We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room service has serious problems!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Makkah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Makkah
Ranked #11 of 343 Hotels in Mecca
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room service has serious problems!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel location, breakfast buffet, and room are all great. BUT room service has serious problems! We booked two suite rooms and when we checked in around 5:00 pm they still weren't ready, we got the keys for the first room after 40 minutes, while we received the keys for the 2nd room around 10:00 pm. Around 11:30pm we called the room service to request extra blankets and pillows, after numerous angry calls and apologies we got them at 4:20 am after using towels to cover ourselves. Next day, after waiting till 4:00 pm for the rooms to be cleaned, we had to call them to request the cleaning services. Adding insult to injury, the waiting for the reception area to talk to a customer service representative can take up to 30 min sometimes. Without mentioning that waiting time for elevator can take up to 10 min.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nova_N_A_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Nova,
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you very much for letting us know your thoughts. We are happy that you found our location , breakfast and rooms great . Please accept our sincerest apologies for any lapse in your room service. Our priority is our guest comfort, and we are disappointed to see that you felt mistreated . We've have passed on your comments regarding the room cleaning to our house keeping manager who will be exploring them further. We hope that you don’t take this lapse of service as a reflection of Swissotel standard, and please let us know if you intend on visiting the Holy City again soon so that we can ensure you stay is as pleasant as possible.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    406
    190
    67
    130
See reviews for
988
241
72
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mecca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very good place , the location near to haram help us to pray at time and no need to take car only five minite to be in a haram , the service very good and the rooms always cleen and good for family to stay their .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed Mazhar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Mohamed,
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you for your generous comments and we are glad you found our hotel location next to al Haram and our rooms are clean and good. We love to hear such a positive comments about our hotel. We shall be looking forward to welcome you again at Swissotel Makkah.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Love the hotel . Very close to haram . Very good food quality very good staff
Very clean . Welcoming staff . Only few steps to haram . Alsafwa mall is accessible from the hotel . Excellent experience .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank elkasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear elkasti,
Greeting from the holy City!
Thank you so much for your post! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you find our location and food very good. We shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the holy city.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The best luxury hotel and services in Al Haram. The best access to Al Haram amongst Abraj Albeet Hotels. The best quality of food & restaurants. Easy & free parking at the tower parking lot which is close to your room...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Fahad,
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and we are so happy you liked the easy access from and to the hotel as well as the restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the holy city.
Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

First we were given one room away from the others and the view was not right as promised due to the level selection . When changed the rooms they were still away from each other and in one of the room we had hard time to get the room water temperature get adjusted. It was fixed only on the last day out of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Omar Khobar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash Shariqah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Excellent hotel when it will compare with other hotel but hope it will continue the same ecen after couple of years since the area all the time are crowded all the year. Elevators are not enough which a common comments in all the hotels so we can ignore it :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Jamal,

Greeting from Makkah!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you found our hotel excellent! We shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the holy city.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Thıs hotel ıs very close to haram, ınsıde albait complex.and managing better thAn the others ı had visited.all were good...hotels ıs new so rooms are new and clean and the restaurant can feed maybe 1000 people ın 1 tıme .hope they keep thıs for future...

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Paul,
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you so much for your post! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our rooms clean and good. Our restaurant “ Al Ruwad” the largest restaurant in the Kingdom due to the capacity of the restaurant for nearly 2,500 guest. Thank you again for your comments and we shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the holy city.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.2 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 343 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.1 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 343 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Makkah Jabal Omar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Makkah

Property: Swissotel Makkah
Address: Ajyad Street | King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Mecca 762, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mecca
#9 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 1487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Makkah is not only the first Swissotel to be opened in Saudi Arabia, but is also the first to commence in the entire Middle East. As part of the prestigious Abraj Al Bait complex, the deluxe Swissotel Makkah is a contemporary five-star hotel located in close proximity to the holy Masjid Al Haraam, overlooking the Ka’aba, as well as the entire Masjid. The Swissotel Makkah offers 1,487 elegant rooms and suites with modern contemporary design that complements the rich, hospitable values of Arab culture. The hotel includes two restaurants, one meeting room, and one business centre. With private entrances that make it easier for pilgrims to reach the Masjid Al Haram, Swissotel is also the only Makkah hotel with a direct entrance through Ajyad Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Makkah Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing