We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel in Mecca”
Review of Hotel Al Shohada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Shohada
Ranked #26 of 364 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four days, one of the most annoying things about pictures is that they do not describe the sounds. When looking at the picture of this hotel it sure looked very fancy, and it was, but the hotel is surrounded by construction work which make noises 24/7.

When we arrived at this hotel they didn't find our booking which was very frustrating and it took 2 hours to sort it out. Kind of a nightmare after being awake for more than 24 hours. While waiting for things to sort out we noticed one grasshopper on the lower half of a table, so even if things are fancy and cleaned all the time things can sneak in :)

The hotel interior was nice and they had some art pieces, the entrance was however a bit confusing because there was some sort of cafe and a restaurant but it was hard to tell when and if they were open or closed.

After receiving four room cards, we got to the room which was a two bed room, with four beds - which seems to be the standard. And it was a bit cramped. They had a TV which worked, but I think the welcome screen could be improved because it was hard to read the prayer times - but one good thing is that you could hear the entire prayer and call to prayer from Haram.

The bath was quite nice, it was an enclosed shower but the water flow could be improved. Water flowed out slower than it flowed in meaning a pool would be generated after a few minutes.

There were plenty of elevators and they talked to each other, meaning that when you called an elevator you didn't call a specific elevator, but any one which was nearest, and you would know which one would come - which was a very nice thing especially considering people go at the same time to prayer.

The breakfast had a huge variety, all kind of pastries, soups, salad, eggs (overcooked), breads and it was quite tastly.

The location is okay from Haram, it's a 10 minute walk from the Haram-edge but there's traffic and intersections in between and usually the car has priority over the pedestrian in this country.

One of the things i didn't understand was what the house cleaning did to the beds, there was a sheet, a duvet, and another sheet over that, and it was all tigthly wrapper around the mattress. Being used to having a duet OVER myself I had to struggle to get it out when going to sleep. The pillows were small and only one was provided on each bed and being used to slightly higher pillows things weren't ideal sleepwise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monsterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Shohada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

1 star hotel,
when arrive not allowed taxi to park in front asking to drop us in street.
when we booked we choose the queen bed and the give as the tween the reception said in bad way we give you 2 night in one night price (oh my god we paid a lot more then usual price) and the issue with computer company and website (Really why 2 options there).
also in website must be a Kettle in room when we asking about it they said sorry this for 7 floor and above. is a 5 start hotel.

the reception smell so nice Shock the floor Smell Damp and Hot can't breathing,
the humid and broken room dirty can't sleep something bite my the pillow full of Insects pinch, AC Smell Damp and not cold, poor no cover in bed, internet not free as they said in website.

Breakfast cheap Terrible dirty Hall poor table also no table setup, grand dirty, color location oh my god how is , food look badly the boiled eggs broken shell all togther ykiykiyki, oh i can't belive

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just spent four nights in this hotel as a family of four members. Its a five stars hotel located around 600 meters from Haram. There is excellent shuttle service but you can walk it faster in a matter of 5-10 minutes because of the traffic jam near Haram. The hotel have luxury lobby which may be one of the best in mecca hotels . We stayed in the 8th floor, it was clean and tidy as everywhere in the hotel . Room size is average, with nice well equipped bathroom and daily supply of fresh fruits basket. There was no kettle to make coffee or tea in the room, and you have to pay 7saudi riyal(SR) for hot water. You can upgrade your room service to include kettle and internet service for 120(SR)/day. There is delay in room cleaning ,and one day my room was not cleaned at all. Staff generally friendly. Breakfast buffet is an excellent one.I higly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hussein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Excellent breakfast buffet. Only 10 minutes walk from Haram. They have shuttle service as well. Very friendly staff who all very willing to help you out in any way they can.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amina_abdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After you pass all the nice, and closer hotels to Haram here comes us " Al shohada" you're looking at 15 min walk. It could be less than that or even more. It really depends on what time you're going. If you are going right before Azan, then good luck. You need to leave at least an hr prior to azan, the crowd will slow you down a lot, plus the 1st 500 feet after you leave the hotel is pretty tight filled with stores buses and people, after that it gets a little better. Breakfast pretty standered. same everyday. My mom stayed at the Hilton and my sister stayed at swiss Mecca. They had a better experience/ stay . You might need to check them out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Amazing hotel just 5-7 min walk from the Masjid Al-Haram. Their buffet and lobby are worthwhile and I would definitely stay here again! The lobby has washrooms which is of great convenience and they have a juice bar in the main floor as well. Service was top quality for the buck

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I come to Manish often and like this hotel due to its value for money and the staff, butler's and cleaners who will bend over backwards to help you. I've stayed here several times in the past but this time, 3things really bothered me. First, the breakfast buffet was AWFUL, please Shohada, improve this or you will lose loyal customers. Second, I always send an email directly to the hotel to book, this time I got no response despite several emails and then had to call several times to reserve. I was then called up the day we were due to check in and asked silly questions that could have been answered if my email had been read. Finally, I had just one simple but crucial request that my room have a double bed for health reasons and not two beds pushed together but that's exactly what I got an it annoyed me no end. If customers are prepared to book the same hotel several times a year, surely hotels should recognise repeaters and accommodate simple requests??? We don't use credit cards and pay the full amount up in arrival and then to be told we can't book a car for pick up from Jeddah or not to even be acknowledged as returning guests isn't very nice. Other than that the location is great, room was adequate despite the bed issue an the butler more than made up for the incompetence of reception staff. Breakfast was AWFUL and needs a lot of improvement but if Shohada could fix this and their lack of people skills, they would again raise in my esteem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nasiya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Towers Makkah
0.1 mi away
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel
0.9 mi away
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elaf Almashaer
Elaf Almashaer
#31 of 364 in Mecca
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Makkah Convention Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles makkah
Ibis Styles makkah
#24 of 364 in Mecca
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Shohada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Shohada

Address: Ajyad St. | PO Box 20840, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#24 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: £61 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Al Shohada 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Al Shohada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Shohada Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing