We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a short stay”
Review of Makkah Grand Coral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makkah Grand Coral
Ranked #87 of 358 Hotels in Mecca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad for a short stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel tower not the apartments. I will start with the negative stuff:

1. Old furniture and not very clean carpet in the room;
2. Room service food is not very fresh (I have tried breakfast in the room);
3. Aircondition could turn the room to a freezer because the thermostat is not working;
4. Very strange electricity control. If you turn off the lights, the TV will go off as well;
5. The mini bar in the room is empty.

The positives are:

1. Good location although not walking distance from Haram, there are bus shuttles every 15 min. It takes no more than 5 min to reach Haram unless it's already prayer time it might take longer;
2. Friendly staff and always trying to help;
3. If you are coming driving in your own car, there is good parking space for free which is a big plus for a hotel in Makkah.
4. There is an ATM machine in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxmafxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Little far from haram . shuttle available 24 hours from hotel to haram. Old decoration in the room. Average breakfast. Free car parking. Staff are nice. Average location. Quiet rooms. Spacious lobby. Bathrooms were clean. Not too crowded. Elevators were not so crowded. Little modifications required to make to a better place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maqs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Makkah grabd coral has almost no service it is the most badly hotel I've ever seen and it has a very stupid staff and its security people don't know any thing about security .makkah grand coral isn't hotel it is a project contains bad and stupid staff

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ahmed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mecca hotels

cairo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have been to the hotel for Umrah during weekend, I stayed in the Apartments building not the hotel. The apartment was spacious and good but having old furniture and a bad smell.
The rooms, bathroom, TV and other things needs renovation and in general it is not the level of 5 stars hotel. The kitchen contains a microwave, electric burner and a big fridge.

Check in was fast, but the the staff was not friendly at all.
Shuttle bus service is very good. Going to Haram by foot is not an option because the road is not straight and not safe at all.

Parking is great to have in such a crowded place and it is big enough to find a place inside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otebry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Well Well, Alhamdullilah I have spend a lot of time in five star hotels, and I was surprised when I entered the building at the start the ministry of transport has rated this as 5 star hotel

First of all, the service is almost nothing as compare to 5 star, it looks like a 1 star hotel services where we have to run for small services like cleaning etc.

Then the food was ok , I think the best part of the hotel, but some dishes were looking expired, but still I will rate the food 3-stars.

Overall, it was a rush season, but still if they deliver this type of service they should rate it as 2 stars hotel only and at the end of the day the rent is very high too.

I would like to complain the ministry of transport interior to please review these places, not only hotel but the restaurants in makkah are also expensive as well as taste is not good, people have no place to sit, they should decrease this strategic to the poor ones....

Room Tip: Not to stay here.... !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheikh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Reasonably walking distance from the Haram Mosque , Good Hotel , Considering the location the rates are within budget , Shuttle service available though on Friday after prayer difficult to find a place inside the shuttle. Room was OK,Clean but not too fancy. Breakfast eatable , mostly Arabic food varieties however, you can still enjoy. Hotel Charge for the children breakfast. Staffs were polite.

Room Tip: with children s book a Suite, plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaveedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

i stayed in the hotel on the last weekend, i booked for 2 nights but left after first nite. the hotel advertises standard triple room but actually all rooms are double rooms and they add an extra bed on ur request. there is no standard triple room
my third bed was added after 4-5 hours of my arrival despite of several reminders
the hotel mamgement asks for extra 300 SAR as security deposit at check-in, which is not done in most of other 5 star hotels.
the hyousekeeping is very weak... despite of putting "make my room" card on door handle, when we came back after 3-4 hrs, the room was not made, & we had to call them again for the sdame.
the breakfast has very minimum options and those are also only basic. imagine tey dont even keep sliced bread in breakfast. the only option is croissant, bun or arabic khubz.
the rooms donot have wi-fi, its only available in lobby.
the lobby is beautiful n big! the decor is good in the lobby.
the shuttle service to haram is perfect, there was always a bus at the hotel doorstep and even at haram basement bus stop.
in general it was okay, not upto mark for a 5-star, as they claim!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeNasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.3 mi away
Al Shahba Hotel
Al Shahba Hotel
#48 of 358 in Mecca
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Makkah Hotel
Grand Makkah Hotel
#60 of 358 in Mecca
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Qasr Ajyad Alsad Hotel
Qasr Ajyad Alsad Hotel
#96 of 358 in Mecca
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Makkah Marriott Hotel Jabal Omar
1.0 mi away
Al Thuria Hotel
Al Thuria Hotel
#91 of 358 in Mecca
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nawazi Watheer Hotel
Nawazi Watheer Hotel
#80 of 358 in Mecca
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Grand Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Grand Coral

Property: Makkah Grand Coral
Address: Um Ul Qura Street, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Makkah Grand Coral 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Makkah Grand Coral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Grand Coral Hotel Mecca
Makkah Grand Coral Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing