We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay, massive room, maybe a little pricey”
Review of Grand Palace Amman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palace Amman
Ranked #47 of 145 Hotels in Amman
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay, massive room, maybe a little pricey”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We staid at the Grand Palace for one night only, on our arrival in Jordan and before setting off on a tour of the country.
The hotel is about 40 minutes drive from the airport, but bear in mind that traffic at peak hour can be manic.
The hotel is nice and spacious, we were welcomed by the very smiley staff and swiftly checked in.
Our room on the 4th floor was absolutely huge, one of the biggest I've ever seen.
Decor was perhaps a little '80s, but all very nice and tasteful and in good condition.
Lovely spacious bathroom with lots of toiletries. And complimentary bottles of water too, together with coffee and tea-making facilities.

The hotel offers WiFi, which is very fast but a little too pricey at 10 dinar for a day. A 4 star really ought to offer this service for free.
We had dinner at the buffet restaurant, which had a decent variety, something for everyone, though again not 4 star quality I think.
Breakfast in the morning was much nicer, with a big variety of everything.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay, but perhaps they should consider making the WiFi complimentary and improve the food quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    110
    126
    30
    11
See reviews for
39
96
29
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel was chosen because it was 5 minutes away from an event I was attending for work. The last time I stayed in Amman I was dissapointed so I was hoping for a better experience at this hotel.

Whilst the decor and the rooms are a bit old and dated, they are very comfortable and a nice size. The rooms were not serviced very well - the minibar was not replenished, the toiletries didn't include shower gel/body wash, conditioner, or body lotion. The towels were not replaced either. So this was dissapointing.

However, the room service food was great and always very timely. The staff on the front desk were very knowledgable and were able to advise me about distances and how much to expect a taxi to charge me for a journey. They also gave me a free 7 day internet password which saved me 50JD.

So all in all, if you want outright luxury, this isn't your place, but if you want somewhere comfortable with genuinely friendly staff, then give this place a go.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briangreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Rooms on the smaller side, but quite comfortable. Problem in March was the ventilation: no AC was switched on, and rooms were very hot.
The wifi functioned well, and the bread selection and quality is worth to mention for the breakfast. max 10 minutes by shuttle to the airport.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for several nights in February 2013, as part of a group. The hotel accommodations are pleasant. The rooms are decent-sized, with well appointed baths. The European plan meals in the dining room are fine, if not elegant. Wi-fi is fast, but but wasn't included in our room rate, but was a bit pricey. Service is cordial and efficient. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors are better, but the neighborhood is not noisy, so any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrumpetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel was a decent one included on my 9 day tour of Jordan.
The staff was pretty good, they were able to answer all of my questions.
The room itself was alright, a little bit shabby and in need of some upgrading, and re-decorating.
It wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but not the worst either.
There isn't much around the hotel itself to go and do or see, I would consider it a good stopover hotel and that's about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plavaseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I found it difficult to rate this hotel. There was nothing wrong with it: the rooms were comfortable and clean and the bathroom was quite nice. It was located just a short walk away from shops and some small local restaurants. However, there was nothing really great about it either: the decor was a bit old and outdated and the breakfast was pretty uninspiring with stale bread and a selection of various hot and cold dishes that didn't look very appetising. Overall it was a fine place to come back to each evening after a full day of sightseeing but not somewhere I would want to spend a long time at.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on the first and last night in Amaan. Generally speaking it was of average standard. The room was clean and the hot water supply was adequate. It was a bit noisy as it was on the main road. The nearest shops will be about 20 minutes walk. Nothing special could be mentioned about breakfast but the last night we had fairly tasty food. The first night we stayed it was Christmas day and we were arranged to have the dinner in the restaurant of Regency Palace, the 5 stars hotel next door. The food was not as good. One could use the swimming pool and gym of Regency Palace. The swimming pool is on the top floor and has a good view of the city but the water was rather hot. I could only swam in it for 10 minutes. The service was obviously much better there than Grand Palace.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wun Tong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.0 mi away
Regency Palace Amman
Regency Palace Amman
#42 of 145 in Amman
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corp Amman Hotel
Corp Amman Hotel
#19 of 145 in Amman
338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 145 in Amman
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BelleVue Hotel
BelleVue Hotel
#45 of 145 in Amman
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amman West Hotel
Amman West Hotel
#76 of 145 in Amman
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 145 in Amman
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Amman

Property: Grand Palace Amman
Address: Queen Alya Street and Sport, Amman 11192, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palace Amman 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palace Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Grand Palace Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Amman
Amman Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing