We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but no hot water” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumman Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but no hot water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here in December with my girlfriend. First the good:
- hotel was relatively cheap (32 JD for the night)
- the staff was extremely friendly (got us extra blankets, explained what to do in the city in detail)
- rooms were clean

Now for the bad:
- It was very cold when we arrived. The heating in the room could not keep up, we had to get extra blankets and it still was cold
- The hot water was not working! That to me is unacceptable!
- The hotel is very hard to find. The location that google maps gives for it is wrong, we ended up having to hire a cab to lead our rental car to the hotel.

The breakfast was ok, not much variety but we didn't go hungry.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    71
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
75
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Being a solo female traveller to Jordan I was a little apprehensive, however a friend recommended The Rumman Hotel and they really did help to make it an amazing trip!

The staff really are what make the hotel great, they went above and beyond every day of my stay and went out of the their way to make me feel welcome. Nothing was too difficult, I just had to ask!

The rooms are basic but always spotlessly clean and most importantly the beds were comfortable and I had a sound sleep every night.

Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missalyssav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Upon landing at the Amman Airport I had very little clue what to do next as the trip was unplanned and spur of the moment. So I trotted on down to the tourism information desk and was greeted pleasantly by a very helpful and informative young woman. She continued to decipher my intentions for the holiday and what I really would enjoy and in minutes I was recommended a stay at the wonderful Rumman Hotel.

The taxi ride was brief and affordable and the driver a little on the quiet side (due in part of course to the language barrier <-- I don't speak Arabic). When I arrived at the hotel, I never thought much of it except that it seemed rather simple and quaint but not what one would call aesthetically pleasing. I was greeted by an enthusiastic gentleman who ensured that my bag was taken up to my room and explained the prices and services available in a succinct and direct manner. Very helpful!

I was of course served by many people in the hotel including the owner but rather enjoyed the English ability and genuine smile of Haya. A great asset to the company and certainly made me fall in love even more with this amazing hotel and great town. Mohanet (I think that’s how you spell his name) was equally qualified in the service arena and gave more than 100 per cent.

The rooms were spotlessly cleaned and the bed comfortable enough to keep me glued to it even though I realised I needed to be up already for my drives out into the tourist traps. The restaurant across the street offered the clients of the hotel discounted meals and also introduced me to Jordanian wine which is lovely and surprising.

They (the hotel team) facilitated everything for me, from daily excursions to my wake-up calls and drinks and smokes on the patio.

Just a marvellous group and can’t wait to get back there for my next visit.

Thanks to the owner and his wonderful staff for turning a great trip into a spectacular one!

Warren Moses
(South African Citizen residing in the UAE)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. After the beautiful warm welcome from the young receptionist we found the clean and well maintained lobby and bedrooms most pleasing. This was everything a good budget hotel should be: no frills but simple, clean, friendly and value for money.
We stayed only one night in transit home from Israel but would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting this type of accommodation.
The restaurant across the road was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We arrived late at night from Amman. 3 adults and a baby. Unfortunately they misunderstood our reservation for a triple room and inside we had only a king sized bed and a crib. Thankfully the staff were quick to react and offered us another room at no extra cost for the 3rd adult in our group. This is awesome service and I'm grateful they had an extra room otherwise I'm not sure what we would've done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoFoLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a nice hotel with very friendly staff. It's basic, but it really has all you need. I had two good nights' sleep here, and it is easy to get to the dead sea and mount nebo from here (with a car). It's a short walk into the town center.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

great hotel for backpackers ... I would like to commend Haya ( I don't know if I got her name right ) who was the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. I just stayed for one night as I was moving from one place to another everyday ... Haya arranged for my transportation to Wadi Mujib and Dead sea ... she even took care of my dinner as I got back to the hotel very tired.
My room was clean, actually the whole hotel was quiet and clean. Neighborhood is safe.
Across the hotel is a restaurant too ...
I recommend this hotel for the budget travelers, close to the airport. And a good base if you want to explore Madaba , Wadi Mujib and Dead sea for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie Lampel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Mosaic City Hotel
Mosaic City Hotel
#1 of 11 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salome Hotel
Salome Hotel
#4 of 11 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen Ayola Hotel
Queen Ayola Hotel
#5 of 11 in Madaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Moab Land Hotel
Moab Land Hotel
#3 of 11 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Madaba
Grand Hotel Madaba
#8 of 11 in Madaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saint John Hotel
Saint John Hotel
#6 of 11 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumman Hotel

Property: Rumman Hotel
Address: Aisha Um al Mumeneen, Madaba 17110, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Madaba Governorate > Madaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rumman Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rumman Hotel, a cozy, family-run hotel, which is located in a quiet residential area in Madaba and just a 10-minute walk from the city center and its main attractions. This bright, friendly hotel has 22 comfortable and attractively decorated rooms, each with an ensuite bathroom and amenities to cater to guest needs. The hotel’s skylit breakfast room offers an inviting space to start your day and the location gives you easy access to the city, where you can wander around, see the magnificent mosaics, browse through the unique handicrafts and meet the friendly people of Madaba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Rumman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumman Hotel Madaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing