We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever experienced!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al Olayan Al Khaleel
Ranked #102 of 360 Hotels in Mecca
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever experienced!”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

If safety and comfort are your concern, stay away from this hotel! When my friends and I (all women) were sleeping, there was a man came into our room and harass me. We were shocked! How could a stranger be able to get the key to our room and entered our room?? It's obvious that the safety procedure in the hotel was terrible. I reported this incident to the supervisor but did not get any satisfactory explanation. I will never recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rina146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
17
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

our experience in this hotel wasn't pleasant at all near to the haram but
Service was terrible,
Cockroaches in the bathroom little ones the cleanliness was awful they were in the room aswell crawling on the beds YUCK! Air conditioning didn't work was broken had to move frm one room toanother I have five children altogether seven of us
So much inconvenience won't be using this hotel again SORRY!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank aadil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mecca hotels

India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

we had a very bitter experience during the hajj pilgrimage. we were allotted room on 7th floor means from ground floor additional 5 floors of parking and kitchen and dining viz.... The lift is the biggest headache It will never stop on your floor and if fortunately stops and you enter inside it will show " Overload" that means you will be forced by the co passengers in the lift to go out that means you will have to go through the stair cases 12 floors downstairs and upstairs. I was accompanied by my old aunt, even she had to make use of staircases and I had to accompany lifting her wheelchair in my hands upto 12 floors. The manager and hotel staff totally hopeless fellows, never never ready to co operate or listen to your sufferings. very very hard hearted fellows. Not ready to even provide drinking water, we had to purchase 5 litre bottles from outside. The toilet bathrooms are very small and rooms are clumsy, we were provided room with no ventilation, Our stay in this hotel was no less than a nightmare, we will never never stay again in this hotel Insha Allah. Ameen

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MIqbalTopiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel was located conveniently in short walking distance from Masjidil Haram (gate 1 and 79). It was visible from far and could be easily found.The shopping center was around the corner.

The hotel was nice and had kind of up-to-date design (compared to some hotels in the area). The lobby had plenty of comfortable seats. Wifi is available in the lobby only. So no worries not getting seat in the lobby.

The room was sizable and clean with up-to-date design. We are given triple instead of queen bed which for us was a turn-down as a couple. However, we would accept it due to fully booked rooms (in Ramadhan). The bathroom was clean but very small. This room was considered good in Mecca.

There were numbers of lift but seemed not adequate. We needed to wait long time especially closer to praying time. Must go off earlier or go up first or take service lift within the staircase.

Overall stay was very good. This is a good value hotel and would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andrewjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here for a week in Feb 2012 with family.
The hotel is located at the end of a wide street between the Clock Towers hotel on one side and the Hilton Towers/Shopping Mall on the other (where KFC is). It is a straight walk from the hotel on this street to the Masjid's Door no 1 (Bab-e- Abdul Aziz). Although the walk to and from the Masjid can take a few mins (5 max), the best part is that it is mainly pedestrianised, so there are very few cars along it; ideal if you're travelling with children and have to push wheelchairs/pushchairs.
The Hotel has a large lobby, with a big seating area which was always busy and gave a nice atmosphere. We required 2 rooms, a double and a triple, and so they gave us a suite room, which was perfect. There was a small lobby upon entering the door to the suite (ideal for storing suitcases) followed by the 2 individual rooms. Rooms within the suites do vary in size; we were upgraded from 2 triples to two quad rooms a few days into our stay and appreciated the extra space. We paid 750 S.R per night for the suite, which I feel was good value.
We stayed on the 12th floor and special mention must be made of the excellent cleaning staff who were very helpful and courteous, liaising with the Arabic-speaking management on our behalf when required.
The Hotel has several agents who negotiate rates with customers and have certain floors at their disposal. We dealt with Hassan, who was helpful, but does not speak english so we needed a transalator. Another useful contact is Samir who does speak some english and works with Hassan.
The rooms were a little dingy and showed signs of deterioration but were adequate, with a fridge, safe and TV. House cleaning was satisfactory.
The main downside were the lifts; which were slow in operation and took ages to come to the floor. On occassion, we had to push our way in to half empty lifts just because people would come to the front and block the entrance. Leave the room in plenty of time before the call to prayer otherwise you risk missing salat because of lift issues.
Breakfast was an additional 50 S.R. per person, which we did not take up. The buffet was not worthy of such a price and so we tended to eat out or keep breakfast supplies in the room. There is a good Pakistani retaurant called Taiba opposite the front entrance of the Hotel which we frequented for lunch and dinner.
It is worth haggling to reduce the room price quoted, but do beware that prices can go up by as much as 800% in peak times and this is perfectly normal.
This hotel is well located and good value for money and I would recommmend it if you're after clean, functional accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms vary greatly in size so, if possible, see a few rooms before making a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank FamilyTravel_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.0 mi away
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
#20 of 360 in Mecca
68 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Meridien Towers Makkah
4.6 mi away
Makarem Al-Bait Hotel
Makarem Al-Bait Hotel
#30 of 360 in Mecca
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel
3.4 mi away
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel
5.4 mi away
Al Tawfiq Plaza Hotel
Al Tawfiq Plaza Hotel
#120 of 360 in Mecca
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Olayan Al Khaleel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Olayan Al Khaleel

Property: Al Olayan Al Khaleel
Address: Ebrahim Al-Khalil Street | Al Miesfalah, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 360 Hotels in Mecca
Hotel Class:2 star — Al Olayan Al Khaleel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Al Olayan Al Khaleel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Olayan Al Khaleel Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing