We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as described in the Lonley Planet guide but ok”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Amman
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Located in central Amman, this hotel is within walking distance to eateries, markets, ATMs, money exchange facilities, mosques and attractions. Walking up the steps to the reception located on level 2, the pink walls, yellow lighting and gaudy plastered archway reminded me of a chinese restaurant. Beware that smoking in doors is widely accepted in Jordan so the common area/breakfast room, reception and landings all smell of smoke. We checked into a triple room and were able to negotiate the 40 dinar rate to 35 per night. Room 408 was on the 4th floor (but labelled as level 3 in the elevator) and looked out on to the busy city below. The room itself was very tired looking but was clean and welcoming. There were 3 single beds made up with a throw, blanket and flat sheet. There was a 12 inch colour tv with a set top box on a long dresser which we didnt use. Our room also had airconditioning which we also didn't use since there were always refreshing breezes from our 1x2 metre balcony. The bathroom had a toilet, bidet, shower with curtain, sink and vanity. The bathroom is in desperate need of a refurbishment and is so small that it is impossible for one person to use it with the door ajar. We stayed for 2 nights and all had a very comfortable sleep. On the first night the power went out from 9pm-12am which meant no tv, aircon, lighting, power to charge our phones/camera or hot water. When I asked if we were eligible for any special considerations or discounts, I was told that it was the power company's fault and that 6 buildings on the block were also out of power despite us being able too see the exterior lights on during the outage. Reception staff were very friendly and professional, writing directions in Arabic for taxi drivers and suggesting fair prices to pay for trips. We went on a day tour organised by the hotel to the Dead Sea (inc stops to St Georges Church & Mt Nebo), which cost 16 dinar pp which did not include engtance fees. In hindsight this is quite expensive, but since it was only a small group of 4, it allowed for more flexibility. Overall I'd say this is a good place for a budget traveller looking for cheap accomodation in the heart if the city. PROS: location & staff. CONS: bathroom, dated interior & meager breakfast.

Room Tip: The price is negotiable, don't be afraid to haggle. The double room we saw looked small and boxy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thaouyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Well, where shall I start.

The negative :

Smokey reception (all budget hotels suffer from this in Amman)
Old and basic shared bathrooms
Not the cleanest of rooms
Small bed and wore out bedspreads

Positive :

Cheapest place around
Staff that really look after you
Free internet and Wi-Fi
Best central location
Tours and free lift to Madabar
Popular backpackers hangout
Decent breakfast continental style

OK this is not a Palace in my books and the bathrooms and rooms could do with a update. But for backpacker or budget hotel this place cannot be beaten

The Palace really grows on you, but don't expect luxury

Room Tip: Take advantage of their free lift to Madabar and the sister hotel Phoenix Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinryder1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The reception staff were amazing and friendly but the room services and the breakfast are poor
my shower was broken and shabby , Uncomfortable bed , dirty rooms .
I stayed for one night then I moved to another hotel in Abdali , it was really good hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Amman is awful, a horrendous that is home to some of the most dishonest people on the planet.
EVERY ONE in Amman that you encounter will try and scam the life out of you, they would take your last breath and then kick you for more. That vein of dishonesty runs through the whole country and if you are unlucky enough to end up in Jordan then first of all slap whoever's idea it was, secondly look to get out asap.

This hotel is actually a good place of solstice, not the cleanest place but home to some of the only genuine and friendly people you will meet in Jordan. Free wifi and a the snidest breakfast you will probably ever eat. But comfortable and with satellite TV nonetheless.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank stu.bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights in July 2011 while I sorted out more permanent accommodation in Amman.
 
I booked a private twin room online with an airport pickup as I was arriving late. The cost for the pickup is about 17JD, which is similar to what you'd pay for a "walk in rate" but it helps if you are arriving in a strange city late and most drivers don't know where the hotel is.
 
When I arrived the reception staff told me that they had over booked my room for that evening, so I was put into a twin with a shared bathroom. The next day I was moved into my private room. While the hotel itself is fine for the price, with exceptionally friendly staff; always willing to help with directions and recommendations, the rooms are not really up to scratch. If you are to stay here, I’d recommend getting the shared rooms as the facilities in the private rooms are not worth the extra. The AC in my room did not work, the TV signal intermittent and the bathroom cramped. The shared room on the lower floor had a large balcony and was actually cooler than the more expensive private room, given the AC was broken (even after complaints). The wifi was free and reasonably quick for the region.
 
The breakfast was adequate, a hardboiled egg, bread, jam, cheese and a coffee. The downtown location is excellent with the King Hussein Mosque (the main mosque in Amman) just a hundred metres away. The citadel and amphitheatre are within walking distance too (15-20 mins) as is Hashem, and several other good restaurants.
 
All in all, sufficient for the price if you don't opt for the "premium" rooms

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Likes: Huge room (triple room), good shower/bathroom, common area is cosy with couches, really good breakfast (included), free internet

Dislikes: roadworks made it very noisy all night and had a bad sleep, hotel arranged transfer to Syria was a bit dodgy, made us change cars and wouldn't take us to the hotel in Damascus but gave us money for taxi after we got angry

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailandcraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

this hotel is very good overall for the price; very centrally located in amman, close to the citadel, the roman theater and restaurants

dont miss going to hachem restaurant if you stay here

this hotel may not be for you if you have a car, parking is difficult and getting in/out the downtown area is a bit difficult

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bratzve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.1 mi away
Farah Hotel
Farah Hotel
#41 of 149 in Amman
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hammodah Hotel
Hammodah Hotel
#119 of 149 in Amman
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#28 of 149 in Amman
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dove Hotel
Dove Hotel
#92 of 149 in Amman
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#21 of 149 in Amman
477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 149 in Amman
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: King Faisal St | Manko Market - Oppsite Gold Market, Amman 11118, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Amman
Price Range: £9 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Hotel in the heart of the capital city, Amman, is one of the oldest and most well-established in downtown. The hotel has been well maintained and completely refurbished, designed for function, quiet relaxation, and elegance. Superior standards at competitive rates! Our customers satisfaction and comfort is assured with individually controlled air conditioning, central heating, satellite TV channels, laundry services, direct telephone, and 24 hour room service. Internet service is also available. Our staff is well-trained for exceptional service and the art of hospitality, and are always available to answer any questions you may have. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Amman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing