We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old But Very good!”
Review of Grand Palace Amman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palace Amman
Ranked #47 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old But Very good!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Rooms are big and very comfortable clean and not noisy. Perfect matresses.
Breakfast and dinner were excellent and the staff there can't do more for you.
If we ever come back to Amman will defenetly stay there.

Tip: Take taxis to go everywhere, they are cheap ( in my opinion) but don't forget to tell them to put the meter on!!!!
Tip: We were on a tour all around Jordania and visited many places. Don't buy SOUVENIRS in every place you stop, go to Mecca Mall in Amman ( 2,00JOD AND 5 minutes from the hotel in taxi ) there's souvenir store there that has everything with a 70% discount. I think the name of that store is Afghan ali...
Enjoy it!
Shukran ( thank you)

Room Tip: Choose "school-side" it is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    110
    126
    30
    11
See reviews for
39
96
29
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

You don't have a choice if you are with a Tour Group (except to pay more for the whole tour). Look, it's not that bad but it's no better than adequate. Staff are friendly and helpful, food is so-so, and the mattresses leave a lot to be desired. However we found the rooms to be clean and large.
BTW it's licensed but drinks are a bit expensive.
If you feel like treating yourself, go next door to the Regent Palace 5*

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, the front rooms are on the main street and the traffic noise goes all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amman hotels

Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed a total 3 nites, via a tour arrangement. Given it was first nite of 23 nites it was so disappointing. The bed, sheeting, cleanliness, restaurant food was all very disappointing. Smoking prevails & dirty ashtrays outside the lifts & In foyers was sad. Really bad mattresses, sloping to the floor. Terrible views. Depressing hotel. Nice gift/jewellery shop in foyer, lovely lady.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamjuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and it was much better than we expected. We had paid for the buffet meals so there wasn't much point in venturing outside to see what other cafes etc were available. The rooms were large with the added bonus of coffee making facilities. The buffet was okay, service in the restaurant was good though. Yes a little updating wouldn't go amiss but overall it was a good start to our stay in Jordan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Executive Summary: Skip this joint and go next door to the Regency.

Had we not been here with a group, and just for the night, I would have walked straight out when I saw the room and gone somewhere else. We almost did that anyway when we walked next door to the Regency to eat at Trader Vic's, but for the amount of time we were staying, it was not worth making a fuss.

The room size was OK and it faced an abandoned construction site, so it was reasonably quiet. Everything in the room appeared to have been purchased at a yard sale from the retreating Roman Army. The bathroom was bit newer, but still very sketchy.

The service was pretty much nonexistent. We called downstairs to ask for a WIFI login ($15 for ONE DEVICE) and were told that it would be dispatched to our room right away. 30 minutes later, my spouse went downstairs and they looked like they had never heard of our request. She came back with a double sealed envelope better suited to nuclear launch codes than Wifi Login credentials. The login system was pretty primitive and there was no way to log off once you have logged in, so the first device you used to log in was going to be the only device that would work on that connection.

The food experience was even worse. Our group had purchased the buffet dinner for all of us. We walked in, took one look at the buffet, and walked straight out. Since we did not want to go wandering around Amman at night, we just went next door to Trader Vics, which was acceptable. The buffet was our only option for breakfast and neither the food, nor the service, had improved by the overnight closure.

The cherry on top of the crappy service sundae was when we hired one of the hotel cars to take us to the nearest Starbucks. I had already located the store on a map and gotten the address. Despite all this information, the driver went to an entirely different part of the city, proceeded to ask several people who had never heard of Starbucks, and generally wasted our time to the tune of $30 dollars. Naturally, as we are driving out of town on the group's bus, we pass by the Starbucks we were looking for, which was located nowhere near where the hotel driver had taken us.

What was really shocking about this place was that, if the posted prices are to be believed, this place is not even that cheap.

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else, start by checking next door at the Regency, which judging by the lobby is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexFugit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Was on a tour so my hotel was picked for me- this was not a great hotel-

Rooms- old no wifi not pleasant and everything smelled like cigarettes

Common areas - 1/2 remodeled half old as Petra CIGARETTE SMOKE EVERYWHERE

Food- pretty yucky

Would not recommend or obviously go back-

We almost checked out and checked in next door- but it was only one night....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venusbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is a four star place in the neighborhood of many other big hotels (Marriot, Le Meridien etc) so one would expect certain services to be provided in the area. However, the major problem in there is that the choice of restaurants, cafes, food courts, food shops within the walking distance is very limited indeed. One has to know where to go and take a taxi to everywhere (not a major expense, really, but a hassle), unless one likes a Pizza Hut (Did I need to travel to Jordan to eat there?). OK, there is the hotel restarurant and in the complex also the famous Trader Vic's, a Polynesian restaurant specializing in creole food and featuring a live salsa band plus tango night on Mondays. Hmm, interesting concept!

Having said that, and Amman being the kind it is (large and wide!), I haven't got a clue where the hotel should be located to be in a perfect location.

The hotel itself does not look like much from the outside, a typical cement block, and the rooms are very generic. This could be anywhere in the world. Sure they are clean and comfortable enough but lack all charm one could imagine in a nice Middle East hotel. The service is attentive and the staff is friendly, no problems there. All in all this is a decent enough tourist place but a grand palace it is not (then again, does someone expect that?).

Room Tip: There is one of the main streets just outside the hotel so the noise level on the street side can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.0 mi away
Regency Palace Amman
Regency Palace Amman
#42 of 145 in Amman
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corp Amman Hotel
Corp Amman Hotel
#20 of 145 in Amman
338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 145 in Amman
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BelleVue Hotel
BelleVue Hotel
#44 of 145 in Amman
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amman West Hotel
Amman West Hotel
#76 of 145 in Amman
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#6 of 145 in Amman
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Amman

Property: Grand Palace Amman
Address: Queen Alya Street and Sport, Amman 11192, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palace Amman 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palace Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Grand Palace Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Amman
Amman Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing