We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Ranked #8 of 360 Hotels in Mecca
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Haj trip”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed at the Movenpick Hotel during the 2012 Haj season. Hotel is well located in front of the King Abdul Aziz gate, the main entrance to the Grand Haram Mosque. The rooms are large, clean with all the bathrooms amenities well maintained. The beds were extremely comfortable. The meals are served in the various restaurants and ours were served in the Al Nassim. Quality of food was good and all the meals were served buffet style, so one had a wide range of choices. Service level is good and staff are helpful. Hotel is situated in a shopping mall. The only drawback is that it has no gym facilities. Would be good if the hotel could provide it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Agil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NThodi, Director of Operations at Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Mr. Ajil,

Greetings from the Movenpick Hotel Makkah!

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. It pleases us to hear that you’ve had a comfortable stay with us.

As you rightly said, Movenpick Hotel Makkah is located in front of King Abdulaziz Gate overlooking to the holy Kaábah.

With one of the the largest entry size rooms in the city (37 sq. mts) and services like Business Centre, Concierge and Guest Service Centre, we ensure our guests are provided with all amenities to have a complete and pleasurable stay.

Movenpick Hotel Makkah has a total of six food and beverage venues, each unique and different. This also gives our guests the leisure of enjoying a variety of cuisines.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of serving you again at the Movenpick Hotel Makkah.

Warm regards
Naseer T. Thodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    395
    163
    48
    30
See reviews for
937
195
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RUH
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

location is excellent, "in-house" prayer hall has direct view and sound with Haram so we were able to pray with Imam with no hassle. Breakfast was excellent and truly five stars.
If you are looking for "true" haram-view this is NOT your best choice since you could only get a glimpse of the Corner of Haram. Figuring out elevator system is a hassle for most hotels in the Waqf complex

Room Tip: request haram view and high level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khalid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NThodi, Director of Operations at Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Mr. Khalid,

Greetings from the Movenpick Hotel Makkah

We feel truly grateful to have received a feedback in favour of our product and the unique services we provide. We are glad to have had the pleasure of hosting you at the Movenpick Hotel Makkah.

Movenpick Hotel is overlooking the Holy Ka’abah and facing King Abdul Aziz Gate, enjoys a prime location with magnificent view of the sacred site. At the level P-9, we have prayer hall for men and at the P-10 for female with direct view of Haram.

As from the Food and Beverage perspective, we are pleased to know that you’ve enjoyed our culinary preparations as we always strive to serve our guests with exclusive recipes and worldwide cuisines.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and recommendations. We hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to the Movenpick Hotel Makkah.

Warm regards
Naseer T. Thodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

First Class Hotel, great location, easy excess to Holy mosque. having Shopping complex within hotel. However hotel excess for drop off and pick up was little bit tricky but I guess will be improved once the construction work around the hotel is completed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mukhtar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NThodi, Director of Operations at Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Mr. Mukhtar,

Warmest greetings from Movenpick Makkah

We thank you for valuable feedback that is quintessential for us as we continue to strive to achieve the best standards of service in all respects. We are glad to have had the pleasure of hosting you at the Movenpick Hotel Makkah

As you rightly said, Movenpick Hotel is overlooking the Holy Ka’abah and facing King Abdul Aziz Gate, Movenpick Hotel enjoys a prime location with magnificent view of the sacred site. Its location within the landmark Abraj Al Baith tower complex gives it access to wide range of lifestyle facilities.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again at the Movenpick Hotel Makkah.

Warm regards
Naseer T. Thodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I have stayed in a number of Movenpick hotels around Saudi Arabia and this hotel provides the same consistency of quality and service I got in Jeddah and Medina.
Hotels in Makkah is about location and it doesnt get better than this as this based near the clock tower and leads to gate number 1. As a result, you are paying for a premium price.

Wifi access is avaliable in the lobby and wired access in the room (both free).

Breakfast is very good and would have no issues staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NThodi, Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Movenpick Hotel Makkah!

We thank you for your valuable feedback, as it helps keep us inclined towards our commitment in maintaining our hallmark of quality service.

The Mövenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah forms part of the prestigious Abraj Al Bait complex. The hotel is located directly on the Haram Court, facing the King Abdul Aziz Gate. Movenpick Hotel Makkah enjoys a prime location with magnificent view of the sacred site.

It pleases us to take note that you have enjoyed our buffet breakfast, as we always strive to serve our guests with unique recipes and worldwide cuisines at our Restaurants.

A Wi-fi internet connection is available in the Lobby and in Al Diwan Lounge and a wired connection in all guest rooms, free of charge, were you could keep always connected with your beloved family, friends and business.

We thank you for your patronage & looking forward to the pleasure of continued visits in the near future.

Warm regards
Naseer T. Thodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Occasion was the Hajj (Pilgrimage) last year. My wife and I bought a package that included a 5-day stay at the Movenpick Hotel in The Holy Makkah. This hotel is part of the prestigious Abraj Al Bait complex which is a straight shot from The Holy Ka’aba and located directly on The Haram court (Premises of The Holy Ka’aba), facing the King Abdul-Aziz gate and offers the rare view of The Holy Ka’aba through most of the rooms!
Abraj Al Bait complex has a few adjacent hotels and boasts over 20000 rooms! It is known to be owned by the royal family. We got a room on the 27th floor (Lift whisked us up like we were riding on clouds, so smooth and quick) and straight went to the window to see if we had a view of The Holy Ka’aba. We only saw the far end of The Mosque. I went on to take a shower and when I returned my wife, a newly converted Muslim, shouted with happiness and said, “We can see The Ka’aba from here”! I rushed to the window and looked in the direction she was pointing, voila! We really could see The Holy Ka’aba through the bottom left of the window! We forgot all about how tired we were from the journey.
Breakfast and dinner was inclusive in the package. Buffet breakfast had so much choice that even if you tried one little bite of each item, you still missed many items! To top that, there was a chef who stood by a stove ready to make you an omelet of your choice! You pick up whatever cheese or meat or fruit you want and take it to the chef’s table; he’d make you a pan-cooked omelet!
At dinner again, so much to choose from and a tiny stomach you’ve got. They offer you the best cheese in the world, the best cold cuts, the best dried fruit; I mean everything offered is the best brand available anywhere. We never saw the size of dried figs and dates that were served and were so delicious you couldn’t stop eating.
The beds were very comfortable. Room service was excellent. Immaculate bathrooms, plenty of fruit and sweets are there for you to pick on in your room, no charge. There are plenty of coffee and different kinds of tea for you to prepare yourself. They’ll come every day to fill up the empty jars. The room service comes to check on you if you need anything. I mean you’re treated like a star.
Adan can be heard coming direct from the Holy Haram through the speakers in your room! Salat being offered and Talawat can be heard through the room audio system. You see the Holy Ka’aba and you hear the Quran e Majid being recited right through your window, if you’re the unlucky one who’s not in the congregation offering salat.
It doesn’t matter if you’re at the 48th floor; the lifts are lightning fast; you’ll be at your destination before you know it. They are so quiet and quick you’ll be surprised; and plenty of them. Walk a few yards and you’ll find another set of lifts.
Is there something that bothered us during our stay? Maybe a tiny bit? Can’t think of any! All we think of is how to get back to this hotel, walk two minutes and step in the Haram! My wife and I want to live in that particular spot where we can see the Holy Ka’aba 24 hours a day, where we can smell the fragrance coming from the cover of The Ka’aba.
On the other hand, I felt this was a great disservice to the Hajjis who come every year to perform Hajj. If you need to do Wadu but your hotel is far away, you’ll be in a big trouble because the public bathrooms are very few in numbers as compared to the huge influx of Hajjis. Bathrooms are so overcrowded that lines can extend to a block or two. I personally think that all these hotels that are hovering The Holy Haram should be demolished; place should be opened up to accommodate the Pilgrims and offer more services like bathrooms all around the premises of The Holy Ka’aba. By the way how would you feel if you need to do wadu and you’re unable to enter any of the limited number of bathrooms and your bus leaves in an hour and you’ve to perform Tawaf al wida (The farewell circumambulation), the last leg of Hajj? This happened to us, when we had left Movenpick Hotel for Mina, performed our Hajj and now ready for the farewell Tawaf. This time we didn’t have the privilege of having a room right on the Holy Haram’s court, this time we were at Mina and must use the public bathrooms available. Our bus had to leave at a given time. We were getting late running from one bathroom to another but couldn’t get into any of them. Finally I asked my wife to hold a sheet around me and that’s how I did my istanja in the middle of thousands of people. Time was running out and I had to do something for my wife’s wadu. I suggested her to go into the Movenpick and tell them we were staying there for 5 nights and all she wanted was to do wadu. The person at the Hotel honored her request and guided her to a private bathroom and that’s how she made it back to the Tawaf Al Wida. But what about hundreds of thousands of others who must do istanja and wadu? Towering Hotels are all around squeezing the Holy Haram to the maximum. My suggestion would be that for now, at least do this: All around the Holy Haram, hotels and other businesses should donate their ground floors for Toilets, bathrooms and other facilities for the Hajjis and all for free. Other choice is to demolish all buildings within a mile of the Holy Haram in all directions. Times are here about which the prophecy says, “people will join Islam in groups”. THEY ARE NOW joining in groups! The custodian of The Two Mosques should get ready for it. Last Hajj showed the signs of over-crowding already. But my kudos to the King and his staff, not a single soul was thirsty, food was in abundance and things were in control.
My advice to all: if you’re in Makkah, stay at Movenpick or any other adjacent hotel of Abraj Al Bait Complex. Pay a little more money than other hotels in vicinity, you’ll get closest to The Holy Ka’aba than you’ll get in a lifetime. Pray at The Haram whole night, offer Fajr, come back to the hotel and have their excellent breakfast and sleep till Dhur. What a life you going to have! Good Luck!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of The Holy Ka'aba. They have many of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MirrorMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed A, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your time by providing us with your valuable feedback.
It was a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our services during your stay with us. Your word of appreciation motivates us to better our services even further.

Moreover, it will be a pleasure to be your host at Mövenpick Hotel Residence Hajar Tower Makkah into your near future visits.

Sincerely yours,
Ahmed Al Hasawi
The Management
Mövenpick Hotel Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was in this beautiful property last week for 2 nights when I did not Umrah. This hotel is bang opposite the Haram, barely a minute from its gate. There is a food court and the rooms are beautiful. Only problem it is too big a hotel and check in and check out takes some time. I would highly recommend staying there mainly because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed A, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your time by providing us with your valuable feedback.
It was a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our services during your stay with us. Your word of appreciation motivates us to better our services even further.

Moreover, it will be a pleasure to be your host at Mövenpick Hotel Residence Hajar Tower Makkah into your near future visits.

Sincerely yours,
Ahmed Al Hasawi
The Management
Mövenpick Hotel Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel as a family straight after Ramadan 2012.

entrance to the hotel complex is really good. The taxi drops you off right outside the secure underground entrance to the hotel, and lifts wisk you off to an impressive reception area.

The hotel is approximately 4 years old.

Check in was quick, with all staff speaking english fluently.

We had reserved 2 x triple rooms....and unfortunately one of the rooms only had 2 beds. As we were in ehram we decided to go and perform umrah, and sort the problem out later.

Upon our return i had a quick chat with one of the managers who was extremly helpful and sorted our problem out within a few minutes.

After this we had a really pleasent stay in the hotel. Rooms were modern, clean and with everything you would expect.

The hotel has plenty of lifts to accomodate its guests and you never had to wait more then a few seconds for one.

From leaving your room you would be in the haram within 3 to 4 minutes maximum. Location is hard to rival.

The cleaners were all english speaking and very thourough in ensuring the hotel was maintained to a very high standard.

You get complimentary newspapers delivered to your door!

Breakfast in the numerous restaurants was of a very high standard and plentiful in variety to suit all tastes.

When you return to the hotel after Asar prayers you are greeted with complimentary dates and arabic coffee.

We have been fortunate enough to stay in a number of hotels in Makah in the past, and this is certainly one of the best currently available.

The hotel tries hard to impress its guests and we look forward to visiting it again in the future insha allah. We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with haram view if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohamed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed A, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your time by providing us with your valuable feedback.
It was a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our services during your stay with us. Your word of appreciation motivates us to better our services even further.

Moreover, it will be a pleasure to be your host at Mövenpick Hotel Residence Hajar Tower Makkah into your near future visits.

Sincerely yours,
Ahmed Al Hasawi
The Management
Mövenpick Hotel Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.0 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
#10 of 360 in Mecca
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 360 in Mecca
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 360 in Mecca
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 360 in Mecca
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 360 in Mecca
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Address: Abraj Al Bait | P.O.Box 17700, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#3 Family Hotel in Mecca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#14 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 1026
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of the prestigious Abraj Al Bait complex, the Movenpick Hotel & Residence Hajar Tower Makkah is superbly located directly on the Haram Court facing the King Abdul Aziz Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Residence Hajar Tower Makkah
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing