We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

Large hotel in the business district of Amman. Rooms decent size and comfortably furnished without being spectacular, bathrooms clean and well equipped – basically what you’d expect from a quality business hotel. There are 3 restaurants, we sampled the Italian – food good but felt very formal and was very expensive – and the Kempi which is ‘international buffet’ and disappointing. We ate out one night and would definitely recommend that for both price and authenticity. ‘Spa’ is a small steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi. There is also a well equipped gym. Pool looked nice though closed for a refurb when we were there in late March. Reception very helpful in organising taxis and so on.

Plus points
- Breakfast buffet was excellent – good choice and quality, friendly and attentive staff
- Free internet access via the TV
- Bottled water provided free each day

Negatives
- Not in a great area if you’re a tourist. You need to get a taxi to downtown.
- Air conditioning not great – ours seemed to keep pumping out warm air even after a maintenance mad came for a look
- Kempi restaurant – buffet – don’t leave it too late as they don’t seem to replenish the food.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiMacEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    271
    144
    50
    24
See reviews for
99
179
56
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We stayed 2 weeks in Jordan and 3 nights at Kempinski - Amman. The hotel is overall very good, comfortable, well furnished and a good buffet. If I have one negative comment it is the service in the breakfast and dinner room. It’s really bad! They are willing to do it good but the personal has got no training and the have no qualified supervisor. It ends up the table are not cleaned up, the personal is running over the place 10 time more than need and you have to ask 10 time for a napkin!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longmorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

Amman was a difficult spot to find a decently priced hotel without giving up hotel comforts. We found the hotels in Amman to be quite pricey. We did find a good price through a hotel discount search engine for the Kempinski, and we were pleased with the price we paid.

The hotel is centrally located, secure and is only a few years old. When checking in we were placed on the 8th floor, 'the Executive Floor'. A little misleading because our room was very small. However, the room was nicely appointed and clean and given how small it was, actually well laid out for placement of suitcases, desk, TV, etc. Other than it being small, I cannot complain about the room. It was a quiet hotel.

We never ate any dinners at the hotel as there are too many choices in Amman. Breakfast is just o.k. and this mediocore comment may be in part to the poor service in the restaurant. In fact the first morning we walked in to have breakfast and went to sit down at a pleasant, 'clean' table for 2 against the windows and the waiter told us we could not sit there?? We were escorted to dirty tables that took up half the restaurant. It was apparent that a large group had herded through the restaurant leaving a wake of uncleanly destruction. The waiter didn't even bother to actually seat us, so we walked up to the table looked at each other and said forget it and walked out. The 2nd morning we were at least seated at a clean table in a clean area but the staff in the restaurant are not trained. There are plenty of managers standing at the entrance in suits looking around being important but the actual staff is minimal and really don't seem to want to be there or serve.

Another tip, don't use the hotel taxi as they charge significantly more than if you walk out into the street and hail your own cab.

If I could find a good price at another hotel, I would probably consider a change. However that does not mean that I wouldn't stay at the Kempinski again if I needed a room and wasn't looking for much more. Would I recommend this hotel, yes, but just know that the restaurant isn't the best and you may have a small room.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

I stayed here one night for business. The entrance is confusing to find, and the front door is confusing also, with security and bizarre sliding glass doors. Inside the young man at the reception was very friendly and helpful. We were served a greeting coffee as is the Arab hospitality tradition. The glass elevators were nice, but noisy, as my room was right by the elevators. Room was clean, and comfortable, but really nothing special. Big surcharge for internet usage. Found a piece of stone in my omelette at breakfast the next morning - nearly broke a tooth. Guys who delivered bags to and from rooms were really aggressive - have a tip ready! I may or may not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VAbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselman, Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Stayed in Kempinski while in Amman. Hotel was very safe, very good quality and would stay there again.

Lobby is small, but room are very modern, free internet access, and met my expectation for the price I paid.

ATM machines as well as a few fast-food places (KFC and Burger King) near hotel.

Service at the bar is a bit slow and lack choices, but minor detail. Ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast and dinner and even if I'm a fussy North American, I was pleased. Above average for both Jordan and Israel.

Hotel arranged for taxi to drive us to Petra - his name Arafat. Very reliable. He dropped us in Petra and came back to pick us up and bring us back to Kempinski.

All in all. This is a very good hotel for both business and tourism.

  • Liked — Quality of Hotel
  • Disliked — A bit expensive
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank G R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

Well i guess i have something in common in regards to the 2 articles about the "rude GM" at Kempinski Shemeisani Amman. I have just been transferred to Amman and replacing my predessor who always spoke about this hotel and teh staffs. Well i am staying in the hotel for 3 weeks now waiting for my house to be ready. Apparently things were quite good in the beginning but later on i either kept seeing new faces or "no staffs" at all. I guess people are horrified to work with this Mr Peter Nast.
On one occasion i was sitting by the pool terrace with my legs stretched on the low wooden tables but he came to me and told me to remove my leg! Well i am the CEO of a huge company here and staying in the hotel for 3 weeks and i get treated like this??
Without any hesitation i removed my legs as he gave me a funny look and then i proceeded to my room. The sad part is i am a German and this kind of behaviour is not in my nature.

Kempinski is a German company and they have several good hotels but this is not a Kempinski at all! When i came here in June for a meeting with my predessesor i also stayed here but it was different. There was a good GM at that time, I can't remember his name but i think he is German. Also where is Mr Abdul? Where is all the good people?

  • Liked — The access to the club floor
  • Disliked — the air cond
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ulrichHeinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

I would like to say that i have similar experience with Egypt Ferrari about the General Manager but only in a different scenario.

About 2 weeks ago i walked into the Executive Office to see the GM on a couple of issues. When i arrived at the glass door at -2 level i was greeted by a very young lady who told me to wait while she checked.

All of a sudden a German gentleman by the name of Peter Nast entered the office and walked in straight. This young lady followed him to check and apprently he said that he was not free to see anyone. What troubled me was the fact that he walked passed me without saying a word and he knew that i was waiting to see him and yet declined. He is certainly rude and things highly of himself.

I cannot imagine staying at this hotel again!

  • Liked — It was spacious
  • Disliked — felt like there was someone else in the room.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luxury_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Amman
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#11 of 142 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#9 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Amman

Property: Kempinski Hotel Amman
Address: Abdul Hamid Shouman St / Shmeisani | P.O. Box 941045, Amman, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amman
#8 Spa Hotel in Amman
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#14 Business Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Amman embraces luxurious 278 rooms and suites; delicately refined to liberate your senses. The breathtaking view from all rooms, the contemporary design and features add a magical touch to your visit and a sense of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amman Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing