We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that waw hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 356 Hotels in Mecca
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not that waw hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

well i have stayed there 3 nights during Feb 2014 , the staff are really lazy or dont care at all about guest needs , they are not try to make any effort to help or even to answer you , if they give you answers then you are lucky , the rooms are rich but it is a small size i guess there are different types of rooms in size , the breakfast is very good and rich but nothing special in matter of taste , really i was expecting from a brand like fairmont much much more

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egyptmmx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear egyptmmmx
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and would like to follow up with you directly. Please contact us at socialmediamakkah@fairmont.com and it will be our pleasure to assist you. We hope to welcome you back in the future in the holy city of Makkah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    436
    223
    137
    216
See reviews for
1,244
289
68
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at the Fairmont Clock Tower for 5 nights in January 2014, this is a beautiful hotel with direct access to the Kaaba, the Haram. We stayed in double room which was clean and well maintained.
The bedding and room amenities were good quality, especially the beds and pillows made sleeping quite comfortable. The breakfast is very lavish with a good selection of middle eastern and western dishes. The hotel service by the staff needs to be commended, they were very helpful, checking was easy and although to arrived @ 3am, they they had a room for me by 8 am.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Pztoysali
Greeting From Makkah!
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Makkah Clock Royal Tower - A Fairmont Hotel and would like to extend our sincere thanks for the kind feedback.Thank you again for your generous comments and we shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the holy city.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just few minute walk to masjid alharam entrance, beds were very comfy, Azan in rooms, shops and food quarter in lower floors, every thing close by no need to go out and waste time, instead you can spend your time praying and performing tawaf with no worry.
Food in hotel is excellent

Room Tip: The best if you can afford it is the jounior suit with Khabbah view, just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear HoneyBuney,
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We love to hear such positive comments about our our location and we are glad you liked the In-Room Haram Azan and you found our bed comfy! We look forward to welcome you again in the holy city of Makkah Al Mukramah.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I planned well in advance to come to this hotel whilst on umrah and it came highly recommended by friends who have stayed here. I wanted a room with a view of the Kaaba and had to really book in advance so I'd get it. First, the room wasn't ready. After wasting two hours in the lobby waiting they finally gave me a room on the fifth floor. View of the Kaaba? Ha! It's obstructed by the minaret and they're charging me for a Kaaba view. Also the room just reeks. It smells like cigarettes and mildew!!! I'm writing this standing at the front desk (where I've been now for over 40 minutes) because the men at the front really do not seem interested in helping me.... Is it because I'm a woman? A foreigner? I'm sorry.... I have been patient and polite. I've been asking for assistance to no avail. Very disappointed. :-(

Should've used my Marriott points

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Likesheet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
270 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We are a couple ( 2 Doctors from Cairo-Egypt ), this is our second time to stay in Fairmont hotel in Makkah. the first stay was much better!!!. the hotel is very close to the Holly Haram, the room is spacious, bath room is clean. You can hear the call for prayers- if you want- through a mic. inside the room. The hotel -in general- is elegant. We understand that the period of our stay was a busy period, with a lot of clients, but the "lifts problem" should be taken care of. Before and after the prayers times, it is extremely difficult to get in the lifts, although there is a lot of lifts, but there is no good or organised way of dealing with such a problem, the hotel management leaves every body to deal with the problem his way !!, so you can imagine the "chaos" that happens around the times of each prayer, we did not feel that the management is trying to do any effort to solve or even help to minimize that problem. Also we would like to comment on the breakfast, good in general, but very crowded and completely disorganized. we still think we will go back to stay in this hotel in the future- Insha Allah-, because we will give the management-this time- the excuse of the hotel being very busy. Have a great Umrah.

Room Tip: rooms over look the Holly Haram are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Rafa,
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you for posting such a detailed review and sharing your experience with us! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your room and found our hotel elegant. we apologize for the issue with the elevator. We do our best to keep the lifts running at full capacity and we apologize if your wait time was longer than usual. We look forward to welcome you again in the holy city and to have a positive stay at Makkah clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We came from Madina
The hotel is in good location front of king Abdulaziz gate
Recpition staff are not experienced or not well trained with the hotels work , they taking too long to finish checking in, they must go back to the duty manager all the time
Rooms is v.good decoration, clean, big,
You must improve the quality of pillows
The food is ok , you must put life touch in in PL hall it is very big, crowd
For the gusts safety in case of fire it is important to provide gas musks to be in the rooms this procedure we found it in Asian hotels China, Hong kong, kuwalalambor ....etc

Any way it is great hotel to stay in during umrah or haj

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hussamuldin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gujrat, Punjab, Pakistan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I had the great fortune to visit Makkah to perform Umrah from 13 to 20 January . After spending three blessed days in Madina, we came to Clock tower and stayed in Fairmont for three days. The stay was perfect. The ambience, decor, service, food and the perfection in the maintenance of the place despite being fully occupied most of the time is amazing. I would highly recommend it to all my Muslim friends who travel to Makkah .

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Shahida H,
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you for your kind words and congratulation on your latest Umrah! We are happy to know that you found our hotel is perfect . We look forward to welcome you again in the holy City of Makkah al Mukaramh!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 356 in Mecca
1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 356 in Mecca
1,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
#10 of 356 in Mecca
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#4 of 356 in Mecca
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makkah Hilton Hotel
Makkah Hilton Hotel
#6 of 356 in Mecca
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 356 in Mecca
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing