We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are pros and cons”

Al Maqam Housing Center
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Al Maqam Housing Center
Ranked #106 of 372 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Assalamualaikum haj/umrah travellers:

Pros:
- Very very close to masjidil haram (WINNER)
- Reliable wifi connection
- I enjoyed the breakfast here
- Satisfying shower (with heater) as the water pressure is strong
- Hotel comes with 3 fast elevators. Important during those rush period
- Airconditioning functioning well throughout to ensure deep sound sleep important due to very short sleep time :)

Cons:
- Small room, I stayed with my mom and dad in 1 room
- Room is quite stuffy with minimal ventilation as I got the room without any windows (can't really hear the azan also)
- Housekeeping and cleanliness can be improved further
- Lunch and dinner menu selection is so-so and hope the space for eating can be increasing to few tables and chairs

Hotel is quite famous with Indian, Indonesian and Malaysian tour operators I guess due to the hotel may charge very cheaply. But you get what you pay I guess. It's my first trip to the Tanah Haram and I enjoyed staying here although at times slightly irritated to test my patient while performing my pilgrimage. May Allah bless the staff and administration of the Al-Maqam who took care of me and family during 8 nights stay here. Syukran. Wallahu'alamu bissawab.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank boboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Almaqaam is quite close to the haram, we were skeptical when reading previous reviews but were advised that the place was revamped. Don't fall for this, it's still rated as 2 star. Besides the room n bathroom, breakfast was super poor. No cereal, no milk, just curry, hard boiled eggs, rolls and tea.
My family got stuck in the list between 2 floors with all their luggage before our Umrah and were pulled out by their arms, with the 'maintenance' guy saying it happens on occasion.

Room Tip: Always get pics of the room n bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dilshaad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A strategic location infront of the palace and 5 minutes walk to masjidil haram mosque

Room Tip: A room facing the palace ,ie rooms ending with 016 or 015 from 2 nd floors onwards. Swimming pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rzamkamaruddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We Visited Al Maqam last year as part of our Umrah trip and stayed for 7nights.The Hotel is less then two minutes walk from the haram which was absolutely brilliant and very very convenient but sadly thats all that was nice about it. Right from the start we had a bad time at this hotel. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived and were told they would be ready shortly. Finally after an hour we were told that the rooms were ‘’ready’’. We went up to our rooms to find out that the rooms have not even been cleaned nor beddings changed as the previous occupants had just left about an hour ago and we had to request the housekeeping staff over and over again for them to come over and clean the rooms. And when they finally did arrive, it was a quick 10 minutes( if that) shoddy pathetic half hearted job. The carpets were filthy. The bathrooms had probably not been cleaned in ages and had lots of stains and mould everywhere not to mention chipped tiles and quick DIY fix it jobs. When you request the housekeeping staff to clean the bathroom they spend less then 2 minutes doing it which barely makes a difference to the pathetic condition of the toilets. I bought some toilet cleaning materials myself and spent an hour cleaning it in the evening as i just couldn’t stand it and did not want my 3 yr old to be subjected to such filthy hygiene conditions .Moving on to the room, i am assuming that most rooms do not have any windows at all as 2 out of 3 rooms we had got did not have any window or any natural source of light or ventilation. you almost feel claustrophobic in the room as you are literally staring at drab walls on all 4 sides which also meant that the room was pitch dark once you switched off the lights. We had to leave the bathroom lights on with the bathroom door slightly open to let some light in after we switched off the lights at night as it gets too dark in the room otherwise.
I could just go on and on about the things that are wrong with this place but it would hardly make a difference to the management of this hotel as they are almost always full as its pre-booked by tours operators mostly . And the tour operators are not always transperant about the kind of hotel it is.You basically pay the tour operator and hope everything is going to be alright.I hope this review will help people who are looking to stay here in the future coz i couldn’t find any reviews for this hotel when i was booking my trip. Apart from the location, this hotel has absolutely nothing going for it. Kindly avoid at all costs unless you absolutely don’t have an option

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ace_sam_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The only positive comment for this hotel is that it is very close to haram, only 2 mins walk.
Rooms are small, breakfast is poor, bathroom door hits the sink when you open it, so you can imagine how small the bathroom area actually is. You have to tell them if you want your room cleaned, otherwise, they won't do it. We stayed in a (family) quadruple room, paid approx £90 p night. Reception staff don't speak a lot of english, and kind of insist that you pay them in cash. Hotel is at best a 2 star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mobutt786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PututHargi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
1 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.9 mi away
Al Massa Hotel
Al Massa Hotel
#98 of 372 in Mecca
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Towers Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 372 in Mecca
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel
0.9 mi away
Swissotel Al Maqam Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Maqam Housing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maqam Housing Center

Address: Ajyad Street, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 372 Hotels in Mecca
Price Range: £64 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Maqam Housing Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Al Maqam Housing Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maqam Housing Center Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing