciated, as we had tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. We were very happy with everything the hotel had to offer, from the room to the staff to the breakfast. After reading some reviews before we came, I was a bit worried about what the hotel would be like, but we were more than satisfied with our stay. The only disadvantage was that there wasn't much around in terms of having an interesting walk. We ate in the ground floor restaurant the first night, which was fine, and as we had very large late lunches the next two days, didn't need an evening meal. Our driver had pointed out some restaurants, but they seemed to be a long way from the hotel and as it was both dark and wet, we didn't feel like venturing too far. There was a small supermarket close by, where we bought some water and snacks very cheaply.
Our stay was comfortable, we were happy with our room, and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay, but if we were to visit Amman again, we would likely look for a hotel closer to the downtown area where we could wander in the evenings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonlady2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel fell down in a number of respects, but the management seemed to be trying hard to improve. There is a grand entrance hall - lots of marble etc - but the room was minute - double bed hard against the wall on one side (so no reading light), the safe was not fixed to anything, the bell hop explained none of the facilities, the staff in the two restaurants we ate in were casual, and in the case of the rooftop restaurant staff it was overpriced. I have no idea how they justify their website description of "boutique" - this seemed like a run of the mill hotel. However, my feedback was treated very seriously by the manager who spoke to me personally about it, and seemed genuinely to want to know what improvements could be made.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dk2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here for 1 night (5th floor) and then 6 nights (3rd floor) over a business trip in November.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with many healthy options such as yogurt, nuts, fruit, vegetables, and beans (and I did not experience any issues from eating the raw vegetables or fruit). I also was very impressed with a room service tuna melt and enjoyed having access to Vinaigrette restaurant on the top floor. The nearby supermarket Spinney's was also convenient for picking up fruit and water.

The staff were courteous and friendly. Maya at the front desk was particularly helpful when I had questions.

I appreciated the reliable wifi, laundry drying line, quiet room, and access to the Jordan Times. Taxi drivers had no problem locating the hotel, which was nice (and there often were taxis waiting outside). Due to work schedule, I did not have time to explore the rest of the neighborhood or nearby gym.

Notes:
-If you have an early morning flight out, you can request a half-day rate if you wish to keep your room until 6 pm.
-Room layouts vary so you may want to look at several rooms if you are staying for a long period.
-The safe in the first room I had was smaller than that in the second room, so if you need a larger safe, you may be able to request one.
-A number of international development workers seem to stay here, which makes for interesting breakfast conversation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basil f, Manager at AlQasr Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear E S,

Thank you for your review and for choosing and recommending AlQasr Metropole Hotel.

Our team is working hard to meet and exceed guest expectations and appreciate the positive points you made. The comments you made give us confidence that we are on the right track.

Hope to be able to serve you soon.

Best Regards

Basil Fakes
Hotel Manager
AlQasr Metropole Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Pros:
Best breakfast I had in all of Jordan.
Free wifi
Decent size room, though a little old.
Helpful staff
Supermarket within 1 block
20+ restaurants a few blocks away.
Some nice sweet shops nearby.

Cons:
Rooms a little old
Area is kind of residential, so not much to see around.,
Street side rooms a little noisy.
Air Con doesn't work in the winter, no matter what the outside temp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basil f, Manager at AlQasr Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear "jcb193",

Thank you for the review and for choosing AlQasr Metropole Hotel for your stay in Amman Jordan.

We pride ourselves in being the top 4star hotel in Jordan and work hard to maintain the quality of our product and service.

In regards to your comments about our rooms, we are currently in the beginning phase of a full hotel floor renovation to get the rooms up to date with the present trend; With emphasis on the business traveler.

As for the AC, we have a period during the change of season, where we may get hot days and other cold days within the same week, and since our AC system is central we need to choose one or the other. Unfortunately this may be inconvenient at times when the weather warms up and the system is switched to heat as we cannot change it that easily from one to the other.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and services and hope to welcome you again at AlQasr.

Basil Fakes
Hotel Manger
AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I was in Amman for work from 3th to 5 of november and my company use to book this hotel for his delegate.
The hotel looks nice and trendy, but the experience at the end was awful.
If you are unlucky to get a room on the right side of the corridor you will never sleep: 24h per day, there is an incredible noise from the external air conditioning...it seems like you are near by an airplane at all the time. And if you don't turn on the air conditioner you will be freezed (I took a bad flue there).
Also breakfast it's not so nice and tasty: you have also to pay for espresso.
Next time I will tell to my company to change hotel. I really trust TripAdvisor but this is the first time that an hotel with tripadvisor emblem wasn't good.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the left hand of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommasoRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basil f, Manager at AlQasr Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear TommasoRM,
Thank you for your review posted on November 7th 2013.
It is concerning to us to read such comments from our guests and would like to know more about your experience and how we can make it better for you next time and for our other guests.(if you let us).
We do have some rooms that may have external sounds coming from the kitchen hoods, in particular 2 rooms on the backside of the 6th floor. The hoods though are turned off between 11pm and 9 am. so it does surprise us you mention 24hours a day.
On the other hand we did not understand your comment regarding the Air conditioning, as it is functional and when you turn it on you would get colder air. It is time of change to winter and thus the season for flu, we are sorry you got it.

In regards to the breakfast we try to have a large variety of breakfast items on the morning buffet, combining western food and local items. As for the espresso issue, we offer filter coffee and tea as part of the breakfast buffet, as I believe is the practice in most of the hotels I know. We cannot provide each guest with his preference, as this is time consuming and will create delay in service.

Please let us know what you suggest to have on the breakfast buffet in order to upgrade it to a level where we can please you and the rest of the guests at our hotel.

We would like to thank you again for pointing out your dismay at our hotel. We apologize for the experience you had and hope you would give us a chance to make it up on your next visit.

Best Regards
Basil Fakes
Hotel Manager
AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 150 in Amman
1,260 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#3 of 150 in Amman
301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 150 in Amman
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Amman International Hotel
2.3 mi away
ibis Amman
ibis Amman
#18 of 150 in Amman
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlQasr Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Address: Al Oroub St. 4 | Shmeisani, Amman 11110, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amman
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range: £92 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AlQasr Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlQasr Metropole Hotel is a charming four-star boutique hotel with 66 rooms that are completely smoke-free and a breathtaking view of the capital Amman. AlQasr Metropole boasts its dedication to provide services that are not only personable but also provide affordable 5 star hotel services. The hotel is notorious for its great outlets, which are considered to be Jordan's most popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your AlQasr Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Amman
Amman Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing